We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Hook Farm Gore Lane, Lyme Regis DT7 3UU England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (97)
Room & Suite (19)
Pool & Beach (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 7 Speciality lodging in Lyme Regis
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Property amenities
Wifi
Paid wifi
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
290Reviews3Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 201
  • 46
  • 18
  • 7
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lynn C wrote a review Oct 2020
Winchester, United Kingdom2 contributions
We were booked in to this campsite for a night away last weekend as were our friends who were booked in for two nights. When the owner discovered that we knew each other, he launched in to a long explanation as to why we were not allowed to mix on his site. Despite the website stating that no more than 4 people could stay together! a) we both have our own motorhomes with our own facilities, b) we all live in Winchester which is currently a tier1 on the covid scale, therefore a low risk and c) the petty rules on this campsite do not comply with general government guidelines! We did not plan to mix with anyone else or even use their facilities! We wasted the best part of our saturday, trying to find another campsite that would accommodate us at short notice. Luckily the hideaway near Bridport did, and we had a lovely stay with them. The owner of hook farm came over as a complete jobsworth. I am surprised his business has survived during this time. As a nurse I fully understand the covid guidelines, but this was above and beyond ridiculous as he was not going to give an inch despite the circumstances!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Georgie Bearman, Owner at Hook Farm Campsite
Responded 29 Oct 2020
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately due to the ever changing COVID status we are continually reviewing our risk assessment for our staff, guests and family. A decision was taken early September to accept just single family groups on the park while there is a pandemic and not to take paired bookings. This is on our website and at the top of our online booking form.I am sorry that you didn’t you didn’t see the information. We have processed a full refund and some local larger commercial had pitches available for you. The safety of our team and guests comes first and we have had very good feedback this season on the COVID measures we put in place. It was a shame that we were rated one star on this.
Read more
Eddie Day wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Booked 6 nights for mid September. Arrived at 5.30 so was shown a pitch by the warden. He insisted we had to position our motorhome to one side even though that meant a muddy patch would be outside our door because there had been an awning there. I thought OK, we sort it out tomorrow. Next morning we realised we had the only pitch on the site in the shadow of trees all day. So when I visited Reception I explained and asked if we could move to another pitch I was told that the pitches were allocated using a programme on a compute and it was not possible to change. I pointed out that there were at least 5 vacant pitches. However I was told that I could leave or stay on the allocated pitch. We called the C&C Club and asked if we could get on the Charmouth site, but it was full. So we stayed. A couple of days later my wife tried. She was told the same thing plus we had booked late. (I made the reservation on Aug. 31st for Sept. 20th.) In over 45 years of camping I have never before been unable to change pitches when others have been free. On the plus side it is a great location and a well looked after site.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Georgie Bearman, Owner at Hook Farm Campsite
Responded 30 Sep 2020
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our park. We are pleased to hear that you liked the location and found the park well looked after. Unfortunately we only had the one motorhome pitch free for 6 consecutive nights, there was the odd night free on neighbouring motorhome pitches but this would have meant you moving nearly every day of your stay. Our park had been very popular this year with guests choosing to stay in the UK and September was unusually busy this year.
Read more
Chris R wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
Arrived on site to be escorted to a very tight uphill on gravel entry to the smallest pitch ever!! (pitch 74). I asked if there was any other pitch available as simply too small and couldn’t allow me to attach my air awning due to the pitches layout. Answer received was “we are busy and fully booked I’ll go sort you a refund” no sympathy to our concerns, not even a let me see what I can do for you. All this bearing in mind for the 3 days we decided to stay there were some bigger easier accessible pitches not in use very disappointing. However facilities were very good and it was a quiet site. Wouldn’t go back though.....
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Georgie Bearman, Owner at Hook Farm Campsite
Responded 26 Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and I am pleased to hear that you found the facilities very good and the site quiet. Unfortunately your setup had an unusual lay out which did mean that you had to pitch with your door facing the hedge rather than the grass on your pitch. We explained that our campervan pitches were fully booked and we did not have another pitch that would be able to accommodate your unit better. This is because we have had an extremely busy September with many guests chooser UK holidays rather than going abroad. We did offer you a refund if you did not wish to stay. One of our team spoke to you after you had set up and we were happy to see that you decided to stay at our park. If you do choose to come and stay with us again then please do have a chat with our friendly booking team and we can allocate you a pitch which would be more suitable for you.
Read more
BillyT P wrote a review Sep 2020
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom36 contributions35 helpful votes
Great hillside layout providing level pitches for our campervan. Arrived to a very welcoming reception and I have to say this is by far the friendliest site I’ve EVER stayed at. The environment continues to be a challenge through Covid, but this is managed thoughtfully and appropriately. The facilities were always clean and welcoming and although one of the blocks appears newer, they were both spot on. Location on the hillside in Uplyme - it is hilly! Down the hill a lovely pub and a great riverside walk (reasonably level) into Lyme Regis. Uphill gives you a bus service along the coast. Congratulations Hook Farm on being the best site I’ve stayed at.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Georgie Bearman, Owner at Hook Farm Campsite
Responded 25 Sep 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for saying we are the best site you have stayed at. Its been an interesting season with Covid but we have had some fantastic guests and some good weather. I hope you can visit again soon.
Read more
Mrs D wrote a review Sep 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Last year (2019) was our first visit for our wedding anniversary and we loved it so much we booked it again for our wedding anniversary this year. I think this might become an annual event. Beautiful location with a good, but not too strenuous walk, into Lyme Regis through woodland following a river. Campsite is clean, well run and quiet. Welcomes dogs. Good facilities for all. If you don't want to cook, delicious food vans come (you need to check when). Last year we had amazing Malaysian food and this year stonebaked pizza - very popular so start queuing early!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Georgie Bearman, Owner at Hook Farm Campsite
Responded 25 Sep 2020
We are so pleased that you decided to visit our park again to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Thank you for the lovely review and tips for our guests. Hopefully see you next year!
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetLyme Regis
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hook Farm Campsite
Which popular attractions are close to Hook Farm Campsite?
Nearby attractions include The Tunnel Target Sports Centre (1.9 miles), Cellar 59 (1.2 miles), and Charmouth Heritage Coast Centre (2.7 miles).
What are some restaurants close to Hook Farm Campsite?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Whole Hog, Robin Wylde, and Red Panda Lyme Regis.
Is Hook Farm Campsite located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Lyme Regis.
Are pets allowed at Hook Farm Campsite?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Hook Farm Campsite?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Town Mill (1.2 miles), Allan Williams Turret (4.5 miles), and Belmont (1.0 miles).