The Mallard Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Mallard Hotel

Traveller (68)
Some of the rooms have views of the Gullane golf courses.
Room & Suite (9)
Brownie with vanilla ice cream
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 3 hotels in Gullane
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Mallard Hotel (formerly the Watchman Hotel) reopened in March with a new look for 2024. The whole house has been redecorated adding more colour and soft furnishings. Our dining room has been transformed into the warm and welcoming 'little duckling restaurant' and you will find our bar and lounge totally refurnished for your comfort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Room features
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quaint

Location

East Links Road, Gullane EH31 2AF Scotland
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 68 out of 100
68
Turnhouse Airport
21.4 mi
See all flights
Dundee Airport
29.8 mi
See all flights
109Reviews0Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 73
  • 16
  • 5
  • 8
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cal food wrote a review Sept 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom67 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Enjoyed Sunday lunch with family today at the newly opened Watchman it's barely recognisable from my last visit in May 2019 when it was known as The Mallard.

There has been plenty spent on upgrading and it seems more open snd inviting now - certainly at the front of the building.

The staff were equally welcoming and professional with plenty of bodies on show to look after guests.

Food was excellent. It may be a bit pricey for some but I felt it reasonable for £25 approx for a steak. I enjoyed the Sunday roast which was faultless in presentation and taste. You could cut the beef with the given knive which I'd always a good sign.

Kids menu Mains at £9 may put some off and maybe you wouldn't necessarily think of taking kids there but my two were happy enough. They ate everything so that says it all.

My mother thought her Ribeye the best she had tasted.

