We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gairloch Hotel

Expedia.comUS$112*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Gairloch Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gairloch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 232: English reviews
Dalry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Gairloch hotel is well situated for travelling in this part of Scotland. The staff are wonderful and welcoming especially Craig. We were on an Itison deal and it was certainly great value for money although we did pay extra for an upgrade. Our spotless and well equipped room was so comfortable and the views were amazing. We look forward...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine644369
Tommy S, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor. Thank you for such a kind review, we are very happy that you found your stay so enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future. Thank you again Gairloch Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at...

FARNBOROUGH
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and whilst the staff were very friendly the place is seriously run down. Considering it was the start of the holiday season and the hotel had been closed from November to April it was clear absolutely nothing had been done to improve the tired hotel. All public areas were tired and needed improvements and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wicksy2
Tommy S, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review

I was very concerned to have received your comments and would like to offer my genuine apologies to you for such a disappointing stay. I was concerned to read that you had several issues with your room that you were allocated. I have reported all the shortfalls to our maintenance and housekeeping team who have now rectified the situation and...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location but hotel seems to be out of sync with what a hotel should be. Bedrooms and public areas badly in need of re furbishment. Very creaky floorboards in bedrooms and corridors. Food was,at best, mediocre

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KTC9510
Tommy S, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Gairloch Hotel, I am sorry your expectations at the Gairloch were not met on this occasion. The hotel is at present having some refurbishment work done, However I am surprised by your comments, the hotel regularly gets good reviews on the warmth and friendliness of the building even though...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Used to be a coach tour stop but now under new management. Generally, in need of upgrading. However, although room(big) and ensuite were tired, everything worked and was clean and the beds were comfortable. Bar prices were very reasonable and breakfast was good and freshly cooked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tino60
Tommy S, General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor. Thank you for such a kind review, we are very happy that you found your stay so enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future. Thank you again Gairloch Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel through Groupon, and didn't expect too much as it looks very tired from the outside, but inside was a lot better than we expected. The room was large, comfortable, and very clean. The buffet breakfast was excellent, and all of the staff were very friendly and efficient. Would definately return

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shelauch
Tommy S, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor. Thank you for such a kind review, we are very happy that you found your stay so enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future. Thank you again Gairloch Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is dated with wifi only available at the reception. That said the rooms were clean with beautiful views of the sea and beach opposite. The meals were perfectly adequate and staff was friendly. All in all good value for money and would not hesitate to book again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndyJackson88
Tommy S, General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor. Thank you for such a kind review, we are very happy that you found your stay so enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future. Thank you again Gairloch Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall the hotel was very old and not taken care of and properly maintained. Located at a beautiful location, but the facilities definitely not what looks like on the photos. The worst thing was the food in the restaurant. We wanted to have dinner there and the options were poor and everything frozen and fried. The breakfast was very poor...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Irimiri
Tommy S, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review

was very concerned to have received your comments and would like to offer my genuine apologies to you for such a disappointing experience. I wish I had an opportunity to rectify this during your meal had it been brought to my team or my attention. I have reported all the shortfalls to our Restaurant & kitchen team who have now...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Sea view rooms have a lovely view of beach and sea. Hotel is dated, rooms need refurbished windows need to be sealed better as they let the elements into the room. Room 113 and 114 For a one night stay the beds were ok, and it was nice to start the morning with breakfast. The staff work hard in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MVM101
Tommy S, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Gairloch Hotel, I am sorry your expectations at the Gairloch were not met on this occasion. The hotel is at present having some refurbishment work done, However I am surprised by your comments, the hotel regularly gets good reviews on the warmth and friendliness of the building even though...

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We made another fabulous trip to this hotel. Yes, it is dated and needs refurbishing but apparently the new owners are waiting to see how the hotel is doing before the refurbishing starts. They need new equipment for the Internet and if you are desperate for entertainment yes, the TVs need replacing. And, I mean desperate. What you need to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank janet190800
Tommy S, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Gairloch Hotel, I am sorry your expectations at the Gairloch were not met on this occasion. The hotel is at present having some refurbishment work done, I have reported all the shortfalls to our maintenance who are now rectifying we look forward to welcoming you all back in the...

Aberdeen, Scotland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had booked this via It's On - 2 night stay but stayed only the first night. Staff are very helpful and the hotel is clean. However it is very dated. You can see other reviews to. This has the potential to be a great hotel if the rooms need a re-furb. First place I would start would be providing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goldmercury
Tommy S, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review

I was very concerned to have received your comments and would like to offer my genuine apologies to you for such a disappointing stay. I was concerned to read that you had several issues with your room that you were allocated. I have reported all the shortfalls to our maintenance and housekeeping team who have now rectified the situation and...

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
2.7 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
142 reviews
4.2 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
555 reviews
8.7 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
225 reviews
16.8 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Restful, beautiful and brimming with Highland hospitality, the tastefully appointed Gairloch Hotel stands in a superb location. This charming hotel, built in 1872, is just minutes from the beach and boasts stunning views to the Western Isles from the public areas. The hotel has recently had a number of rooms updated to Superior and Premier status for those who wish to match the impressive backdrop with a more luxurious stay. Enjoy dining in the recently refurbished restaurant before settling down to an evening of great entertainment in the Grand Lounge and entertainment room which has also been tastefully updated. The hotel is situated at the centre point of Gairloch Bay, giving wonderful panoramic views out to the Isle of Skye and it lies in a landscape rich in wildlife with unspoilt shores, lochs and mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gairloch Hotel

Address: 9 Raonmor, Gairloch IV21 2BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Price Range: £66 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gairloch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your Gairloch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gairloch Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gairloch Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Gairloch Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our twin room was large.”
barbarae646, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea facing foom”
JudeAberdeen, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“You have to have a sea view, it's wonderful”
hazelbrook1, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a shower”
GeodudeDumbarton, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms - well worth the small additional charge”
A2426CYrobertb, 21 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$112* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$115
Orbitz.comUS$112
Hotels.comUS$112
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates