We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clachaig Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballachulish
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

730 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 699: English reviews
Start your review of Clachaig Inn
 Click to rate
Surbiton
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here as part of a weekend to Visit my Brother & Sister in Law. We had climbed The Lost Valley at Glen Coe (it was a tough walk But SO worth it) !!!and to have the Inn on our doorstop was brilliant! The location is incredible. I had a twin room (Room 8) on my own. It was clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoannaSurbiton
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had the most fantastic stay at the Clachaig Inn. Staff very friendly and helpful. Large portions and yummy food. Great selection of drinks. Warm cosy and very comfortable room. Oh and we danced the night away - entertainment 👍Don't miss out on this place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norma C
Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just spent a week hillwalking in the Glencoe and Fort William area, and it was the thought of a pint of River Leven Pilsener in the Clachaig that got me through some tough winter days. A great place to relax by a warm wood-burning stove over a pint while reflecting on a day in the hills. Excellent selection of single...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J R
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I came here for tea and the food was really nice. the haggis was great, the burger was great, and so was the chilli although it was very spicy! I would highly recommend you come here as it is a great looking hotel a and the food is a amazing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markp320
Clachaig, General Manager at Clachaig Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Brisbane,Queensland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had double room over kitchen which is accessed via back passage part kitchen. Room clean and adequate for one night. Was warned may be noise from kitchen below but didn't hear anything or music later in night. Large restaurant and bars downstairs. Adequate menu for normal food but no gluten free to speak of and staff didn't seem to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen b
Clachaig, General Manager at Clachaig Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Disappointed to learn our staff were unable to help. We certainly make an effort to cater for all manner of dietary requirements however, guests with specific needs usually inform us prior to arrival. Let us know next time and we'll do our best.

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Wow! The location of this place is breathtaking. Lovely friendly welcome from reception. Room was lovely, warm and welcoming. View from the window was stunning (room6). Great atmosphere in the bars. Like ads of walks from the hotel. Absolutely stunning. Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 999kermit
Clachaig, General Manager at Clachaig Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

The pub is cosy, and was busy as it was a Saturday night. I ordered a glass of wine. Firstly I had a Sauvignon blanc - it was about £4.55 for an individual small bottle. The alarm bells should have been ringing, but unfortunately I couldn't hear them past the old man, tone deaf band. This wine was ok but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prs5
Clachaig, General Manager at Clachaig Inn, responded to this review

Pretty 'cheesy' review given the bar staff changed the first glass of wine without hesitation, offered a taste of the replacement prior to purchase, which was accepted, then your companion decided her wine was also cheesy despite being a different wine. Can't understand why paying £4.25 (Not £5) for a 187ml sealed bottle of wine would set off 'alarm bells'...

Beith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights this time! Love the Clachaig, great location, great breakfasts, rooms are ok though this time we had a family room which was much bigger. The Boots Bar is great and we spent lazy afternoons in there after long dog walking mornings, testing the local beers and whiskies. The food is great if you're only there for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jules_Avery
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Great atmosphere in this pub. Plenty of people with dogs. Always a conversation starter. The huge log burner is lovely. We had sandwiches that were full of filling. Would definitely visit again. There are rooms available too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dizzyelliott
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We arrived not knowing fully what to expect and found a delightful mountain hotel catering to hikers exploring the area. We met some wonderful people in the restaurant and bar here - the atmosphere is convivial and the bar had great live music. The rooms reflect the relatively modest price - very small with basic, comfortable beds. My wife and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alejandroreti

268 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (268)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (116)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
5.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
108 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
293 reviews
3.0 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,111 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
630 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the heart of Glencoe, Clachaig Inn is a popular hostelry with a rich mountaineering heritage. Accommodation is provided by 23 en suite bedrooms, most of which enjoy the spectacular mountain views. Clachaig has 3 lively bars award winning bars and specializes in cask conditioned ales and malt whiskey. Food is served throughout the day and the menus use a variety of locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clachaig Inn

Address: Ballachulish, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Clachaig Hotel Clachaig
Clachaig Inn Ballachulish, Glencoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clachaig Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Clachaig Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It was very good”
 of 5 bubbles markp320, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask re rooms on booking.”
 of 5 bubbles P8500APkarenb, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High floors for best views.”
 of 5 bubbles 999kermit, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in the outer rooms which had a covered entrance. Very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles vmclaughlin65, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Caution if traveling with under 18's, the lively bar is not available for them”
 of 5 bubbles marcusseaton1, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5