Overall a great opening snd I would be happy to recommend to others. I expect the place to.be full most weekends.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ronald Tindoy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mallard Hotel
Responded 16 Sept 2021
Hello Calfoodreview, Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience with us. I am very happy to hear that our food and service met your expectations. I appreciate you recommending us to your friends and other travellers. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Ron The Watchman Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neil G wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided upon a 2 day visit to Gullane for a honeymoon and booked the Watchman for 2 nights. We certainly weren't disappointed. From the moment we checked in we were made to feel very welcome by the staff and ensured we got everything that we needed during our stay. We te in the restaurant on the 2nd night and although the menu is currently fairly limited the food and service was excellent and very reasonably priced. I would recommend booking the lookout room as the bath is excellent as well as the views over the golf course. Thanks to all the staff for making our honeymoon a very relaxing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Surajit Dasgupta, General Manager at The Mallard Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Watchman for your honeymoon, and it was our pleasure to get an opportunity to look after you. We sincerely appreciate your kind feedback, and I will share it with the rest of the team. We do hope to see you all soon and welcome you back. Kind Regards, Surajit
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ditsydorah wrote a review Jul 2023
Durham, United Kingdom86 contributions85 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A great stay at The Watchman, we are already planning our next visit! The hotel is in an excellent location with a lovely terrace area out the front which we sat at in the afternoon and the evening. It was lovely in the sunshine and great views of the golf courses and way beyond. There is a lovely garden out the back with seating also. Parking was great, we got a space no problem each day and it’s tucked away so felt secure. Breakfast lived up to what we’d read on other reviews, it was absolutely delicious! I recommend the waffles with bacon and the eggs florentine was tasty too. The room was smaller than we expected, and only one bedside table was not ideal for two of us. The bathroom was a great size, with a large walk-in shower and very powerful - great after miles of walking in the sunshine. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was very relaxed. Overall an enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christy Bellamy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mallard Hotel
Responded 8 Nov 2023
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a good review! It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are aware of the issue with having only one bedside table and are in the process of working on a solution. Hopefully it will be just as you expected next time you stay in our lovely hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caroline L wrote a review Apr 2022
9 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved the place. Great location near John Muir way we went for a long walk beautiful beaches and sand dunes.
Hotel is very tastefully decorated . The staff were very attentive. Archie was very helpful and helped us with check in and again at the bar. We had a delicious meal in the bar one evening . I had the pork belly curry and my husband had the monkfish pie . The standard of food was excellent. Breakfast was also top class with poached eggs done to perfection . The room was spacious and comfortable .
We loved the place and hope to return there again some time
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Lovely coffee shop Goose on the green with a great selection of cakes. We drive out to Dirleton...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Watchman Hotel Manager , General Manager at The Mallard Hotel
Responded 2 May 2022
Dear Caroline L Thank you for takeing the time to leave your amazing review. Archie was really pleased to get another mention. It is great to read that you loved the Watchman, and we too hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Marcel Wassen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen T wrote a review Oct 2021
Hexham, United Kingdom56 contributions42 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Living close to The Watchman we had high hopes that the refurbished hotel would add another quality dining experience to Gullane. We were disappointed. The bar area is fine but the Dining Room is already looking worn as paint is scratched and scuffed after just a few weeks. Had drinks on the terrace and watched staff struggle with trays of drinks and an awkward door until after 30 mins someone wedged the door open. Menu had bar food on one side consisting of steaks, burgers, fish & chips and £40 3 course set menu on the other. The mains on the set menu were curried fish, bbq'd celeriac or belly pork. As none of these seemed too appetising we settled for house burger & chicken burger. Both were mediocre. With competition from The Main Course, The Old Clubhouse, Superfry and the Bonnie Badger, The Watchman will have to try harder to attract locals if it is not to rely on visiting golfers.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Surajit Dasgupta, General Manager at The Mallard Hotel
Responded 11 Oct 2021
Dear Stephen T937, Thank you for visiting Watchman Hotel and taking the time to give us feedback. As we are a new operation, we use all comments to help us learn and improve our facilities, offering, and service. We have been experimenting with our menus to match seasonal produce available from local suppliers with what appeals to our guests. The menu has and will change regularly, and you can find the current version on our website. If you are thinking about a return visit, I would be delighted to get your feedback on our latest food offering – I’m sure you will find some tempting choices. Kind Regards Surajit
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ritchieposse wrote a review Apr 2022
East Lothian64 contributions15 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I’d booked a table for 8 people for lunch on Friday 15 April. When we arrived, no table set up and hastily arranged despite No One else in the restaurant or bar.
Unknown to me, the entire menu had been changed with effect of Friday 15th, I’d received no contact or notification. I’d also not been informed that the staff were indulging in a menu tasting for the new menu that afternoon and was told by the waitress to order later as the food would be a wait due to the tasting session- still no one else in the pub or restaurant.
The new menu entirely inappropriate for lunch - more fitting of an evening menu and price reflected evening meal.
very disappointing and the manager not receptive to our ask to access the more appropriate brunch menu which finished at 1pm.
Left to go elsewhere and won’t be back
A sad indightment of a pub/restaurant in East Lothian that doesn’t know where it’s customer base lies.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Watchman Hotel Manager , General Manager at The Mallard Hotel
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Dear Ritchieposse, Thank you for your recent review. We have since spoken and following our conversation, I was pleased to hear that your previous visits have always been enjoyable, and it was disappointing that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. It was however particularly reassuring that you will be returning. As I mentioned please contact me directly when you are ready to return and I look forward to personally meeting you on your return. Warm regards, Marcel Wassen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stan-and-doe wrote a review Dec 2021
Windsor, UK28 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Watchman over Christmas weekend whilst visiting our niece and her family. We had a tremendous time, very well looked after by the wonderful staff led by Chris and his fellow managers.

We had a Golf-view room…spacious and great views over the golf course and surrounding countryside. We both slept really well in the comfortable bed and woke up with batteries fully charged…breakfast is superb and sets you up for the rest of the day. Bathroom is spacious and well equipped

Food is excellent (we ate in the restaurant on Friday evening) and ate very well.

