We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

535 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 485: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
312 reviews
245 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed 3 nights. The staff was very good - friendly and helpful. They do a lot of little things that improve your stay such as lighting a fire in your room if you are there for any length of time, cleaning your boots when you come back, putting hot water bottles in your bed at night....etc; The food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
882 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Better than average in a lot of ways, friendliness and service, but the lodge is pretty 'tired' and in need of an upgrade. Great location with the volcanos as a backdrop.Buffet style meals a bit of hit and miss, go for the freshly cooked stir fries, omelets and avocado and tomato slads etc.Bring plenty of small bank notes to tip.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Drew M
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a 2 bedroom cottage for our family of 3: us two and our adult daughter. Each side had its own bathroom, very nice. It was cool in the evening. The fireplace was lit with charcoal which helped a little bit, but smelled. I guess we have traveled enough that we are happy with safe, clean, comfortable and quiet... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna_Lucky-Now
Salisbury, Vermont , U.S.A.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The setting for the Mountain Gorilla View Lodge is spectacular and we had a cottage that looked right out to one of the mountains. The property seems to get high ratings which is a surprise because the facility is quite outdated. My guess is the ratings are due to the proximity to the mountain range and amazing views. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank hkillary
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As other reviewers have stated the bungalows are large and clean but but very basic. The grounds are park-like and our bungalow was tucked away so it felt like we had the place all to ourselves. The restaurant and lounge areas are well decorated and comfortable. The traditional singing and dancing in the garden at 5pm and the traditional music... More 

Helpful?
Thank SCS62
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a good lodge well spread out and the closest to getting to the park HQ for gorilla trekking. Cottages are very large with basic furnishings. The bathrooms could certainly do with an upgrade, although are functional. Food was very good, with a nice selection at Breakfast, lunch and dinner. Staff were attentive and friendly. It is a peaceful... More 

Helpful?
Thank DivingK
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Receive warm greetings from 3B Hotels team. We are glad you choose to stay with us during your last trip to Rwanda and many thanks for taking your time to share your valued feedback. We are working tirelessly to improve our facility and we promise to serve you better next time you visit. Murakoze cyane. Kind Regards, Ann... More 

Roxby Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in for lunch at the mountain gorilla view lodge, was an average lunch I thought. The views from the back of the hotel are stunning though. Great to see the beautiful mountains in the back ground while eating lunch. Staff were also friendly!

Helpful?
Thank April-lee2
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for stopping over for lunch and taking your time to share your review on this forum. We hope you come stay with us next time you visit Rwanda and enjoy more of our wonderful meals and services. Kind Regards, Ann Njoroge, Public Relations/Marketing. More 

Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The bungalow is large with plenty of sitting room next to the fireplace which is lit every evening. The beds are comfy and warmed with hot water bottles. The bathroom is huge so can be a bit chilly so we put the electric heater in there and it warmed right up. The food was plentiful and very good - so... More 

Helpful?
Thank punch599
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a million for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to share an excellent review on this forum, from your comments it is evident you have a lovely stay with us and enjoyed our services, meals and accommodation. We look forward to host you again on your next trip. Murakoze cyane! Kind Regards, Ann Njoroge,... More 

Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Unfortunately I can’t compare this lodge to others in the area. It’s large and pretty spaced out. We were in one of the perimeter cottages, so it was somewhat of a hike to the main building housing the front desk, dining room, bar and gift shop. Our cottage was very spacious with five chairs, coffee table and wood burning fireplace... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank dskid
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Much greetings from the land of thousand hills. Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve you and mostly for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our property. We are glad that you had a lovely stay however we did not meet your expectations, we apologise for that and... More 

Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

If you have not visited with the silver-back gorillas put it on your bucket list. And this is a very good place to stay. The accommodations are individual stone building located on a beautifully landscaped property with views of the volcano. Each unit has a fireplace which they stock with wood and light each late afternoon with a shovelful of... More 

Helpful?
Thank william c
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from 3B Hotels team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your last trip to Rwanda and mostly for taking your time to share your feedback on this forum, we truly appreciate. Reading your comments, it is evident that you enjoyed you stay with us and staff made your stay memorable. We hope to host... More 

440 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (424)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (114)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (133)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhengeri
3.1 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
#5 of 14 in Ruhengeri
245 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Gorilla
Villa Gorilla
#4 of 14 in Ruhengeri
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Flame Tree Village
Flame Tree Village
#9 of 111 in Kigali
49 reviews
24.3 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
370 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Peakspot - Kinigi
The Peakspot - Kinigi
#2 of 10 in Musanze
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge stands amidst real wilderness with panoramic views of Rwanda’s volcano mountains and located just 1km away from the Volcano National Park, making it the desired location for Gorilla Trekking enthusiastic guests. Mountain Gorilla View Lodge is surrounded by an exciting and rich biodiversity of shrubs, trees and various bird species among them the Grey Crowned Cranes or Balearica regulorum. The Hotel has an eco-tourist approach whereas Natural Conservation is a priority and the local community is empowered. The Intore (local Cultural dancers) will spice your stay and your days at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge will always be memorable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Address: Volcanoes National Park | Kinigi, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Ruhengeri
Price Range: £249 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Gorilla View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Mountain Gorilla View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Gorilla View Hotel Ruhengeri
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge Rwanda/Ruhengeri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain Gorilla View Lodge staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
Vancouver, BC
Saint Louis, Missouri

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Gorilla View Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“cottages are on a path around property. #2 is 2 bdrm 2 bath across a little bridge. 5 minute walk to main lodge with WIFI and dining.”
 of 5 bubbles Donna_Lucky-Now, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“request mountain/sunrise view”
 of 5 bubbles hkillary, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the right of the main building away from the grassy area would be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles DivingK, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose a room close to the main entrance if you don't want a long walk to your room”
 of 5 bubbles BambiLaFawn, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room without mushrooms growing in the bathroom. Ask for a room near the main lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles Harriet58, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay