We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fryatt Hotel and Bar

Save
Share
65 Garland Road Parkeston, Harwich CO12 4PA England
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$82
View Deal
Expedia.com
US$70
View Deal
Free cancellation until 24/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUS$82
FindHotelUS$70
TravelocityUS$70
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harwich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on the North Sea coast, Fryatt Hotel & Bar is a newly refurbished traditional hotel and bar, located a stone's throw away from the ferry terminal and beach. The name stems from Captain Charles Algernon Fryatt, British Mariner and Master of the Great Eastern Steamship and local Harwich Hero. Fryatt Hotel & Bar offers flexible accommodation with 2 cottages, set at the back of the guest house and sleep up to 4 guests each. There are 10 rooms with heating, a flat-screen TV and Free Wi-Fi. Some rooms have shared bathrooms and all accommodation has a simple, modern decor. The pub serves a great selection of draft beers, ales, along with wines and spirits. There is also a pool table, dart board, BT Sport and Sky TV. The A120 Road is a 2-minute drive away and connects you to Colchester in just 35 minutes. London is approximately 85 miles from the guest house. The hotel has a free car park to the rear with limited spaces. For an enjoyable stay choose the Fryatt Hotel & Bar, Harwich
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Darts
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German

Location

Full view
78Reviews2Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 19
  • 21
  • 7
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Travel Man wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in within the UK. Barman to check me in was friendly but that’s the only positive. Room was classed as superior cottage and if that’s the case I hate to think what the standard rooms would be like, cold, smelt damp, grubby, mismatched furniture, overlooking back yard that was open to anyone. Woken up before 6am by noise from yard behind. This corner of Harwich was not nice, think a TV production could recreate 1970s Britain with very little staging! Suggest you avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
ScorpioSteve wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
This is a pub with rooms not a hotel. The advertised menu has been discontinued but still advertised. The replacement menu is limited. I chose a pizza with fries. The pizza was similar to an Iceland offering and the fries were cooked in what must be old oil resulting in a disgusting taste and were inedible. At 09:15 on the 2nd day there was nowhere to leave the key on departure except in the Cottage door. The staff were friendly and helpful within what the could offer. The locals using the pub were very friendly and entertaining
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
philhopkins84 wrote a review Mar 2020
Harwich, United Kingdom38 contributions15 helpful votes
A fantastic welcome. Adam and team can’t do enough to ensure a pleasant stay. Warm comfortable rooms. Top service, friendly locals. I opt to stay here every month on business. Food is great, quick to come out. Thank you. Will book again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Wrycraft, General Manager at Fryatt Hotel and Bar
Responded 4 Sep 2020
Hi Phil, Thanks for your fantastic review! i am glad to hear you had such a good experience staying with us. Once again thankyou! Look forward to seeing you again soon Adam General Manager
Read more
Maria_11 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
We stayed here on a week day a few days ago, but disappointed as there was music we could hear down stairs till gorne 11pm, it was fairly loud at one point, parking was a little awkward but has be re dome nicely and staff seemed friendly, only let down is there is a shared toilet, I wouldn’t stay again I’d pay the extra and use premier inn.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Wrycraft, General Manager at Fryatt Hotel and Bar
Responded 4 Sep 2020
Hi Maria, Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I would like to thank you for your kind words about our staff here. i'm disappointed that you wouldn't stay again but your review has been taken on board and we are always looking to improve. Hopefully you can try us again in the future Regards Adam General Manager
Read more
Bernhard R wrote a review Nov 2019
Dublin, Ireland74 contributions38 helpful votes
I got stranded in the ferry port. Service was very friendly. But 54£ for a room without bathroom? Friendly, clean, good mattress? All a yes. But way too dear. And a very basic pub. I would not seek them out. Shower Gel in the bathroom was empty.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Wrycraft, General Manager at Fryatt Hotel and Bar
Responded 4 Sep 2020
Hi Bernhard, Thanks for the review! I will pass your comments onto the staff so they are aware of your good service. Regards Adam General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$51 - US$75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexHarwich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fryatt Hotel and Bar
What are some of the property amenities at Fryatt Hotel and Bar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Fryatt Hotel and Bar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fryatt Hotel and Bar?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fryatt Hotel and Bar?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Mayflower Brewers Fayre, Captain Fryatt, and Ocean Fish Bar.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fryatt Hotel and Bar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Fryatt Hotel and Bar?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Beacon Hill Fort (1.5 miles), Felixstowe Pier (4.0 miles), and Radar Tower (1.4 miles).