We all know that the hospitality sector has been struggling over the last months but the Watchman seem to have weathered the storm and managed to retain and recruit top quality staff

We will certainly return in 2022
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris Campbell, General Manager at The Mallard Hotel
Responded 29 Dec 2021
Thank you so much for your tremendous review, we had so much fun looking after you over your Christmas break. I am glad you liked your room, the view is stunning! (Don't get me started on the beds!) We look forward to welcoming you back in 2022. Take care and stay safe,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
atseacliff wrote a review Mar 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife had visited the Watchman last year and raved about the experience. Given our expectations this visit was, I’m afraid underwhelming. We both had haddock which was small and over battered with a small portion of chips and mushy peas. This was all served on small plates which were inadequate as the chips and peas were in containers. I should add that, while the waitress was new she was very attentive and we wouldn’t fault her service. However, for a premium priced main course I’m afraid the food was inadequate on this occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Watchman Hotel Manager , General Manager at The Mallard Hotel
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Dear Dream18647752788, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent visit to our restaurant. We agree with your feedback on the prices and are pleased to advice that last Friday we launched our new menu with a considerate drop on prices. We are confident in the quality of our products and hope that you agree with our recent changes when you next visit. Warm regards, Marcel Wassen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aray2209 wrote a review May 2024
london70 contributions72 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Reception staff were very helpful, and the hotel and rooms appeared clean.
We were paying over £300 per night which included an element for breakfast which could not be removed.
The first room we were offered was tiny, just bigger than the bed, with an even tinier bathroom, and an open style “wardrobe” only with a couple of hangers. We were moved at our request by a very helpful young lady, to a room which was a bit better but still by no means good, and overlooking the car park.
I would have been satisfied to pay £100 or so per night for this room, but at the £300 per night rate, I am incredulous that they get away with charging this much. It is astonishing, and I can’t think of a worse value purchase I have made as far back as I can remember.
Restaurant service at evening meal was a little uneven, several things forgotten, food was OK only, our table ordered 2 different white wines, all 5 of us thought they were very acidic and unbalanced.
Breakfast: was truly awful. Haggis, hash browns, black pudding clearly bought-in/frozen, sausage microwaved and a pale unappetising colour etc. Granola concoction inedible. Even though we were forced to pay for breakfast, on our second morning we went somewhere else and paid again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pete wrote a review Sept 2021
London, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Travelled up from London this week and after a disappointing steak in a well known and overpriced Edinburgh restaurant the night before, enjoyed a well priced and an excellently cooked ribeye at the Watchman tonight. Clearly a chef who knows what he’s doing. Will certainly return when next up in Gullane.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ronald Tindoy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mallard Hotel
Responded 26 Sept 2021
Hello Pete, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your ribeye steak. I will certainly share your kind comments with our chef. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Ron The Watchman Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
aray2209 wrote a tip May 2024
london70 contributions72 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else."
Read full review
Dennis C wrote a tip May 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Food is great and staff goes all out for customer."
Read full review
Helen S wrote a tip Dec 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Phone the hotel direct if you have any special needs . "
Read full review
James F wrote a tip Sept 2023
16 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We opted for the ‘lookout’ room. Well worth it. "
Read full review
Gracia G wrote a tip Sept 2023
Livingston, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Possibly better suited as 'a base' for golfers not looking for a hotel experience."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gullane area.
PRICE RANGE
£221 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Mallard Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEast LothianGullane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE MALLARD HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Mallard Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Mallard Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Old Clubhouse (0.09 miles), St Andrew's Church (0.2 miles), and Cools (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Mallard Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Mallard Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Mallard Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Mallard Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cherish Vintage Tearoom & Emporium, La Potiniere, and The Main Course.
Is The Mallard Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Gullane.
Are pets allowed at The Mallard Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Mallard Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dirleton Castle (2.2 miles), Gosford House (4.4 miles), and The Lodge Grounds (3.9 miles).
All Gullane HotelsGullane Hotel DealsHotels near The Mallard Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire