We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The White Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The White Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 345: English reviews
East Boldon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

this is an excellent Inn overlooking the green, a good welcome with cream tea, our room was comfortable and warm with great views. The food is lovely , the best risotto outside of Italy! breakfast was of an excellent quality, even a sausage for our jack russell, which was very much appreciated! can't wait to return.

Helpful?
Thank normanparrington
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I will pass on your praise to the team. Glenn More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a 1.night break here over the weekend .. excellent in every way espicially service from staff.. the hotel situated in the centre of middleham with plenty of easy parking highly recommend will be going back very soon .. thanks

Helpful?
1 Thank sergiotornese
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback. Glenn More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is the second time we have stayed at the White Swan, and it didn't disappoint. The location is excellent, in the centre of Middleham and close to the castle. The hotel, bar and bistro are all very homely and welcoming, the bar has a real fire and is cosily lit by candle light in the evenings. The bistro, where... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura H
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. Its lovely to read you had a great stay. Glenn More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the White Swan on 22nd/24th November We were greeted by Glen the duty manager who was very friendly & helpful. Our room no.16 was clean & comfortable, over looking the square. We had an evening meal which was well cooked & tasty loved our stay and would return for another visit.

Helpful?
Thank June P
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback. Glenn More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here last week. The hotel is excellent, olde worlde and charming. We loved the leather settees in the bar and the welcoming open fires. We had a standard double room which was a good size, decent bed , well stocked hot drinks tray and bottled water supplied, bedding and towels were fine. I'm sorry l have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sebsgran
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you More 

Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for the start of a trip around the Dales, was welcomed to a roaring log fire and a very pleasant receptionist. He explained everything in detail, including how to get in after he had locked the front doors, the bar area was very cosy and you were made to feel at home,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vince B
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My hubby and I stayed for my birthday a few weeks ago, in October. We really enjoyed our stay and the area is beautiful. The food was very good and so was the service. Friendly staff and cosy atmosphere. Whole place lit by candlelight and the open fire. Warm and clean, comfortable bedroom. Lots of hot water. Middleham village itself... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbrownieb
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We arrived to ample free parking and very friendly staff that showed us to our room. First put into a room with a faulty shower, but one phone call to reception and we were moved swiftly and kindly to a lovely room, no questions asked :) Great food, good value and friendly atmosphere, would definitely recommend!

Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh S
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again soon. Glenn More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

From the warm welcome to the delicious breakfast, the White Swan didn't disappoint. Set in the beautifully picturesque village of Middleham, a stone's throw from the historic castle, the White Hart Hotel is a cosy little venue, perfect for an escape to the country. I was able to get a booking on a Groupon deal which included cream tea, a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine W
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you return soon. Glenn Fletcher More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

A gem of a hotel. Friendly welcome. A charming candlelit bar with log burner. Lovely bedroom and a super hot shower over the bath. You could chose to eat dinner in the bar or in the bistro, from the same menu. I went for the casual option in the bar and wasn't disappointed. Dinner was a delight, I had pork... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

What a cracking review. Thank you and i will pass on your feedback to the team. Glenn Fletcher More 

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
1.5 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
378 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
15.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 7 in Middleham
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#4 of 7 in Middleham
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Priory Guesthouse
The Priory Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Middleham
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Here at the White Swan we offer a great level of service and attention to detail. Perfectly situated to access all of Middleham's attractions as we are centrally located. Also there are great walks, bicycle rides (both mountain bike and road bike)nearby. Dogs are welcome, parking is free. Our new management team has as its sole aim "make your visit as good as it could be". ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Middleham DL8 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Price Range: £60 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel Middleham, North Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Warrington, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid the top floor if you have problem with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles normanparrington, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We booked 9 rooms all were of good quality”
 of 5 bubbles 549GrahamS, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay on the top floor!!!”
 of 5 bubbles davido342, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room at the front of the hotel if you want to see the race horses going up to the gallops.”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“street view”
 of 5 bubbles JoC943, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay