We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Black Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2014

At the end of the day, this is not really a b&b, it is a room above a pub. The family room was clean and spacious with a large bathroom (no plug for bath though !). Breakfast was nice (it is served by the bar) but had to wait 40 mins for it on the Sunday. When I asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank littlebean321
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Room & food were great, but the most ignorant people we have had the misfortune to meet. My wife had a nasty fall in the ladies toilets on a wet floor that had no signage about. When I informed them of it nobody had a thought of how she was, just put a sign up. Not one of the management...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 277Dennis
derby
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

my husband and i have just had a fantastic meal here we had steak and ale pie the best we have ever had so very tasty plus the apple pie with custard and vanilla cheese cake with ice cream was also delicious the young lady that served us was very nice and polite will definately recommend but hope to come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosgel
blackswanleyburn, Owner at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review . It is much appreciated. Hope to see you again!

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

i cannot comment upon the stay or evening quality. but just popped in this morning for food and a pint. staff were friendly and service good though pint was not up to par and the food was not great chips were wedges and barely cooked and soggy and salad old tasting and sandwich not what expected with cold chicken in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank xzandra
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent location to visit the Dales, good full English breakfast, great beer. Family room suited myself and two children perfectly and looks out over the square. Would strongly recommend for family or couples.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 549Michael
blackswanleyburn, Owner at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It was a fabulous weekend and we are glad you enjoyed it and took the time to write this review and hope to see you again

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stopped here for lunch on the opening day of the Tour de France in Yorkshire, and they put on a great spread. In addition to the pub proper indoors, they set up an outside bar and barbecue. We loved the pulled pork sandwich. The staff were friendly and helpful. This is a first rate spot for a stop off...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank skyhoosier
blackswanleyburn, Owner at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to seeing you sometime in the future again

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Picked this as close to Middleton. Also as reasonable price £65 b&b per room. Trad pub. No cards accepted. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great beer and breakfast. Evening meal good price and quality eg scampi and chips €8. Staff v helpful, would stay again,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kiwimaxwell
blackswanleyburn, Owner at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We really do appreciate people taking the time to do this. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Called for lunch on Friday 20th of June 2014. We was very disappointed. First the young man at the bar made us feel he was doing us a favour to serve us. He was bored and gave the feeling he didn't want to be there. The second was the food. At the price it was poor. The advertised gigantic beer...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank KenBooth3
blackswanleyburn, Owner at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Booth Thank you for your interesting review that we had in fact been expecting following your less than pleasant reaction to the owners son and housekeeper when they told you that we did not take cards as payment, which appeared to annoy you. You actually ate your food without any complaint which surely, if it was unacceptable and...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2014

4 of us stayed one night. Found the accomodation homely and exceptionally clean with comfy beds, large rooms and private. Breakfast fine and substantial. Landlord very hospitable and engaging with a good sense of humour and obviously proud of the standard of service the hotel offers. Only thing missing was a lounge like area of the pub to relax away...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iangrieve
blackswanleyburn, Owner at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It will be lovely to see you again in the future

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2014

What a place to stay, fantastic rooms with top rate showers and super comfy beds all of which made my stay in Layburn amazing. The bar was first class with many a liquors and spirits available right down to traditional ales aswell and we even witnessed a snowball being put together specifically for a staying guest! Bravo. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophie W
blackswanleyburn, Owner at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is always nice for people who have had a good stay to let us know. Looking forward to seeing you again.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
0.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
370 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
399 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 7 in Middleham
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Priory Guesthouse
The Priory Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Middleham
183 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Black Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Black Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles gerryw713, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has no full mirror, no hairdryer, no wardrobe to hang clothes, but does have a nice shower.”
 of 5 bubbles M9906SRcarolinec, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“check out is 10am so make sure your an early riser if staying here”
 of 5 bubbles yorkshirefoodie91, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 looks over Thee Market Place”
 of 5 bubbles 666HAWK, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you are looking at the right Black Swan”
 of 5 bubbles Spence19, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5