We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Egypt Mill Stroud Road, Nailsworth, Stroud GL6 0AE England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (582)
Room & Suite (68)
Dining (44)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Nailsworth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our sensational 16th-century mill is known for churning out good times, tantalising tipples, and fresh flavoursome fare to all those who frequent here. Tuck into scrumptious seasonal dishes on our waterside terrace or take a turn about our glorious gardens whilst wetting your whistle with one of our many delectable beverages. Our enchanting establishment boasts 28 heavenly ensuite rooms to hunker down in for the best nights kip in the Cotswolds. With our cheery team on hand to make your stay with us a roaring success, it's safe to say - there's nothing run of the mill about the Egypt mill.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Languages Spoken
English
1,173Review7Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 620
  • 302
  • 149
  • 56
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
piiam2015 wrote a review Mar 2024
10 contributions4 helpful votes
What a lovely place! We had a nice stay there, the room was super nice, bed was excellent. Breakfast was outstanding, and our waiter Bruce was out of this world!! Never met such a friendly guy before. You are lucky to have him in your team. Also dinner was excellent, definitely will come back again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Piiam2015, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Egypt Mill Hotel. We're happy we could meet your expectations!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amie P wrote a review Mar 2024
Chelmsford, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
We have been coming to the Egypt Mill for over a decade now and were even lucky enough to get married there in 2015. We stayed recently to see in my husband’s 40th birthday and stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms. We were already in love with the hotel (and Nailsworth) but have to say, we have fallen even more in love with the place. The room decor was beautiful and the bathroom was divine. The shower was just heavenly! The hotel is now super dog friendly and our pooch was welcome in the hotel and restaurant. Wonderful food, fabulous staff and beautiful rooms. What more could you want? Can’t wait to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t even think about it, just book!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alan m wrote a review Mar 2024
Charing, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
This was a return visit after a previous stay where things were not up to our expectations. I am pleased to say that we had a great stay this time. We were in one of the rooms in the adjoining building which have recently been refurbished and upgraded. The room was really well appointed and we would be delighted to return and stay there anytime. A massive rebuild/refurb of the Jones building (which is where we previously had a bad experience) is underway. If this is completed to the same standard as the other refurbished rooms it will make the Egypt Mill a place worth visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Register your car with reception when you arrive as building works have limited parking spaces...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi 716alanm, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Egypt Mill Hotel. We're happy we could meet your expectations!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tim B wrote a review Mar 2024
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom78 contributions92 helpful votes
Very nice location. The setting is lovely. The bar was good. However a couple of small points 1. The breakfast service was very very slow. They must have the slowest chef in the region. In fact despite being included we had breakfast elsewhere. They really should consider a hot buffet. 2. There are no plugs near the bed. Given reliance on mobile phones this is quite annoying 3 evening meal. We didn’t try it (due to breakfast experience) but our friends did and said it was good.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Roam533285 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Parking charge: £170 after bringing the family for a meal (~4th visit). Massive empty parking lot. Must have forgot to checkin or something. Reached out to the hotel, they did nothing. Parking charge got sent to debt recovery plus. Never going back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 4 weeks ago
Roam533285, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lee P wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
Always love going back each year for our annual Cheltenham festival stay, Smooth check in and really lovely room (room 2) freshly redecorated and ample room for our overnight visit, Followed by the a very nice full English breakfast,staff always polite and helpful,thank you EMH
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Leeph7647ed, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Egypt Mill Hotel. We're happy we could meet your expectations!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mick w wrote a review Mar 2024
Cowplain, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
stayed for 2 nights very clean hotel room very large bottled water in room changed daily toiletries supplied.all in all a very pleasant stay in a very well run hotel set in very pleasant location with water fall running around hotel into a lake
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 14 Mar 2024
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jim E wrote a review Mar 2024
9 contributions5 helpful votes
This was the first time that we had been to the Egypt Mill. It will not be our last! We had booked a table for 4 for lunch. The car park is parked at the back of the mill. It's a tight turn in from the road, but no problem. There are signs everywhere, to ensure that you register your car in the establishment, to avoid attracting parking charges. Charges only apply if you are not using the establishment. Registration is via a computer tablet which is located just inside the entrance doors. Once again, when inside, there are plenty of signs to remind you to register your vehicle. The location of the mill is very nice indeed. As one would expect, there is a fast flowing waterway which travels alongside the mill. Inside, the old building blocks are plain to see throughout. When married with the rest of the original features, the ambience is quite stunning and very pleasing to the eye. We were met on arrival by Morven. As it transpired, she was to be the main member of staff responsible for looking after us throughout our meal. Her friendliness, professionalism and general demeanour were a pleasure to observe. We decided to order all 3 parts to our lunch; starter, main and dessert. We were not disappointed! The food was cooked to perfection and appeared to have been cooked to order, rather than pre heated, ready to serve. The entire experience was an absolute joy. Albeit this was our first visit, the overall experience has dictated that it will not be our last. Thankyou to all involved at The Egypt Mill. A particular thank you must be afforded to Morven for being the main, front of house, representative.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Ensure you register your vehicle in the establishment.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Theresa J wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
A friend and I enjoyed a couple of nights at this beautifully restored mill, with exposed beams and very comfortable beds and bed linens. Breakfasts looked wonderful and the staff super helpful. Highly recommend this hotel and I am sure I will be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 8 Mar 2024
Hi Theresa J, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Egypt Mill Hotel. We're happy we could meet your expectations!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ceandice D wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions
We had 4 rooms booked for family at Egypt Mill after our wedding in Stroud. The rooms were absolutely lovely and everyone enjoyed their breakfast the next day. We asked if we could book a table to cut our cake (it was a small group of 8) and the staff & manager were so so accommodating, giving us plates, napkins, lots of tea & champagne. What a fantastic group of people running the hotel & restaurant. We were so grateful for how easy & enjoyable they helped our day be!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 5 Mar 2024
Hello Ceandice D, thank you; we appreciate your feedback!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nailsworth area.
PRICE RANGE
£90 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
egypt mill nailsworth, hotel egypt mill
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsStroud DistrictStroudNailsworth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EGYPT MILL HOTEL & RESTAURANT - Updated 2024 (Nailsworth)

Frequently Asked Questions about Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include Domestic Science (0.1 miles), JOYA (0.3 miles), and Armed & Gorgeous (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include Amalfi, The Olive Tree Mediterranean Restaurant & Pizzeria, and Williams Food Hall.
Is Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Nailsworth.
Does Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chavenage House (3.2 miles), Owlpen Manor House and Gardens (3.2 miles), and Dr Newtons Way Bridge (3.1 miles).
Does Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.