We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Macdonald Compleat Angler

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Macdonald Compleat Angler
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,804 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,793: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were married at this lovely venue only two years ago and indeed returned last year for our first anniversary reunion with twenty friends, all of whom stayed overnight.. This year we organised a quieter event with two good friends and once again stayed overnight. The meal at Sindhu was excellent and we would return. However the hotel itself is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 440Buster3
Ellie C, Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Many thanks for providing feedback following your stay with us. As previous and valued guests of the hotel, I am sorry to learn that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. As you are aware, this is not indicative of the usually high standards of hospitality we would wish to offer and I am only sorry your...

IOW england
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our first visit to Marlow but had heard about the Compleat Angler so decided to stop for a drink before we crossed the bridge to see the town, Ordered a glass of Sav/Blanc for my wife and a local beer for my self. The barman brought over the bill in a folder and all I saw was the price £23.12...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickleby68
Ellie C, Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback following your visit. Naturally I am disappointed to receive your feedback; however, I would like to thank you for letting us know of your experience. Please be assured that we act upon all feedback received and I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions.

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a lovely night here, attended a murder mystery dinner. The actors were great and made it very interactive with the diners. Food was a bit limited on vegetarian and fish options, surprisingly for a restaurant on the river Thames!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZedA07
Ellie C, Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your visit to the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed the murder mystery dinner. I have noted your comments regarding the menu choices and will certainly share this feedback with our Regional Executive Chef for his consideration when planning future menu changes. We look forward to seeing...

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fantastic location beside River Thames with the church reflecting in it. Flavoursome fine dining in luxurious surroundings but not over the top. Waiting staff were efficient, friendly & polite with nothing being too much trouble. Night to remember for all 4 of us !!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher I
Ellie C, Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback. I am delighted to learn of your experience and very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We checked in on 28th November and was too early for check in, so we left our luggage. The hotel called us an hour later to say our room was ready. When we came back it was a different receptionist and so had to explain again who we were. As we were a family of two adults and a one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaniceYM
Ellie C, Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for providing feedback following your stay with us. It is vitally important that we know where to focus our attention to improve on service and guest satisfaction. I am sorry to learn that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Please be assured this is not indicative of the usually high standards of...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent service and comfortable seating with a view. The food was really tasty, well presented and good value for the price of the set lunch option. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and visit. We will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 106oakleyfamily
Ellie C, Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely feedback following your stay at the hotel. I am delighted to learn of your experience and look forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went here with friends down from Scotland and the setting is, of course, incredible. However, my wife and I both had a steak which came with the usual trimmings and an odd taste. After settling up etc I asked if the steaks had been "treated" in any way. I was informed they had been smeared with maple syrup and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Ellie C, Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent visit to the hotel and I was disappointed to learn of your comments. I will certainly pass this feedback to our Regional Executive Chef, Raj Chakraborty, and our Food and Beverage Manager, Stefano Attolico, for review and consideration when planning future menu changes and ask them to ensure that each...

Tadley, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I booked via Secret Escapes for a one night stay with dinner for two and wine in the room. So far so good. On arrival we waited what seemed ages while the two receptionists (one trainee ) were listening to an earlier visitor who was ranting about the quality of his meal etc etc.. The staff should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FransTadley_UK
Ellie C, Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the feedback following your recent stay with us. Naturally I'm disappointed to hear that we failed to deliver our usually high standards during your stay; however, I would like to thank you for letting us know of your experience. Please be assured that we act upon all feedback received and I sincerely hope to have...

Liverpool
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We made a last minute reservation and were very happy with the helpful staff and comfortable surroundings. With a river view and all mod cons we were very pleased to have found accommodation here. Great home made shortbread too !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank considine
Ellie C, Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your sharing feedback on your experience and I am delighted to learn that you had such a pleasant stay and were able to enjoy the location and facilities within the hotel. It is also pleasing to note that members of my team demonstrated high levels of hospitality during your stay. We hope to see you...

Durham UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I were due to stay at this hotel the last weekend of October. The day before we were due to arrive my mother in law passed away. We had booked a non refundable room therefore I contacted the hotel to ask if they could send us a copy of our invoice and confirmation of our cancellation so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pj
Ellie C, Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback and I am pleased to learn that members of my team demonstrated such kindness and understanding during a difficult time. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel on a future occasion and look forward to seeing you at that time.

319 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (290)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
2.4 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Marlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
858 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
707 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Riverside Restaurant
Riverside Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Named after Izaak Walton's famous book on angling, the beautiful four-red star Macdonald Compleat Angler is idyllically located on the banks of the River Thames. The hotel is just a short walk from the Georgian town of Marlow, 10 minutes drive from the M4 and just over an hour away from Central London by train. Beautiful both inside and out, enjoy mouthwatering meals from the recently refurbished, three AA rosette-awarded Riverside Restaurant overlooking Marlow Weir or delicious afternoon tea on the terrace. Alternatively, dine in Sindhu by Michelin-starred Indian Chef, Atul Kochhar. For meetings, strategy days or conferences, our meeting facilities are ideal and our 2 brand new SMART board technology board rooms perfect for inspiring great ideas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Compleat Angler

Address: Marlow Bridge, Marlow SL7 1RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Price Range: £139 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Compleat Angler 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Compleat Angler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Compleat Angler Marlow
Macdonald Compleat Angler Hotel Marlow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Compleat Angler staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Compleat Angler staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view”
 of 5 bubbles 834christopheri, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There is only one lift which is at the far end of the hotel. Otherwise you scale a number of stairs both up and down to get to your room.”
 of 5 bubbles FransTadley_UK, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are lovely but if you want a big one you should go for the more expensive ones”
 of 5 bubbles gordapril, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 12 has a great view”
 of 5 bubbles alanpeterborough, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“book for dining”
 of 5 bubbles 21Redfox, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay