Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Donkey Creek Farm Caravan Park

Traveller (68)
Donkey Creek Farm Caravan Park
View from Room (8)
Bathroom (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 campsite in Freckleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
touring park with super fully - service pitches located in little village of Freckleton just 2.5 miles from Lytham. On-site shop, laundry room, veg prep area, award winning toilet and shower area, and dog walk area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-serve laundry
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitEngland.
5.0 of 5 stars
71Reviews2Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 58
  • 3
  • 2
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TonyP-Manch wrote a review May 2021
Manchester11 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to Donkey Creek because it was within an hours tow of our home in Manchester and what a gem we found, it’s quiet, friendly, relaxing, well kept and everywhere is unbelievably clean from when you drive onto the pitches to the shop and the facilities, everywhere is spotless, even the bin and chemical waste areas. We couldn’t use the showers because of COVID but I’m sure they’ll be as good as everywhere else. The pitches are large and fully serviced with water and grey waste which is a great feature. In the surrounding area there are plenty of pubs and takeaways, the food from the local Indian Millon was really good but be warned it’s cash only, no cards. We’ve already booked to go again and can’t wait to be there. Thanks Donkey Creek
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer S wrote a review Jul 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom89 contributions91 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came across this site by accident on the internet, we were looking for a campsite near Preston. We were not disappointed. When you turn in through the gates you get a feeling of Cleanliness the site is immaculate. Generous size pitches with hookups, water taps and waste disposal. The toilets are spotless, the showers have emergency cords which I thought was the switch for the lights, the next thing the lady came in to check if I was ok. They also have an enclosed area for the dogs, this is good as I don’t normally let my dog off the lead. There is also free WiFi on site. You are within a ten minute stroll into the village of Freckleton, where there are an array of different shops and pubs. I asked if there was a dog friendly pub where we could have a meal and drink, the gentleman recommended The Ship, we were not disappointed, I would not hesitate going back to this site.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter K wrote a review Sept 2020
Southport, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely quiet site with spotless facilities. Huge fully serviced pitches and very friendly staff. Freckleton village is a short walk / drive away and has plenty of choice of takeaways, shops and pubs. We have just returned from our first 2 night stay here and would definitely return. There is even the option to check out later for a small charge providing the pitch isn't already booked out which gave us a full day out on the Sunday before returning late afternoon to collect our caravan.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ruth J wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We, my partner and daughter, have returned from our first visit to Donkey Creek Farm. What a brilliant find. It's a small, popular site only a few miles from Lytham St Anne's and 10 miles from Blackpool. The site opened a few years ago so, the facilities block is still very new and well thought out. The showers are heated and have plenty of hot water. There is a laundry room, veg prep room with a freezer, family bathroom and disabled Bathroom.
The site is located on the outskirts of Freckleton a short drive or walk away. There's a couple of pubs, take aways, a butchers and a couple of convenience stores, from here you can catch a bus to Preston or Blackpool. There is an airstrip next to the site, nothing took off or landed during the weekend but I gather from other reviews that there can be noise during the week. We were very impressed and would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Will wrote a review Oct 2023
Blyth, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 1st visit to this site, we found the site tidy and our pitch was huge. The elsan point was OK but the hose was creased to you had to hold it low to allow the flow of water. The toilet block was clean and functional but the cubicles need signs on them to explain what their use is, walking up and down finding the one you require was time consuming.
The airfield next door was very interesting watching the planes take off and watching the Eurofighter take off was exciting. The pubs in Freckleton were nice and welcoming especially the Coach and Horses, lovely ale and the food was superb. The surrounding areas of Blackpool etc were good to see again after being away since I was a child except Blackpool seemed tired and worn out.

Now for the reason of the average rating, the Cockerell starts at about 0530 then the noise from the industrial estate starts approximately 0600-0630, bin wagons, coaches and double deckers making there way out to work definitely wakes you up every morning, we were at the top of the site on pitch 13, the noise was probably better further down the site but for us it was loud so a sleep in was impossible on a weekday.

Unfortunately due to the noise issue we won't stay again at this site, lovely site but noise issues outweigh the good points.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony C wrote a review Sept 2022
Leicester, United Kingdom47 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here in September so after the peak season but still with plenty of other visitors.
The site is impeccable, lovely clean toilets and showers, pitches with power, water and grey water waste. Ours was a gravel pitch.
There's a small shop with some of the bare necessities available plus a coffee machine!
Very helpful staff, a pleasant greeting on arrival and a fast response when we thought we had a problem with the electrics - there wasn't it was us!!
The village is in walking distance for some, and has a cafe, a couple of pubs and an Italian restaurant. There's also the bus service from/to Preston & Blackpool which allows you to visit Lytham and St Annes. The no.68 doesn't go all the way up the front if you want to see the promenade, only part of it.
We look forward to coming back in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenny R wrote a review Nov 2022
1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First time at Donkey Creek, booked due it being quite remote and to take our dogs away from fireworks over bonfire weekend. The site was lovely, spacious and the pitches were a good size.
The facilities were excellent and the site itself was clean and tidy.
Great field for dogs and although there were some fireworks from the surrounding houses, it was a very calm and quiet weekend and our dogs were far less stressed than they would have been at home.
On the plus side we saw a few jets take off and land!
A great stay thank you
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stubil wrote a review 2 Apr
Flitwick, United Kingdom84 contributions65 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a pitch last year for the Easter weekend, on arrival we checked in and met by a friendly host, we were allocated pitch 6 which did not fit our motorhome on, when I explained to reception another member of staff looked at the computer and told me they were full (except the empty pitches arriving tomorrow) and the remaining pitches which were larger and pre requested - then advised someone would take a look, they looked and agreed we were too long for the pitch but would have to stay sticking out into the road as there is nothing they can do, it was very annoying as surely pitches could be allocated relating to size as we booked the most expensive pitch (they may all be the same prince but vary drastically in size) which when allocated was much smaller (by almost 1/3rd) that the opposite pitches, especially as details of the size of the unit were given.

The person sent over to help said tough really and we should be ok!!!

The reception were very unhelpful and didn’t even apologise for having to stick the motorhome in the roadway which is quite narrow and meant passing vehicles had to navigate around us, felt uncomfortable and unsafe leaving the Motorhome in this position all weekend, for just under £150 for three nights I would not recommend this unhelpful site, and definitely would not return.

We did look for alternative sites and spoke to a lovely person at a CL but could not afford to lose the £150 which would not be refundable.

There was absolutely no apology or any attempt to resolve the problem at all, I would advise that you consider alternative sites as if you do encounter a problem they will basically shrug it off as other reviews have mentioned the poor level of customer service I would 100% agree with this.

As a point to note as well which is no fault or anything the site can do but the potholes leading to DCF are horrendous! Watch out although the site have no responsibility and i am not blaming them at all but beware.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: T look for an alternative site
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from beccy lancaster, General Manager at Donkey Creek Farm Caravan Park
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry you were not satisfied with your stay with us. Unfortunately we were very busy over the Easter Weekend and our pitches were full. We do try to accommodate requests and customers are placed on the most appropriate pitches. All our pitches are at least 8.5 metres long, adequate to take large motor homes. You didn't inform us of the length of your motor home , nor the fact that you had a bike rack on the back and needed to access it. We pride ourselves on our customer care, on this occasion our staff were unable to move your pitch. Your motor home did not cause an obstruction nor did it over hang the road way . I would suggest that in future you inform the park of your size and requirements when making your booking to ensure you get the best possible holiday experience. Thankfully the potholes have now been filled in !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AdeleLatham wrote a review Jun 2022
Batley, United Kingdom20 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I write this review as a mobility scooter user. Superb site with spotless facilities and friendly, obliging staff. The website boasted a well stocked shop, sadly this was not the case, no milk, bread, fresh produce etc. The kind lady on reception did offer to give us a lift into the village. Situated adjacent to a small (ish) private airfield,used for small private passenger jets and a BAE test centre, which can be noisy, but we found it very interesting. On enquiring I was told the 1/2 mile journey into Freckleton village was possible with my mobility scooter. Unfortunately this was not so as the pavement was very uneven and overgrown hedges made it impassable, so we used a taxi. Would visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
harryp44 wrote a review Mar 2020
Bolton, United Kingdom158 contributions90 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights not having a clue what it would be like. What a lovely little site this is, spotless & modern facilities, great little shop at reception. It is walkable distance into Freckleton where there are a few nice pubs that do food, the Chinese takeaway is the best we've had in a while.
Lytham isn't far away, we drove down but I believe there are buses from Freckleton.
We will most certainly be back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
garry s asked a question Jul 2021
Johnstone, United Kingdom
is there transport links to Blackpool
Answer from Barbara
19 contributions15 helpful votes
Yes, just need to walk into the village of Freckleton. 10-15 minutes
Answer from Jon K
Blackburn, United Kingdom72 contributions40 helpful votes
Straight forward, just watch out for the entrance on the left
stubil wrote a tip 2 Apr
Flitwick, United Kingdom84 contributions65 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"T look for an alternative site"
Read full review
Navigator04850673880 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Bolton, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you take the adapters for the water tap { tap to Hose fitting} as we forgot ours lucky for us the on site shop sold them"
Read full review
mark s wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All you could need. We'll layed out and safe."
Read full review
Louise W wrote a tip May 2023
10 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you love watching planes this will not disappoint"
Read full review
Jemma P wrote a tip Apr 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom72 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are nervous about towing, the access to the site is great"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Freckleton area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashireFreckleton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
74
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DONKEY CREEK FARM CARAVAN PARK - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Donkey Creek Farm Caravan Park
Which popular attractions are close to Donkey Creek Farm Caravan Park?
Nearby attractions include Freckleton war Memorial (0.5 miles), Freckleton Air Disaster Memorial (0.5 miles), and Freckleton Antique, Vintage & Collectors Fair (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Donkey Creek Farm Caravan Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Is parking available at Donkey Creek Farm Caravan Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Donkey Creek Farm Caravan Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lorenzo's Restaurant & Bar, The Ship at Freckleton, and Truly Scrumptious Luxury Ice Creams and Desserts.
Is Donkey Creek Farm Caravan Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Freckleton.
Are pets allowed at Donkey Creek Farm Caravan Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Donkey Creek Farm Caravan Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Lytham Lifeboat House (4.0 miles), St Peter's Catholic Church (3.9 miles), and The Mussel Tank (4.1 miles).
Is Donkey Creek Farm Caravan Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire