We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Chequers Marlow

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (14)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 inns in Marlow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to our Marlow homestead, where our alluring abode is alive and kicking with live music, rip-roaring events, and an astounding array of tantalising tipples and ravishing refreshments. Why not drop in and make yourself at home in our dashing dwelling and delve into our palate-pleasing provisions? If the thought of our delectable dishes hasn't got your mouth watering yet, then our bountiful Butchers Block is sure to do the trick. Come confer with our skillful chefs and pick your preference from our premium selection of succulent steaks. Hungry for more? Why not pop in for a pint of delectable cask ale and treat your tastebuds to our fresh & seasonal fare.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Desk
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
298Reviews1Q+A46Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 162
  • 84
  • 26
  • 21
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
matthewsparkes wrote a review 15 Apr
London, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Just a note on customer service - as a large group we were pleased to be seated on three adjoining tables and enjoyed a good lunch. We had just one problem with one meal and this was dealt with politely and professionally. An exemplary response. We’ll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wom166 wrote a review Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom99 contributions81 helpful votes
SUNDAY LUNCH 7 of us had a family lunch here today, it was delicious. Tasted like home cooking, all very fresh and tasty. It was empty when we arrived and completely full when we left!!! Think that says a lot. Well done and we’ll be back again! Family were raving about the perfectly cooked beef and the Yorkshire puddings are huge and well cooked. Lovely crispy green vegetables very crispy roast potatoes too. Only slight criticism is they didn’t offer horseradish or mustard but they were sooooo busy!! Not surprised.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The Chequers Marlow
Responded 3 weeks ago
Wom166, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Chequers Marlow Hotel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bon wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
I popped in for a small glass of wine and some food. Staff were friendly and welcoming. A must have in all hospitality but unfortunately it does not happen a lot 🤪 Food was great, I had a steak! I’m pretty fussy when it comes to my steak but was not chewy and cooked perfect 👌 Well done 👏
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The Chequers Marlow
Responded 3 weeks ago
Bonm123, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Chequers Marlow Hotel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gary M wrote a review Mar 2024
7 contributions7 helpful votes
We had Sunday lunch. Crumble was delicious. Good atmosphere and the bar staff and table service was great. The chicken and potatoes were on the dry side. Small vegetable portions. Front of house staff was not great at getting a table for us considering a group was ready to leave. Thank goodness we were attentive. Could be better considering the cost.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The Chequers Marlow
Responded 4 weeks ago
Gary M, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marie-fo wrote a review Feb 2024
Harlow, United Kingdom10 contributions14 helpful votes
We had a lovely time at the Chequers in Marlow, however, our room I thought was a little tired. The food was excellent, although the choice of breakfast was limited, all hot offerings with nothing cold, yoghurts, fruit, muesli et cetera. The staff were very friendly with great service. As I mentioned earlier, we had a lovely time, it is a lovely place to stay. However, the toilets (men's) available to pub customers were disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The Chequers Marlow
Responded 27 Feb 2024
Hello Marie-fo, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. Thank you, and have a fantastic day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Deborah C wrote a review Dec 2023
Portsmouth, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
The room was really nice, spacious and clean. The bed was super comfy and the bathroom was lovely and warm with a huge shower. It was a little noisy in the evening as the pub was busy with Christmas parties and the room was above the entrance/on the high street, but it didnt bother me and it all quietened down once the pub closed. I didnt have breakfast, but my colleagues had their Christmas meal there during the day and said the food was really nice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Location
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The Chequers Marlow
Responded 15 Dec 2023
Deborah C, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Chequers Marlow Hotel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shirley B wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Beautiful room with all the amenities, right in the centre of Marlow. Huge bathroom with lovely double shower. The pub is popular so is quite noisy; this didn’t bother me but may be a consideration if you want somewhere quiet. I didn’t opt for breakfast so can’t comment on that. There is no on site parking but Institute Road car park is short walk round the corner and reasonable at £6.25 for 24 hours on Ringo app.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The Chequers Marlow
Responded 14 Dec 2023
Shirley B, We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Chequers. Thank you for your honest review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pablo N wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Really enjoyed our stay. Room was very pleasant and warm for December. Breakfast was excellent with very attentive staff. The location is right on the main high street so access to shops and restaurants and cafes is very easy.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The Chequers Marlow
Responded 12 Dec 2023
Pablo N, thank you so much for the positive review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
helsibelsi wrote a review Nov 2023
Oxford, United Kingdom6 contributions
Lovely hotel, room nice and spacious. Breakfast freshly cooked and very tasty. We didn’t have a chance to try the food in the evening but the menu looked great and the bar and restaurant area were very welcoming
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The Chequers Marlow
Responded 25 Nov 2023
Helsibelsi, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Chequers Marlow Hotel! We hope to see you soon! The Chequers Marlow
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard S wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Just one night stay. Sunday lunch was very good. We booked a standard room -given room 2. it was tired and needs a good thorough clean. Had to ask for carpet to be cleaned & some towels. Staff were very apologetic. Bed was comfy although not brilliant sleep as gutters were overflowing due to a) they appeared to be missing/ falling off and b) heavy rain. This kept me awake in the middle of night. Walls were thin & could hear next door tv & talking. Breakfast was good. Overall fine but rather disappointed with the room and overall quality.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The Chequers Marlow
Responded 22 Nov 2023
Richardsh3537rb, We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. There is no excuse for the housekeeping deficiencies, please accept my apologies for this. With regards to the noise from a the rain, with torrential downpours the gutters can become overwhelmed, being a grade 2 listed building there are limited things we can do change this, but rest assured we ensure the gutters are kept clear to minimise the issue. With the sound coming from neighbouring rooms, all walls are sound proofed but it was insufficient to prevent the sound from traveling into your room. Kind Regards Ross Phillips - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Marlow area.
PRICE RANGE
£101 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBuckinghamshireMarlow
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CHEQUERS MARLOW - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about The Chequers Marlow
Which popular attractions are close to The Chequers Marlow?
Nearby attractions include Keeeps Pottery Marlow (0.02 miles), Higginson Park (0.1 miles), and Marlow Bridge (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Chequers Marlow?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Chequers Marlow?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Chequers Marlow?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lavvin, The Vanilla Pod Marlow, and Cedar Coffee Shop.
Is The Chequers Marlow located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Marlow.
Are there any historical sites close to The Chequers Marlow?
Many travellers enjoy visiting All Saints Church (0.06 miles), Lillibrooke Manor & Barns (4.9 miles), and Statue in Memory of Charles Frohman (0.03 miles).