We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Beach Road, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1DR England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (137)
Pool & Beach (12)
Room & Suite (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 7 Speciality lodging in Wells-next-the-Sea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Pinewoods has been welcoming holidaymakers to its unique site at the north Norfolk coast for over 60 years. The site nestles behind pine-topped sand dunes at the edge of Wells beach with its iconic row of beach huts and is within walking distance to the historic port of Wells-next-the-Sea. It is ideally situated for discovering the county’s windswept coastline, neighbouring seaside towns, villages, and attractions. Part of the Holkham Estate, Pinewoods offers a range of holiday accommodation from a fleet of static caravans, six state of the art lodges, and 116 caravan or motorhome pitches. There are also beach huts available to hire to complete the holiday experience. All the hire fleet caravans are less than five seasons old, with the majority less than three and there are five grades of accommodation to suit all budgets. The lodges were new in 2019 and enjoy a particularly scenic and quiet location. The touring park with its generously sized pitches, opened in 2017 and boasts incredible views over the marshland countryside, Holkham National Nature Reserve, and views back towards Wells town. One of the main attractions of Pinewoods is undoubtedly its stunning surroundings comprising the Holkham National Nature Reserve’s sublime beach, woods and saltmarsh landscapes which change with the time of day and the seasons. Once the car parks have shut and visitors have headed home for the day, those staying at Pinewoods are treated to the vast open skies and often empty beaches and pinewoods at sunset. An early alarm often holds the promise of a spectacular sunrise, too.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid wifi
Internet
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
457Reviews18Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 175
  • 110
  • 80
  • 45
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Scott H wrote a review Dec 2020
Bedford, United Kingdom1 contribution
Pinewood, Wells We’ve stayed a couple of times pre COVID and wanted to enjoy the quiet winter beaches so readily accessible here. On arrival Substantial finger prints in the kitchen area, as I went to turn on the light switch fan above cooker and againon Microwave ‘power on’ button suggest clearly these areas not been touched. If removing everything that was once a nice free perk ( milk, bread, spread, jam in a hessian bag )no longer then you do expect for the sizeable fee a clean cabin...? The package is still good but more attention to detail would leave me (us) feeling better than worrying we were truly being looked after. Dining lights definitely awaiting their scheduled clean..greasy and obvious. Could do better and not TOO far to travel, keeping an open mind
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Emma B, Marketing at Pinewoods
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are understandably concerned to read your feedback as we have taken great measures to keep our visitors, and staff, safe: 'fogging' to disinfect the whole accommodation before it is thoroughly cleaned, and then double checked before visitors are welcomed in. Please be reassured that we will investigate this once the majority of our team are back in the office on Monday. In the meantime, we would be really grateful if you could please email us at holiday@pinewoods.co.uk with your contact details so that we can update you on this.
Read more
Julie Fox wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
The Lodge we stopped was lovely, only a few niggles, a couple of dust webs and the blind in the ensuite was bent in a few places. These Lodges are great for a family with loads of space and all mod cons. We've been going to Wells for over 50 years and love the peace and quite. The reason I only gave the 3 stars was because of the staff on reception. So rude and unhelpful. When I said I had an issue with my elderly parents who are 85 and my mum who has cancer would struggle to get out of the lodge for 9 o clock in the morning I was told "it is what it is" by someone on reception who was acting manager. Her tone was unacceptable and told me if I wasn't happy I could have a refund. She was so unprofessional. We had no warning about the times until I paid in full and got the reicept. I had no correspondence from them about paying the balance. I've been away 3 times this year through covid and have never been treat like this. If she had been a bit sympathetic with our situation I would have given 5 stars. We will never stay at Pinewoods again. The Town in Wells have some lovely cottages.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Emma B, Marketing at Pinewoods
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Many thanks for your review and feedback both on Tripadvisor and by email. We never like to hear that our visitors have not had the very best experience that we are proud to offer and are grateful to you for bringing this to our attention. As we explained in our phone call with you, this matter has been discussed with the member of staff involved and we are glad that you now feel reassured and confident to have booked another holiday with us in 2021. We very much look forward to seeing you again next year.
Read more
philnsue wrote a review Oct 2020
Bedford, United Kingdom114 contributions55 helpful votes
About a week before we went to PInewoods with our motorhome they sent us an email containing lots of pages of maps and information. It showed the location of our pitch but the special instructions regarding check in and coronavirus were unclear and misleading. It appeared that the reception office was only open for emergencies, but also told us to check in at reception. I had no idea what to expect when arriving; would there be a parking area near reception? Would someone be there to instruct us? Should we drive straight to our pitch or would there be a security person and a barrier? When we arrived there was no designated stopping zone for check in, and nobody to guide /welcome us. If there were signs for reception they were not clear or obvious. So we drove in and asked a maintenance worker for directions, turned around, and found our pitch in the touring field. A couple of hours later we went to look for the reception desk on our way out for a walk. The reception worker could not understand why we hadn't stopped to check in and collect the tag to hang in our window. She was very arrogant. "Did you not get the instructions we sent". Well, yes, I did receive lots of documents and I had read them but they were poorly written and didn't make sense and their reception area was poorly signed, and why wasn't there anyone waiting outside to receive new arrivals? " You don't expect us to stand outside in the cold and rain do you" she replied. Anyway, the site was clean. Full of old people with dogs. Dogs everywhere. Dogs barking at you if you stepped out of your door. Lots of dog walks. Keep off the grass signs. A long walk from the gates to the touring field along a windswept road. A long walk from the touring field to the beach, and a long walk to the town of Wells. The toilet block was clean, smart, immaculate, with hot showers. There were engaged/free boards outside to make sure the occupancy was limited to six. Each pitch had an EHU, water supply and drain for grey water. I would say this sites biggest asset was its cleanliness. But it was its only asset. Even the miniature train to the town was closed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get a pitch nearer to the road if you dont want a long walk
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Holkham Estate, Marketing at Pinewoods
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry check-in was not as smooth as intended; we are all learning to adjust to this new-normal with different ways of working, but we will use your comments constructively to ensure the process runs more smoothly in the future. We are glad to hear you found the park and facilities to be clean and Covid-secure. Please note the train is not operated by Pinewoods. We hope you enjoyed a pleasant stay in Wells.
Read more
katy W wrote a review Oct 2020
Leicester, United Kingdom6 contributions9 helpful votes
I am booked in on the 16th Oct for a short break with my daughter , I have stayed at Pinewoods about 5 times and always had a lovely clean caravan etc , so felt confident in booking with Covid etc. I have just read recent reviews and have concerns on if it’s clean and safe enough to go, I also read it’s under new management?? I have been shielding so reading the reviews has obviously given me concerns , but really wanted to get some sea air with my daughter :( !!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Holkham Estate, Marketing at Pinewoods
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Kate, please rest assured your safety is our top priority. We have implemented numerous changes, including enhanced cleaning regimes, social distancing measures, increased signage, one way systems and limited capacities. Each caravan is fogged and deep cleaned before each new arrival. Please do take the time to visit our website - you will see a banner at the top of the homepage which will take you our Covid-19 update page. It outlines all of the measures in place to keep you safe as well as a link to our Customer Charter. This document outlines all of the safety guidelines, restrictions and changes in detail. We hope you will feel at ease after reading this, but if not, please feel free to give our friendly team on reception a call who will talk you through our procedures. You and your daughter will have a wonderful stay, we are sure. We look forward to welcoming you both.
Read more
Dee2501 wrote a review Oct 2020
Elkesley, United Kingdom67 contributions25 helpful votes
We have stayed on the static site 5 times now and it is a lovely site. We now have our own tourer so decided to come back and see it "from the other side of the fence". Disappointed is an understatement I think. The site is basically a field, no dividing plants or bushes between the pitched and I wasnt too happy with how close the "neighbour" was which I mentioned to the reception and they didnt seem bothered or get the person to move the car. Yes all sites are fully serviced and yes the toilet facilities are very clean under these present times but I think for the money you are paying you need more space and a few plants for sure. Will I come back?? Definitely NO
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Holkham Estate, Marketing at Pinewoods
Responded 12 Oct 2020
We are sorry to read of your disappointment with the touring park. It was only opened in 2017, so planting is not yet fully established. Whilst it may look like 'just a field', we intentionally let the touring park grow wild and natural to encourage wildlife biodiversity, as it sits amid the Holkham National Nature Reserve. Many over-wintering flocks of Brent, Pink-footed geese and Widgeon use this area for grazing. Many of our guests enjoy the natural feel to our touring park, as it really is a stay amidst nature. We hope you still enjoyed a wonderful break in Wells and we hope you might change your mind and give our touring park another chance in the future.
Read more
Previous
ALSO KNOWN AS
pinewoods holiday park hotel wells-next-the-sea
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkWells-next-the-Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pinewoods
Which popular attractions are close to Pinewoods?
Nearby attractions include Holkham National Nature Reserve (1.7 miles), Holkham Bay (0.2 miles), and Holkham Hall (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pinewoods?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, internet access, and self serve laundry.
Is parking available at Pinewoods?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pinewoods?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wells Crab House, The Picnic Hut, and Cafe 24.
Are pets allowed at Pinewoods?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Pinewoods?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Holkham Hall (2.4 miles), All Saints Church (4.5 miles), and St. Withburga's Well (1.4 miles).
Is Pinewoods accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.