Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne

West Mains, Beal, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2PD England
Traveller (33)
Dining (5)
Beautiful views
Room & Suite (2)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
£56
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 guest house in Beal
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are a 5 mix bedroom bunkhouse; we have 27 beds - you can book between 1 and 27 beds. We have one en suite room with 6 beds. 3 rooms standard with 6 beds and a disabled room with one single bed and one set of bunks. The disabled room has a disabled wet room complete with rails, seat in shower and safety cords. You must bring you own linen or sleeping bag or hire one for a small charge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
75Reviews5Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 7
  • 4
  • 2
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
G1R4ff3 wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped off for breakfast and couldn’t have been more impressed. We had a sausage sandwich, a full English and drinks which only cost £11! The service was super quick and the food was still amazing! The staff were also very friendly. We don’t have a bad word to say!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ducko49 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Called in 30/8 for breakfast on our journey north, we'd were actually heading to Mcds at Berwick but as we drove up remembered we'd had good food here last year, so glad we stopped. I ordered the big breakfast and it was superb bacon sausage hash brown toast egg beans Black pudding and mushrooms all well cooked and very tasty. Good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shelley Watts, Owner at Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Responded 1 Sept 2020
Hi Thank you for stopping at our cafe. It’s great to hear you chose to eat with us again after a previous visit. We are pleased that you enjoined our breakfast and hope to see you back again another day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel Kirk wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful stay at this hostel, very clean and comfortable and great food. Outside area delightful with table and chairs looking out over Lindisfarne, Holy Island and a nice conservatory dining area with a dvd player and sofa. Kitchen equipt with microwaves, fridge and all cuttlery, crockery and utensils.
The cooked breakfast was great and Shaun, yhe owner was so welcoming and friendly. Had s lovely, lovely time and will definitely return. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mariatheplantgirl wrote a review Oct 2023
Chester, United Kingdom144 contributions192 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This score is not indicative of the quality of the accommodation - I have meant to tell others of my experience. I had booked at the bunkhouse a month prior on the phone and no payment was taken.
We had been walking all day on St Cuthbert’s way and arrived before 6pm on Sunday. The doors were locked with no sign of guests or staff; the cafe was not open. There was a note on the door with two phone numbers to call after hours. One number did not work. The other number went to voicemail and we left two messages from two different phones. When we called again, the phone rang and then was disconnected ringing. We were very tired and cold so after twenty minutes we went to the hotel next door to warm up. We thought it most sensible to get a hotel room as one was luckily available. An hour later, we heard from the bunkhouse and were told it was open and we could go over. I told the person on the phone we had decided to stay at the hotel. I commented that I felt it was poor service that there was no one on the end of the phone when we had tried, and he hung up on me.
The bunkhouse itself looks like it does in the pictures - my tip would be to ensure it will be open when you need it. We were lucky to be able to afford a hotel that night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shaun Dixon, Owner at Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Responded 5 Oct 2023
The world today is full of people with lemonade money that expect champagne service. It is a hostel, I am not here waiting all day for your 25 quid,there is two numbers on the door, is that really so difficult for you,what is hard about it, it clearly states CHECK I F AFTER 5 RING THIS NUMBER.What did you expect, a red carpet and a butler. It is a hostel, budget accommodation, we are not a hotel, we are not a pub, just a humble hostel.Get a life.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ellie H wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stopped with my disabled daughter to get a coffee and juice to takeaway for the drive and use the toilets, got told by a man serving that toilets weren’t public toilets and only customers sitting in could use them. Found it strange since he wouldn’t let a paying customer use the toilets because we weren’t sitting in. Wouldn’t go back
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shaun Dixon, Owner at Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Responded 24 Jul 2023
Hi ElliehH,May I just very respectfully take this oppertuniy to inform yourself, and any other toilet needer that we are a resteraunt and 28 bed hostel. We have facilities for our requirements only, and our customers only.The public toilet is in the garage/service station 50 metres away. Whilst I accept the fact that it may be confusing, and the fact that the service station public toilet belonging to Peny Petroleum is not only in a disgusting dirty condition, and operating against the legal requirement of a service station, the situation was clearly and politely explained. In conclusion I very respectfully suggest that you contact the local authority and Inform them of the fact the public toilet in the service station, belonging to Penny Petroleum is permanently closed. Thank you and regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie S wrote a review 7 May
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am only echoing the exact same comments from the review below Sept 2023. I also wish to draw attention to the response that reviewer received from the owner - it’s a clear indication of his rude manner and that you shouldn’t stay here based on this alone.

I chose not to stay at Eat Sleep Lindisfarne based on the tone I received on the phone. The Lindisfarne Inn next door was full, but I highly recommend you book there instead.

I have stayed in budget Hostels often and never been spoken to so badly.
You shouldn’t be in the hospitality sector.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
andylinda219 wrote a review Oct 2022
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom15 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed overnight in our Motorhome, following a day on Holy Island. The site was excellent and very quiet even though near to A1 road. The breakfast was faultless, all freshly cooked. Would definitely stay here when up this way again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David W wrote a review Oct 2022
Solihull, United Kingdom91 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped here on the way to Lindisfarne and had breakfast before it was safe to cross the causeway.
Beautiful breakfast delivered quickly and at a decent price. Friendly service topped it off.
A very nice cafe serving very good breakfast.
Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frances P wrote a review Jun 2021
Albertville, France23 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect overnight stop over for motorhome with added bonus of superb breakfast, lovely host and everything so clean. Excellent coffee too.
The parking was incredibly quiet despite the A1 and views towards Lindisfarne incredible. Its perfect for visiting the area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
buttercupk2018 wrote a review Aug 2018
Leeds, United Kingdom1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have never experienced such bad customer service. The beds were so uncomfortable we had to leave in the middle of the night and drive home early as it was impossible to sleep with my 16 month old son. We paid £60 for the room believing it to be a three person private family room. It was in fact a 4 bunk dorm. I believe this to be at the best misleading and at the worst complete false advertising. The beds were spring mattress no padding the most horrible uncomfortable beds I have ever experienced in a hostel, despite travelling to third world countries. We paid for bedding and we received the thinnest threadbare sleeping bags and no sheets! The worst part is I have just been told to f*ck off by the owner after complaining about the room which was totally unfit for purpose. He states that he “wishes there was a website so he could rate the awful customers he gets!” Bearing in mind I never even met the man. He then went on to say your not getting any money back f*ck off and hung up the phone! I’m shocked and appalled that someone would choose to be so rude to a customer who has had a really disappointing experience in your care. I suggested that maybe he could take these complaints on board and improve his accommodation/ service. Shaun you really need to sort your attitude out and your beds they are both as gnarly as each other. I’ve had three hours sleep and spent the early hours driving home with a tired toddler and I still don’t resort to swearing and being aggressive. Avoid this place it’s a total waste of money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from shaunhush99, Owner at Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Responded 25 Aug 2018
Dear guest, Thank you for your review,it is as i had expected it to be.It is not very often that we get customers like you,who for what ever reason,demand there money back,and threaten us with trip advisor if no refund is forth coming. Il just start with the true version of events,firstly you booked the family room (no mention any where of anything but bunks,and certainly no mention of a cott through HOSTEL WORLD,the agents name does infact tell you that we are a HOSTEL,and at £20.00 per night an averaged price HOSTEL.The particular room you were in is the smallest one in the HOSTEL,it has 4 bunks and a walk in purpose built disability wet room,complete with all disability requirements,but because disabled guests are few and far between,we also book it to familys and any other customers as and when required.Like most HOSTELS we offer linen packs,either sheets and blankets,or sleeping bags,you opted for sleeping bags,which at £2.50 are the cheapest option and are all new,they are not thread bare as you describe.As for your comments regarding improving my accommodation/service i can only suggest you read any other review,99% of them reviews will demonstrate the quality of accommodation and service that each and every customer is given.I will also take this opportunity to inform you that this hostel is newly converted,and only two and a half years ago,and at a cost of over £500 thousand pound including the purchase price,we have a fully licensed cafe adjoining the HOSTEL and have great reviews on all such sites,and in fact a score of 9.2 on booking.com and a GOLD award from the tourist board.The beds and mattresses were purchased from a military grade bed contractor,and cost a lot of money,they are sprung and coated with a material that allows us to wipe with antiseptic spay and blue roll after each and every use,anything else encourages bed lice,and bed wetting stains means mattress replacement. I have checked the CCTV (not in the rooms) and can confirm this,you arrived and checked in late afternoon,my wife was good enough to give you baby blankets for your child,as you had non at all with you,so you were not really equipped for overnite stays,or even travelling with a child,You then left the HOSTEL after 6 pm,and returned at 9.30 pm,you then then left at 5 am,and not in the middle of the nite as described.What puzzles me is this,you booked through HOSTEL WORLD,so you knew we were a HOSTEL,you payed for 3 beds,at £20.00 each,we did not charge you for the 4th bunk,and we shut that room off so that other guests were separate from yous.We do not have a cott for children,and do not advertise that we do,in reality you choose to stay there,knowing fine well that it was not the ideal place for an 18 month old baby.You had ample time to either explain that it was not what you expected,or that you did not want to stay there,before ringing at 9 am the following morning with a demand for a refund.When cleaning your room later that morning we found several empty bottles of pear cider and Swedish lager,lying on the floor,and the walk in bathroom W.C was left in a disgusting state.Later that day the guest above you,who was a primary school teacher from Kent, took the time to inform me that through the night you had dropped your child on the floor,and an argument then followed between yous,so loud that she and other guests could clearly hear,so god only knows what went on there. As for you comments regarding the swearing and being aggressive on the phone i can tell you now that at no point did i swear,or was i aggressive,i was however firm and polite.The reality is that you get what you pay for,and a HOSTEL is a HOSTEL,and you and only you chose to accept the room,chose to have sleeping bags,and chose to travel with an 18 month old without any blankets,which i find rather alarming,that and cheap lager and pear cider in fair amounts is not really suitable parenting and i suggest you improve on that. Human nature never fails to amaze me,thankfully the vast majority of our guest are very decent people. Kind regards. Shaun.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from 238shelley
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom46 contributions10 helpful votes
Hi there, we are on both the coast to castle route and the sand stone way. I hope this helps
KeenBfB asked a question May 2017
Newcastle home of the Geordies22 contributions5 helpful votes
Is there a pub close by?
Answer from Sharon G
Edinburgh, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
Yeah, right at the end of the lane from the hostel about 100 yards and just off the main A1 road. The pub is nice with a good selection of pub grub. A 15 min walk towards holy island and there's the bothy bar (barn at beal) which does very nice food too! Enjoy.
Brian T asked a question Apr 2017
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
I had 1 dessert with meal so was about £3 over the table menu price
Answer from 238shelley
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom46 contributions10 helpful votes
As I am unaware of what you ate and how much you were charged I can't answer that question, sorry.
Answer from 238shelley
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom46 contributions10 helpful votes
Although I wasn't in that day I'm am told it was a very busy morning.
Jodi C wrote a tip Sept 2023
6 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just avoid it as they’re not very kind."
Read full review
Mark A wrote a tip Jul 2018
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom600 contributions91 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only used the cafe"
Read full review
pas3106 wrote a tip Apr 2017
County Durham, United Kingdom33 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"this place has accessible ground floor facilities"
Read full review
travelbug183 wrote a tip Jun 2016
Ruswarp, United Kingdom90 contributions84 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I had the ground floor room which I guess is the room with disabled access, I felt very fortunate to have a massive walk in wet room!"
Read full review
ElaineRy wrote a tip Jun 2016
Otterburn, United Kingdom202 contributions70 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stairs to rooms are external - if stairs are a problem, ask for ground floor"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Beal area.
PRICE RANGE
£54 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNorthumberlandBerwick upon TweedBeal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EAT & SLEEP LINDISFARNE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Which popular attractions are close to Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne?
Nearby attractions include Andy Howeys Birds of Prey Centre (1.5 miles), The Parish Church of Saint Mary the Virgin (4.0 miles), and Lindisfarne National Nature Reserve (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pilgrims Coffee House, The Black Bull Inn - Lowick, and The Crown and Anchor Restaurant.
Is Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Beal.
Are there any historical sites close to Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lindisfarne Priory (4.0 miles), St Cuthbert's Cave (4.6 miles), and The Fort on the Heugh (4.0 miles).
Is Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.