We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Barbon Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Barbon Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 348: English reviews
Start your review of Barbon Inn
 Click to rate
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed on a travel zoo voucher but would happily pay the full price in future as it was well worth it. This is a very cosy proper pub with bar and gourmet restaurant, its got everything you would need and we were well looked after by very friendly staff. The food is very special and a real surprise to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sally j
Royton
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Been for a drive in the local area and wanted to go here for lunch. Walked in, greeted with a warm welcome and shown to the bar area as we had our dog with us. We sat down opposite the fire and were shown the specials board and talked through what we could order on the menu. We ordered a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed 2 nights 17th and 18th Feb, in a lovely cosy room. Our TZ deal included a meal from the Gastro menu on the first night, which was so good and tasty we decided to eat there again the next night. And the breakfast each morning was superb.The people were all really welcoming, and the pub had a great atmosphere....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CynAlias
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 2 nights with a great deal on TZ. Arrived on Sunday evening 12th Feb, it was cold and dark outside but upon opening the door we were greeted by the warm glow and heat from the 3 open fires, a great start, as was the welcome from Amy who showed us around and took us up to our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alantowell29
WandaLakeDistrict, Owner at Barbon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your super review, I am so proud of Amy she is a lovely girl, I will make sure she gets the praise for her endeavours. We all look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great staff, great food, great location in one of the most scenic parts of the country stayed for two nights, it's also great value all in all you won't go far wrong here, highly recommended Barbon is just small village and is very peaceful but you are not far from all the surrounding towns and the lakes

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RobBrent
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husbands Nana treats us every year to a valentines weekend away, and what a treat this year! Just back from our one night stay at the Barbon inn. Having never visited the village before we loved how quaint and rural it was. The pub is lovely warm and welcoming with log fires and friendly locals. I didn't catch her...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lori G
WandaLakeDistrict, Owner at Barbon Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your lovely review. look forward to seeing you again in the warmer months. Kind regards.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just enjoyed a 2 day TZ voucher weekend break, I was looking for your stereotypical english pub experience and The Barbon Inn did not disappoint, roaring fires in every room, decent ale, decent pub food but most memorable of all, great friendly service,..and the locals were also very welcoming. Rooms were only average but what can you expect from a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John B
WandaLakeDistrict, Owner at Barbon Inn, responded to this review

Comfortable and cozy the essence of the Barbon Inn, Thank you John B, you get it! got it! Good! We don't try to be something that we are not. Look forward to seeing you again.

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the most hospitable places I've stayed. Full marks for friendly, helpful, inviting staff. The locals made us feel welcome too! Good pub food, not quite gastro level, however. But a lovely steak an ale pie after exploring the area. A great location, amazing views from our window and a very pretty peaceful setting in which to relax. Roaring...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie P
WandaLakeDistrict, Owner at Barbon Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review and photographs, check out our Valentines menu on line its looking good. see you soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed 2 nights on a Travelzoo special offer. We paid an extra £30 to up grade to a 4 poster bed room. When we arrived the pub was very welcoming with popes fires and friendly staff. Unfortunately our room which was huge was very cold an distinctly unwelcoming. There was no central heating in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew R
WandaLakeDistrict, Owner at Barbon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments, in all fairness the week-end of the 27/28th January was particularly cold and I appologise to you about our heating or lack of it. We don't have central heating in the conventional sence, we rely on the electric convectors, which are adequate most of the time until we get a cold snap....

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called for a lunchtime drink having enjoyed the beautiful scenery on a walk around Barbon Park. Sat ourselves next to the roaring open range log fire. Made very welcome by the landlord and his staff. The pub was busy, several dinners in the bar and in the restaurant. Beers were excellent and quickly renewed as were the chips which just...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rectoryjules
WandaLakeDistrict, Owner at Barbon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we appreciate your kind words, I will pass it on to all the staff. look forward to meeting you again, Thank you from Andy and all the staff.

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
3.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,036 reviews
17.1 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
Shap Wells Hotel
#1 of 2 in Shap
992 reviews
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
262 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
191 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Barbon Inn and Restaurant near Kirkby Lonsdale has been around since the 1650s and started life as a farmhouse. Situated in the peaceful and tranquil village of Barbon, this country inn offers old world elegance in its accommodation restaurant and pub. The Barbon serves traditional English cuisine with a modern twist. Specialty dishes using local produce with choices like confit duck leg served with dauphinoise potatoes, sautéed leeks and a rich blackberry sauce; menu choices change with the seasons. The inn has an excellent wine list which has been a labour of love for one of the owners, and she will help you select from the connoisseurs list. The Barbon Inn has 10 bedrooms one with a four-poster bed. It’s located halfway between the Lake District National Park and the Yorkshire Dales National Park which makes it the perfect base for exploring both. The pastoral feel is added to by a local racetrack that holds the Barbon Hill Climb. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barbon Inn

Address: Nr Kirkby Lonsdale, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: £98 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Barbon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbon Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
Barbon Inn Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barbon Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Northiam, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Calgary
Dumfries, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Barbon Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't pay to upgrade to the 4 poster room, it's freezing and definitely not worth the money.”
 of 5 bubbles Y2211BZmatthewr, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 10 seemed a good choice”
 of 5 bubbles lindasL2160ID, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in room 8 so could not offer advice.”
 of 5 bubbles JanetS153, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 3 and any rooms where dogs have been allowed”
 of 5 bubbles ajsykes, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would check the size and quality of the room you are offered”
 of 5 bubbles Felicity90, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5