We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Cliff Hotel & Spa

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1240)
Room & Suite (165)
Dining (111)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Cardigan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This renowned hotel boasts one of the most breathtaking views and marine locations in Wales, overlooking Cardigan Bay, the rugged coastline, the Teifi Estuary and the broad sweep of Poppit Sands. The Cliff Hotel & Spa offers guests luxurious accommodation, with all rooms having en suite facilities and many having a view over Cardigan Bay and the hotel's golf course. Guests are able to relax and enjoy the view in the bar or lounge. Luxurious spa facilities are ready to offer guests a perfect relaxation zone in which to unwind and indulge. The health spa hosts a salt water hydro spa, steam room, sauna, hot tub, gym along with treatment rooms including a couple's treatment room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Golf course
Hiking
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1,622Review40Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 840
  • 470
  • 169
  • 78
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ann T wrote a review 18 Apr
Llanybydder, United Kingdom3 contributions
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cliff Hotel. What a wonderful Birthday Celebration for our bestie. From the moment the 5/6 of us arrived to the time we left we had a brilliant experience. The breakfast choice was excellent and the evening meal outstanding.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nainelen wrote a review 18 Apr
Rhosneigr, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
A bit disappointed with this hotel, no one made us feel special, I had heard good reports. Our room was just about ok, dirty marks on the walls and doors and the carpet could have done with a clean, the bathroom was not sparkling - just about ok! We had booked dinner at the hotel but after we were shown to our table we waited for 20 mins and nobody came to take a drinks or food order even though all the guest around us were being served. We were not happy and left.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Hank wrote a review 16 Apr
Bridgend County, United Kingdom62 contributions45 helpful votes
My owners were less than impressed From one size robes to fit some but not plus size guests - to no footwear provided - (you route off the street into the changing rooms transverses your route from the changing rooms to the spa and treatment rooms ( very few guests in the spa area had footwear on ) the overall experience is not one of luxury but make do! The treatment was nice ( scalp massage) but the spar experience with all those dirty feet was less than comforting and the dismissive attitude over “one size fits some” robes was delivered with a forced apology was poor. Not a great experience + not great customer service = not great
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring footwear and your own robe if your plus size
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent visit to The Cliff Hotel & Spa, we are pleased that you enjoyed your massage and sincerely apologise that you were disappointed with your experience in the main spa area. Footwear is not provided as the soft slippers that are provided in guest bedrooms would become saturated and slip when wet. However, you can certainly provide your own footwear if you wish, as detailed in spa literature and confirmation emails provided during the booking process. We do apologise once again that you were disappointed with your visit, please be assured that your comments have been taken onboard and shared throughout the team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
An_Old_Burian wrote a review 16 Apr
Norwich, United Kingdom1393 contributions471 helpful votes
An excellent hotel - and even better if you get a sea view room. The food was well prepared using good ingredients, the service was excellent and the whole atmosphere really was most enjoyable. we will certainly be returning - and, hopefully, fairly soon
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide comments on your recent visit, we are thrilled that you had an enjoyable experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cardinalbadger wrote a review 14 Apr
Caerphilly, United Kingdom104 contributions72 helpful votes
Had an overnight stay with dinner , bed and breakfast which at £170 for a couple was great value for money. Staff were friendly and helpful, room was comfortable, clean and quiet Dinner was excellent and the view over Cardigan bay breathtaking. Will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book direct they match or better details on websites liking booking.com
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide comments on your recent visit, we are thrilled that you had an enjoyable experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sherry C wrote a review 14 Apr
3 contributions5 helpful votes
Stayed for one night myself and husband. Came down on our motorcycles was greeted by two lovely receptionists , very welcoming. Room was lovely and clean, had food in the bar area overlooking the sea. Amazing sunset and food was really nice. Decent price for the quality of food. All staff were amazing with really good customer service. Breakfast was continental and all you can eat cooked breakfast which was really nice to. Did not manage to have any Spa treatments or use the pool as didn’t have time to. Hoping to return very soon. Thanks for the great stay 🥰
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book treatments before you go as will be fully booked when you arrive .
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide comments on your recent visit, we are thrilled that you had an enjoyable experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Donna G wrote a review 7 Apr
Penarth, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
This is probably my new favourite place. We usually visit the Scarlett in Cornwall but this is the first place I’ve visited that has come close to it (personal opinion). To start off, the location is to die for and the staff are welcoming and very friendly. The rooms are just gorgeous but definitely opt for a sea view. We arrived to a partial sea-view and a Ford Focus. Nothing wrong with a Ford Focus, but I felt disappointed that it was within reaching distance of my window. We spoke to staff who happily moved us (Photos below). The view is pretty breathtaking and the sound of the breaking waves was the tonic I needed to relax. The spa is fantastic and I highly recommend booking in if you’re there to relax! I decided to book into the restaurant and had a selection of breads while we waited and the chicken picatta for mains. The chicken was cooked to perfection and so delicious. The selection of breads were light and freshly baked. We thought £8.99 for a dessert was rather expensive UNTIL IT ARRIVED. So much work had gone into the Passionfruit crème brûlée and it was worth every penny! They do a seaweed gin. If gin is your thing, give it a go!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Treat yourself to a sea view room to immerse yourself into relaxation
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear donnagH2615LP, Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay at The Cliff Hotel & Spa, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Diddy1100 wrote a review Mar 2024
Wales, United Kingdom41 contributions58 helpful votes
We visited for two days on a DBB rate, We were looking forward as we had heard so much about the hotel . Reception area was lovely as was the bar area and the restaurant was lovely and the food was very nice, we had a cream tea which was really nice. The room was just a little bit of a disappointment, it was very basic and very small, the hair dryer was one you have to keep your finger on, I just expected a little more attention to detail and luxury for the price. The views are beautiful but that’s not enough to justify the price of another visit .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay for the most part and will certainly take your comments onboard.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
creeali wrote a review Mar 2024
Pembroke, United Kingdom17 contributions15 helpful votes
Absolutely shocked guys , had a wonderful gift from my Emily Creese to have a spa weekend of which I booked. So looking forward to it after having a Mother's day lunch last week at The Cliff... This morning I woke up ill and I sent an email at 8am explaining I was poorly and I would postpone. I had a call at 3pm to ask where was I and I explained I cancelled at 8 am, I then have a call at 19.45pm to ask where was I ? Again I explained I was poorly and that I sent an email of which the receptionist replied, well the booking is not refundable or move to another day. No customer service, just advised " did you read the terms and conditions" . To think we were going to book our wedding there !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear creeali, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent booking experience at The Cliff Hotel & Spa. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were disturbed twice yesterday, especially when you were feeling unwell. This was the result of miscommunication between departments and we are very sorry. We do kindly ask for a minimum of three days notice of cancellations so that a reservation can be arranged, as detailed in the confirmation emails sent prior to arrival. Unfortunately, reservations that are cancelled on the morning of arrival cannot be rearranged to a later date. Please be assured that your feedback has been taken seriously and will be shared throughout the team. We very much hope that you are soon feeling better.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
emily wrote a review Mar 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Me and my partner came here on a 1 night stay just for a chilled weekend . Upon arrival the lady on reception was welcoming and helpful and gave us a really nice talk over the hotel . The rooms were standard and the beds were comfy and the room had everything needed including a hairdryer which was a nice touch . Unfortunately the rooms were not as clean as you would hope for . There were a fair few stains and marks on the walls and on the skirting boards which is a little off putting due to the prices of the rooms , the shower had stains and the shower head was green and very old and the cotton buds the hotel supply looked used so they hadn’t been changed from the last visit . Other than that the views from the restaurant were just breathtaking and the spa was very tranquil and relaxing . This hotel just needs a little love in some of the rooms and could do with a proper clean over .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Chloe B, Thank you for sharing comments on your recent stay, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit for the most part and sincerely apologise that you found the standard of cleaning to be below our usual standards. A member of the team has reached out to you directly to discuss your experience further and we certainly do our best to make amends.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cardigan area.
PRICE RANGE
£98 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cliff hotel cardigan
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesCeredigionCardigan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CLIFF HOTEL & SPA - Updated 2024 Reviews (Cardigan)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Mwnt Beach (2.3 miles), Poppit Sands Beach (1.0 miles), and Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crowes, Mannuccis Italian Restaurant, and The Copper Pot.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Cliff Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Dogmaels Abbey (2.7 miles) and Y Felin (2.6 miles).
Does The Cliff Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Cliff Hotel & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.