The Porlock Weir Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Porlock Weir Hotel

Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB England
Traveller (328)
Room & Suite (42)
Judge for yourself,  hand cut? Fresh?
Dining (28)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 2 B&Bs in Porlock Weir
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Porlock Weir hotel is situated in the heart of the Exmoor National park, approximately 1.5 miles west of Porlock in Somerset and sits majestically beneath the steep hanging woods overlooking a tidal harbour, with its pebbled beach and invigorating sea and salt marshes. The South West Coastal Path is on its doorstep, and the Porlock Weir Hotel is the perfect place to rest and revive.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Fishing
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Sun terrace
Room features
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB England
348Reviews5Q+A89Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 274
  • 43
  • 16
  • 6
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
bongo62 wrote a review Aug 2020
Berkshire38 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Bit unsure about going away after the lockdown and C-19, but so glad we did. 2 nights away for a bit of r&r was just what was needed. The hotel are very Covid aware and had put processes in place to minimise risk. Hand sanitiser everywhere, serving staff wear masks, rooms cleaned during stay only if asked for (we didn’t, just top ups of tea, coffee etc).
Fantastic spot, and the hotel was welcoming and a relaxed place to be, pizza on the terrace was great. Nathalie was particularly lovely and ensured we were looked after.
We spent time on the pebble beach around the core and were the only ones there.
Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CBC537 wrote a review Jun 2021
Bristol, United Kingdom45 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Two relaxing nights half-board and a first visit under new ownership: this is clearly a very well managed hotel. Our room was spotless, the food from a sensibly small menu was local and expertly cooked but it was the staff who made the difference: more on them later. The décor hints towards seaside chic without being overly pretentious and the various sitting rooms are quite beautiful in a sophisticated and understated manner, with mixture of antique and modern furnishings. The idyllic location is obviously a major attraction too. Covid care is first class and could not be faulted: masks, fresh air, and general cleanliness were observed through all areas. The staff are uncomplainingly busy and it was Bank Holiday but nothing was too much trouble for them. From a welcoming reception to helpful bar staff, from domestic staff to waiters and the cooking team, all played their part in making our visit so thoroughly enjoyable. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michell Tenreiro, General Manager at The Porlock Weir Hotel
Responded 3 Jun 2021
Dear CBC537 Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your break and our beautiful surroundings, both inside and out. I will pass your compliments onto the team. We hope you visit us again very soon. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clive13364 wrote a review Aug 2020
16 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 4 nights from August 1st. Check in was fuss free and quick. Hotel and our room were spotlessly clean.
We stayed in room 18, a very recent addition we were told. The room was fine with a lovely bathroom and great shower. The only drawback with the room was that it was stiflingly hot, there is only one window in the room and we found ourselves having to prop the room door open and get a bit of air flow from the open landing window. We mentioned at checkout that maybe a fan would be beneficial.
Breakfast was good but on occasion the service was a bit haphazard with 2 or 3 people taking your order and then nothing appeared, this only happened once to be fair.
We didn’t eat in the restaurant but the pizzas on the terrace were awesome !
Staff were all pleasant and helpful. Parking over the road on the pay and display car park was free and we never struggled for a space.
All in all a lovely stay and I would definitely recommend and return
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michell Tenreiro, General Manager at The Porlock Weir Hotel
Responded 13 Aug 2020
Dear Clive13364, Thank you so much for your lovely review. The room is indeed a new addition and your feedback is very helpful, as such we have supplied the room with a fan to help ease the heat in the room when we have such hot weather. We have decided to change our breakfast procedures and staff training has been ongoing for the last few days as we constantly look at how we can best apply the Covid guidelines whilst offering good customer service. We hope to welcome you back soon Best wishes,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caroline B wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for four nights in August and did not feel that we had good value for money. The room had a wonderful view, the bathroom was fine and the bed very comfortable, but there was no wardrobe and nowhere to store suitcases. We had to hang our clothes on hangers on hooks on the wall and keep the suitcases sitting on the floor, getting in the way
The bedside lights were hopeless and we asked for two reading lights and were given one, which we had to raise on books on the bedside table. There were no pictures on the walls and the only feature on the wall was a large TV set.
The food was good but service was poor and some of the waiters were seemingly untrained. Items were forgotten, brought at the wrong time and on the first morning the tea arrived but no food for about an hour. The tea was cold by the time we got the food and a replacement pot never arrived. Fresh fruit for breakfast was served sliced in its skins with no fruit knife. Eating a slice of grapefruit in its skin with a table knife and fork is impossible
Altogether pretty poor for over £1200 DB&B for four nights.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a garden facing room as people and noisy dogs may be outside in front of the hotel at...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CGMalvern wrote a review Jul 2020
Great Malvern, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful setting metres from the harbour and pebble beach. The hotel has rooms with large windows looking out onto the harbour and very tasteful decor. The pizzas are great and the oysters and seafood platter (order 24hrs in advance for the large sharing platter with lobster) are fantastic. Limited wine list and no cocktails which was a little disappointing. Also music pipped into the dining room intrusive on occasions but overall It’s a quiet and beautiful location perfect spot for touring the area. The staff also went to great lengths to minimise risk around COVID-19. We will definitely book again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shane C wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just returned from a two night stay at the Porlock Weir Hotel after deciding to take a last minute trip with my dog.
I don’t often write reviews but I really wanted to as I cannot say enough how wonderful this hotel was to stay at.
The cleanliness of the hotel and room was superb and as a hotel that accommodates dogs (for those that may not be dog lovers) there was not a sign or smell of dogs anywhere.
The hotel decorated so tastefully and organised in such a thoughtful way from accommodating dogs to the lovely guest pantry that meant you were never short of milk, tea or treats for guests and dog biscuits to boot!
The hotel staff were so friendly and always willing to help. They also were so friendly with my dog who can be a bit nervous of strangers, so I was worried he might bark and frighten people but the interaction really relaxed him and he was going up to them for biscuits by the end, so some great positive reinforcement for him too!!
The location was stunning with seats for dining arranged overlooking the sea so you can absorb the views as often or little as you want.
Food was also really wonderful and a pizza oven at the side with fresh cooked pizzas being cooked for something less formal.
Al in all it was a wonderful stay I would thoroughly recommend The Porlock Weir and feel that they have everything exactly right.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AlisonfromDevon wrote a review Sept 2020
Dartmouth, United Kingdom45 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for our wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. The staff were super welcoming and friendly; the accomodation was very comfortable and beautifully kept especially due to the Covid 19 restrictions that are currenly in force - we felt safe and well looked after.
The food was delicious and the advice on where to walk was also super helpful.

One tip; our dog friendly room ( Room 9) was at the side and whilst very comfortable, it was very noisy due to the kitchen extraction system just outside our window and it also overlooked the outside bar area which may get noisy in summer.

A great weekend - Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DrinksOnMe wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all, I'd like to start by saying how wonderful all the staff are. Brilliant service from all waitresses and waiter despite their shortage in staff, really had them running off their feet haha.

The room was as if new, smelled and looked clean, the bed was comfortable, though I found the douvet to be a little too thin ( I do like to stay very warm at night ), this may just be a personal problem.

The food was excellently cooked, the desserts were sublime when I had enough space to eat them at least haha.
I found the squid to be a little rubbery and hard to chew, but other than that one fault, its one of the best few meals Ive eaten down in the South West!

Compliments to Cindy for being so happy and welcoming, really lighted the mood after a long drive. When she's not feeding the dogs treats she's either running around working hard or laughing with customers or residents. She really is one of the highlights of the stay.

The young girl at the reception, I believe her name is Amy, was also very welcoming upon arrival, showing us where everything was and even offering to help us with our bags. Smartly dressed and always with a smile on her face, a very nice person indeed.

I couldn't ask for a better hotel for a couple days stay. Though I will add that in the bar area you can hear the kitchen at work very clearly and I understand that it can be busy, but if the chefs could keep the foul language to a minimum, it would make the experience just a little better.

Other than that, I enjoyed my stay and I hope to come again, if not to stay then atleast a pizza or two :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
moleBath wrote a review Aug 2020
Bath, United Kingdom336 contributions160 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good efficient booking system.

Nice friendly welcome and hygiene is well organised

From the outside the hotel looks a little ordinary but as soon as you enter you see it is smart ,tasteful and not the subject of corporate blandness. Some interesting historical links have been maintained as well
The rooms overlooking the harbour are the best bet. Room service etc a bit constrained by Covid of course.All staff friendly and helpful at all times

Food is very good and a decent wine list. The main dining room is carefully laid out. The outside terrace offers pizza in good weather , the only bit of the hotel that is a bit tatty at present.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Room 8 has an excellent view over the harbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
holidaychicLondon wrote a review Nov 2020
London, United Kingdom616 contributions338 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had room 4 looking out to the harbour. The room was spacious and attractively decorated. The breakfast were very nice, a very long wait the first morning though but not the second one - so all good. We had dinner there one evening which was delicious and great service and everything about the hotel is Covid friendly. The staff and guests all wear masks when moving around the hotel, there’s sanitiser as you come into the hotel, they bring the table wear when you sit down for you to place on the table yourself and more. The car park is over the road, loads of spaces and you’re given a ticket to place in your car when you check in. We loved our stay here - no complaints from us :-)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michell Tenreiro, General Manager at The Porlock Weir Hotel
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Dear holidaychicLondon, Thank you so much for the lovely review, as always it cheers us all up and we always appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you again soon and that you are keeping safe. Warm Wishes, Michell
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate O asked a question Dec 2022
Taunton, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
Do you have level access to dining areas and toilets?
Answer from John B
1 contribution
Yes they do for the restaurant not sure about the hotel.
Janet R asked a question Apr 2022
How dog friendly is the hotel?
Answer from Avril G
Down Thomas4 contributions
Very dog friendly, your dog will be very welcome.
Answer from Michell
Porlock Weir, United Kingdom1 contribution
We have 17 bedrooms and we have been lucky enough to be full each night and as they dine with us each evening, all of the tables in the restaurant and bar are taken. We also want to keep our service to a high standard. In order for us to open the terrace bar, we would need another 1/2 staff members which we literally do not have and when you do come for your meal and drinks on the terrace, you will expect service and moan if you wait for more than 15 minutes! I appreciate it is disappointing, just as it is for us to turn people away. It goes against our nature to say no to people, but unfortunately there isn't much of an understanding when it comes to this subject and many hotels/restaurants in hospitality has found the same issues. We also serve non-resident visitors lunch everyday 12:00pm - 2:30pm as well as serving take away pizzas every Friday, Saturday & Sunday evening Saying we have a high minded attitude is just ignorant, and we are very different than a pop up noodle bar!
Answer from Michell
Porlock Weir, United Kingdom1 contribution
We do indeed! When you look at dates via our website, it will give you the option of booking a double or twin bedded room.
Francis L asked a question Jul 2020
Warminster, United Kingdom4 contributions
Are children welcome?
Answer from Michell
Porlock Weir, United Kingdom1 contribution
Yes they are
millie wrote a tip Feb 2024
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking was available in the car park opposite the hotel, hotel provided a parking pass to display."
Read full review
Richard H wrote a tip Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go stay, its great!"
Read full review
Andy B-S wrote a tip Nov 2023
Bradford91 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just book, it is lovely!"
Read full review
Angus M wrote a tip Nov 2023
Cirencester, United Kingdom9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very dog friendly so keep that in mind !"
Read full review
Julie P wrote a tip Nov 2023
Devizes, United Kingdom50 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to book a harbour view room if available, fantastic views."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Porlock Weir area.
PRICE RANGE
£135 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandExmoor National ParkPorlock Weir
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PORLOCK WEIR HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Porlock Weir Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Porlock Weir Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Dunkery Beacon (4.3 miles), Burrowhayes Farm Riding Stables (1.4 miles), and South West Coast Path - Bossington Landscape (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Porlock Weir Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Porlock Weir Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Porlock Weir Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Porlock Weir Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whortleberry Tearoom and Studio B&B, Periwinkle Tea Rooms, and Piggy In The Middle.
Is The Porlock Weir Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.09 miles away from the centre of Porlock Weir.
Are pets allowed at The Porlock Weir Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Porlock Weir Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to The Porlock Weir Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Church of All Saints (3.5 miles) and Allerford Packhorse Bridge (2.6 miles).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire