We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ord Arms

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ord Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Ord Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Whithorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015

The hotel is an old building and far from five star and doesn't pretend to be so but it is very clean and comfortable and the owners and staff could not have been more helpful. The menu was not fancy but offered lots of choice - we ate for four nights and between the two of us had eight different...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cragn212
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015

I stayed here at the end of June prior to a business meeting the next day. The lady behind reception (who was also manning the bar) was very smiley and welcoming. I was located at the end of the corridor so noise wasn’t a problem. The room was slightly better than expected. It could do with some updating but served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
Reviewed 10 July 2015

The Food was great especially the Haggis the beds Weren't really comfortable and there was no bathroom in one room but apart from that food wise the rest of our meal was pretty good Thanks for your service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam D
Cirencester
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Ord Arms. The staff there are very friendly and helpful. Service was excellent. However, the rooms are looking tired and would benefit from some refurbishment. The creaky floor was a bit embarrassing too for that early morning wee! That said, the bedding, towels, etc were spotlessly clean and the shower and bathroom were very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BarrynEileen
Sutherland
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed here recently for two nights. On my arrival I was made very welcome and shown to my en-suite, upstairs, room, despite the fact that at the time they were very busy with lots of people back and fore. The room was clean and comfortable, and what you would expect for the very very modest and reasonable price charged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charfish
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked this hotel before checking reviews on Trip Advisor which is unusual for us. We did read a few of these before going and was a bit apprehensive about going. We knew it was a 2 star and headed off regardless, after all it was only for an overnight stop. When we arrived, we were booked in and shown to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caledi
Scotland
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Didn't expect too much from this 1 night trip and wasn't wrong. Friendly enough young chap checked me in and showed me to my room ( 12 ) which looked like it had been caught in a time warp, best described as 70's decor. The bathroom appeared to have been last upgraded about 30 years ago. The shower pressure was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BRICARScotland
Ord-Arms, Owner at The Ord Arms, responded to this review

I can’t imagine why someone would want to stay somewhere they ‘didn’t expect too much from’. To describe this 2 star hotel as being in a ‘time warp’ with ‘70’s décor’ is a totally inaccurate description for the following reasons: All the bedroom decor is of a neutral colour with contemporary pictures and curtains. The bathrooms are all white with...

Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Been here on and off since 2006 and I haven't a bad word to say about it friendly staff and great owners and great customers u might no who I am and I work there so I don't no why people complain about it it's the only place where there is a coal fire and good food

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barney G
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Drove straight passed the hotel as they hadn't bothered to illuminate their sign that night but found it eventually by driving really slowly down the road again. We booked this particular hotel because it had a bar and restaurant we were disappointed to be greeted by a sign telling us that the restaurant was closed. Hey, it's off season so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamieLips
Ord-Arms, Owner at The Ord Arms, responded to this review

The lighting on the front of the hotel is fully functioning when the hotel restaurant is open, however due to this time of year being out of season a decision was taken to close same on Sunday evenings which is the reason the only lighting was from the public bar. This issue will be addressed with the member of staff...

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2013

On arrival the first impressions are not too good.... slightly dilapidated and dour looking building in need of a bit of TLC. The rooms are similarly old fashioned, but beds and linen clean and tidy and easily do for a quick night's stay. The bar area smells strange and doesn't serve proper beer, just the usual keg stuff, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ncas

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muir of Ord
2.6 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
306 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dower House
The Dower House
#1 of 1 in Muir of Ord
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
122 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
382 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Ord Arms

Address: Great North Road, Muir of Ord IV6 7XR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Muir of Ord
Price Range: £61 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ord Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ord Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ord Arms Muir Of Ord, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Ord Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 9 - 12 are closer to the railway line, so you will hear the odd train.”
RobChis72, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in Room 2 which has plenty of space around the twin beds and in the bathroom.”
jollyquest, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“My room was at the rear of the hotel, where there was little or no view. It depends upon what you are looking for, and all I/we needed was a comfortable, clean place to sleep, and that is what we got. If you need a view, then go out and look around. The bedroom is for sleeping in.”
Charfish, 26 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Only saw our room which was No.2 and we had no noise, there is a train track not far away but this did not cause any problems.”
Caledi, 21 Jul 2014 | Read review
“good room No.10”
CalumR792, 12 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5