We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Seaton Lane, Seaham SR7 0LP England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$125
PricelineUS$125
TravelocityUS$125
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (104)
Dining (42)
Room & Suite (33)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 7 in Seaham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Imagine you find your ideal country pub, enjoy a fine meal and a few drinks – why move on? Well, now you don’t have to because The Seaton Lane Inn will provide you with somewhere luxurious to lay your sleepy head – at a price you can afford. The roadside inn has been extended with an 18-bedroom hotel which is attached to the main building and overlooks a paved, outdoor area. It is well sheltered from the prevailing winds and surrounded by colourful plants – including a herb garden. At night, the paved area twinkles with sunken lights and you won’t feel cold – the powerful heat lamps do their job. The hotel’s boutique-style bedrooms have been tastefully furnished by a top quality interior design team, decorated in different styles to a high standard and equipped with plasma TV, WiFi and king-size and super king-size beds. En suite shower rooms are of a high standard and hair dryers and tea and coffee making facilities are provided. There is also luxury, ground floor accommodation for disabled guests. Door entry is by card key and guests can take their choice of visiting other North East attractions – or spend a relaxing evening enjoying the culinary delights and friendly atmosphere of the Seaton Lane Inn’s restaurant, lounge and bar. Comfort, pleasant surroundings and a choice of locally sourced food and drinks to tempt the most discerning of palates – what more could you desire? For a start, you may be looking for an ideal base to savour the best of all the North East of England has to offer. That place is the newly extended and tastefully renovated Seaton Lane Inn boutique hotel. Situated by a country road through a village, it is only a few hundred yards from the A19 – making is less than 30 minutes to Newcastle upon Tyne and equally convenient for Durham City. Sunderland is just minutes away. The Seaton Lane Inn has come a long way from its early incarnation as a blacksmith’s forge; it now incorporates a stylish lounge/dining area, traditional bar and a new two-story hotel attached to the original building. The pub/hotel is run by owners who head a talented team. Their purpose is to make your stay at the Seaton Lane Inn a memorable one – for all the right reasons. These include the friendliness of the staff, the affable type of clientele you meet in a country inn, a tempting and varied menu (try the seafood) and wide range of beers, including excellent cask conditioned ales served from the hand pump, wines and spirits. You can relax in the comfort of the lounge, which has Sky TV, or join the regulars in the adjacent bar. The new hotel has 18 en suite double rooms which are tastefully furnished and have all modern conveniences including TV and radio, wireless internet access, toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Show more
Room features
Desk
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
451Reviews11Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 284
  • 93
  • 33
  • 18
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
YorkshireQuail wrote a review 16 May
Yorkshire124 contributions102 helpful votes
We stayed here when we visited Beamish which is a 25 minute drive away. it appears like a normal pub when you pull up but it is a little more than that. The rooms are being refurbished so they are in good state and very comfortable. We had breakfast in the pub which is ordered for hot food, cereals also available. To be honest the breakfast could be better, the hot food is excellent but the hot drinks are in tiny cups which you have to keep getting up for and there is little else to complement your hot food. The staff are very friendly and the manager - Tom, is very attentive and makes your stay even better due to his concerns that you are enjoying your stay. I would definitely stay here again but maybe not when going to beamish as it is a little far. There is a lovely coastline nearby to explore next time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Kay wrote a review Apr 2022
Durham, United Kingdom42 contributions47 helpful votes
Had a family meal here for my sisters birthday last year. Food was delicious! Decor is beautiful and very good atmosphere. Adequate parking outside, didn't have a problem getting parked. Drinks are a bit pricey but nice for a one off or special occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Philippa R wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
I appreciate that all hospitality venues are facing real challenges when it comes to staff, supplies, delivery and availability; all of which were issues when we visited - but this was exacerbated by the order being wrong, us being expected to sit with half the order whilst the other half was remade and some of the order missing. Yes there are massive challenges but this can be alleviated by service and customer service being much better.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
nashieSeaham wrote a review Apr 2022
seaham5 contributions3 helpful votes
Visited today for lunch and the food was so bland, fish had no taste chips were over cooked and the chicken bacon linguine tasted off we will not return the starters we're OK, but the Seaburn inn apart of the inn collection group we could not fault
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from The Inn Collection Group, Guest Services / Front Office at The Seaton Lane Inn
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Thank you for your feedback. I apologise if we were unable to meet your expectations on your recent visit. Guest satisfaction is a top priority of ours, we always encourage guests to notify us of anything they may need so we have the chance to correct it. We hope to see you again and provide you will our true experience.
Read more
donna m wrote a review Apr 2022
United Kingdom45 contributions38 helpful votes
+1
Booked on secret escapes and we really enjoyed our stay, bit of a walk to seaham but the stroll on the beach and finding the coloured glass was worth it. The buffet breakfast was excellent and all the staff worked really hard, the room was lovely and we really enjoyed the evening meal, I recommend the steak... one of the best steaks I have ever had!! Excellent. The second day, as the weather wasn't brilliant we got the train through to Durham, beautiful city and visited the cathedral and university and had a couple of drinks in the bars. Overall an excellent weekend
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from The Inn Collection Group, Guest Services / Front Office at The Seaton Lane Inn
Responded 5 Apr 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We could not be happier you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Dan M wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I’m not usually one for leaving a review but felt I should following my stay here. I really have enjoyed every moment of my stay here. Every meal has been spot on and every member of staff are polite and helpful. Special mention for Tom the manager on shift. Excellent customer service and he seems to genuinely enjoy his job. Will definitely use this place in the future. Dan
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from The Inn Collection Group, Guest Services / Front Office at The Seaton Lane Inn
Responded 3 Apr 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is truly appreciated. I will ensure your kind words get passed on.
Read more
Shoppymad wrote a review Mar 2022
Richmond, United Kingdom138 contributions121 helpful votes
+1
We have just spent a night here. We had the accessible room and it was lovely and spacious, tastefully decorated and a comfortable bed. We had our dog with us and it was a perfect stay. The staff clearly love dogs as there were a few in the bar last night. I sat on my own with my dog because my husband had a function at Seaham hall. I felt really comfortable doing this and I have to say the staff were so friendly and all seemed happy in their work. Thank you for excellent service. The food was amazing! I had the Brick Cut steak, cooked medium, to perfection. The most tender steak I have ever tasted! I have travelled the world and paid a lot more for a steak and this was by far the best. Great job chef! Breakfast was also lovely and the waitress even brought our dog 2 sausages. There is also a dog menu if you're interested. Thank you so much to you all for our excellent stay. We will return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from The Inn Collection Group, Guest Services / Front Office at The Seaton Lane Inn
Responded 3 Apr 2022
Thank you for passing on your feedback, we pride ourselves on our customer experience and the high-quality standards we thrive to maintain. We could not be happier that you had a fantastic stay with us. We hope to see you very soon.
Read more
Rowan W wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
Great value hotel for a family of four, including bunkbeds for the two kids and a decent size room. Breakfast is decent given the price, which is not expensive, and the menu for dinner look decent too… Pretty good pub grub and a comfortable restaurant. This review was taken to 5 out of 5 because of B the amazing treatment we had from the staff there. We were there during storm Malik and a large tree blew over on the council land next door and crushed my car, which was parked in the hotel car park. The hotel couldn’t have been more helpful and especially Amelia who went above and beyond to sort everything out and accommodate us as we tried to arrange everything that we needed to arrange. We are definitely going to be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from The Inn Collection Group, Guest Services / Front Office at The Seaton Lane Inn
Responded 25 Mar 2022
Thank you for passing on your feedback. We could not be happier that you had a fantastic stay with us. We hope to see you very soon.
Read more
Lisa C wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Having been locals to this pub for the past 20 years, the new management and chef leave a lot to be desired. The food is poor cafe standard and the service (although hardly any customers in) slow and disinterested. Steak was rare despite ordering medium, vegetables basic and the dauphinois potatoes inedible grey unseasoned disaster. Desserts when they eventually arrived were dreadful. I’m afraid you have lost a loyal customer of 20 years
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from The Inn Collection Group, Guest Services / Front Office at The Seaton Lane Inn
Responded 25 Mar 2022
Thank you for your feedback. I apologise if we were unable to meet your expectations on your recent visit. Guest satisfaction is a top priority of ours, we always encourage guests to notify us of anything they may need so we have the chance to correct it. We hope to see you again and provide you will our true experience.
Read more
Hazel D wrote a review Mar 2022
Pickering, United Kingdom1749 contributions345 helpful votes
We had a lovely stay here, the food was good, the staff brilliant and location spot on. The only thing was our en-suite bathroom. The shower door would not open as it was jammed but my husband fixed it as we had the same set up at home. The water wouldn’t run away so I lifted the shower trap and it was blocked with loads of hair and debris and it smelt awful. The fan above the toilet was full of dust and it fell on you when the fan was on. The gaps between the shower and hand basin although narrow was full of hair dust and dirt and to top it all the toilet brush was mouldy in the bottom with no cover on. I would have given 5 stars if the bathroom had been clean. The cost of the break was excellent so didn’t like to complain. Large car park. Good nights sleep as the bed was comfortable. Would we return? Yes but not in the same room if the bathroom was in the same condition.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from The Inn Collection Group, Guest Services / Front Office at The Seaton Lane Inn
Responded 25 Mar 2022
Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback. I will ensure your feedback is passed on to be reviewed. Guest satisfactory is a top priority of ours and we are always looking at ways to improve our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the seaton lane hotel seaham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamSeaham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Seaton Lane Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Seaton Lane Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Strategy (4.9 miles), Tommy World War One Soldier Sculpture - Eleven 'O' One (2.0 miles), and Laser Quest Sunderland (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Seaton Lane Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Seaton Lane Inn?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Seaton Lane Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Seaton Lane Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Seaton Lane Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Scullery Silksworth, Aperitif, and Yuvraaj.
Are there any historical sites close to The Seaton Lane Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Mary The Virgin Church (1.5 miles), Houghton Hillside Cemetery (4.5 miles), and Nose's Point (2.6 miles).
Is The Seaton Lane Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.