We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (194)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (19)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good23%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bush tv”(14 reviews)
“tented camp”(25 reviews)
Public Wifi
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
126
39
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
126
39
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush tvtented camphot water bottlescrater floorother gueststalking showeracacia treesbucket showergas heaterscommunal tableearly accesshigh lightspecial christmas dinnermentioned previouslywake up callflushing toiletsmess tent
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We absolutely loved our stay! It was far better than we had even anticipated, the tent was incredibly furnished and they even had a bottle of champagne for us to celebrate our Honeymoon. We were very pleasantly surprised and it was the highlight as far...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank dan_steele
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Four of us spent two nights at the Lemala camp in September 2016. The camp is well-appointed (our tent had a Moroccan theme), and the staff is very helpful and fun (a guest had a birthday and it was celebrated by the staff singing and...More

2  Thank bud_phillips2001
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed here two nights in late September 2016. The tents were very nice and the staff was great. They were helpful and attentive. The food was probably the best we had on our trip. When we got there, they greeted us with warm scented...More

1  Thank TXGirlWanderer
Response from Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented CampResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and am delighted you had a lovely stay with us. I hope you have returned home fresh and relaxed with lots of wonderful memories of your trip to Tanzania Warmest regards Veronica

Reviewed 6 September 2016

Spent two nights at this camp in late August. The camp's location is fantastic, probably the best on the rim. Right by the Lemala Gate that has the only two-way access to and from the crater so no time wasted driving round the rim. Makes...More

1  Thank LozzaClaygate
Response from Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented CampResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and am delighted you had such a great stay wit us and so thank you very much for sharing and i hope yo have wonderful memories of your trip to Tanzania to share with everyone back home....More

Reviewed 9 August 2016

Excellent camp close to the crater. Excellent staff. It's worth staying here to get into and out of the crater quickly. We were able to be 1 of the last vehicles out of the crater ech night. It was quite cold. Staff ensured the gas...More

1  Thank Paul H
Response from Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented CampResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and am delighted you had such a great stay wit us and so thank you very much for sharing and i hope yo have wonderful memories of your trip to Tanzania to share with everyone back home....More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$1,330 - US$3,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$1,330 - US$3,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (194)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (19)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jules286903
16 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 6PATravelers | Reviewed this property |
The camp is wonderful and the staff is incredibly attentive but it is in the forest and you can not see the crater for the trees!!LOL.
1
Vote
Tlell S
17 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Veronica O | Property representative |
Its about 7 mins drive from our property down to the crater floor. We do have game drive vehicles at our property so you simply need to book in advance or through your travel agent or tour operator
0
Votes
Mary2324
27 October 2016|
Answer
Response from tandtmcd | Reviewed this property |
There is one tent that has all night power. We used it because my wife also uses Cpap . You MUST request it with your reservation.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Don't be concerned if you get tent #9...the last one down the line. It's wonderful and Joseph is..."
Read review
"All rooms look to the bush and surrounds, all good views."
Read review
"The rooms closer to the main area have stronger WiFi connection"
Read review
"Get a tent close to the common areas in case of cold and rain."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing