Manu Learning Centre
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Manu Learning Centre

Traveller (71)
Bedroom
Room & Suite (11)
Delicious lunch
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 7 lodges in Manu National Park
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Nestled in the Amazon foothills, the Manu Learning Centre sits overlooking the riverbanks of the Alto Madre de Dios River. The fusion of indigenous Matsiguenka principles and modern comfort allows the MLC to blend into the rainforest whilst providing rustic comfort for visitors. Home to over 512 species of birds, 13 species of primates and large mammals such as the jaguar and puma, the MLC is a must for nature lovers.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid wifi
Free breakfast
Hiking
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Mosquito net
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Rio Alto Madre de Dios, Manu National Park Peru
Name/address in local language
77Reviews2Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 64
  • 9
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Egil GT wrote a review Aug 2023
Bergen, Norway10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We volunteered to work in Manu Learning Centre for one month. And what an amazing experience it was! From the very first night we were welcomed with open arms. We got to experience the jungle in a very authentic way and it didn’t feel like a touristy experience. You are always so excited about what you will see on every trip into the jungle and you never know.
All the staff were so friendly and helpful to us. Maria and the other chefs served us delicious food, Maroja and her housekeeping team kept our accommodations in perfect order, Thomas and the maintenance crew helped us with all the issues we had, the researchers learned us so much about the jungle and the manager Brenda maked sure everything worked smoothly all together. They all did an incredible job that made this experience as good as it was!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
svanhildgj wrote a review Aug 2023
Norway29 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my husband went to MLC as volunteers for 1 month, and this experience has been one of the best I ever had! When you first enter MLC you are welcomed to a whole new family! Everyone takes care of you: maintenance, housekeeping, chefs and all of the staff. After a month here I truly felt so sad for leaving. The rooms are great and much better than what I ever could imagined before entering the jungle. The chef Maria also makes sure you have great meals each day. The staff really knows everything about the jungle and all the animals, and they are all happy to share this knowledge as they are REALLY passionate about their work and rainforest conservation. I would warmly recommend a visit to the MLC, and make sure you spend as many days as possible here! Thank you so much for everything guys, you will be in my heart forever!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte Farmer wrote a review Mar 2022
Marlow, United Kingdom7 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An excellent trip, I couldn’t have asked for a better experience! The staff are always friendly and happy to help with any queries or problems, as well as anything extra you’d like to see in your stay. The accommodation was clean and well-kept, especially given the middle-of-nowhere location. Take every opportunity you’re offered if you can, I got to learn about and see butterflies, birds, frogs, snakes and plenty of monkeys! Everything is adaptable to your wants and capabilities so it’s an adventure for everyone. And of course, incredible scenery to wake up to every day!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Bring plenty of full length clothing and socks! Humidity means drying clothes takes up to 5 days
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vivian Maricé, Otro at Manu Learning Centre
Responded 26 Sept 2022
💚🌱 Thank you! We are happy you enjoyed your trip
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pauly wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Thoroughly enjoyed my time spent at the MLC for the past month.
The is great attention paid to education and it is a great learning experience in the field.
Most importantly the MLC has a great social atmosphere as everyone is like minded and friendly!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joleen P wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Thatch roof gone, fungus and mold on our window screens so you can barely see jungle from inside room, mold in bathroom and the worst part was the bed sheets smelled of moth balls which are considered carcinogenic in Canada. MLC coordinator didn't seemed concerned whether our needs were being met or not. Ive stayed in other jungle lodges that were 100% better. This place needs a lot of maintenance and a MLC coordinator who cares about guest experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jhendy Mancilla Rios, Ventas at Manu Learning Centre
Responded 18 Aug 2023
Hello, we are sorry you feel that you didn't have a positive experience. However, considering our many positive reviews in the past and the fact that you only have 1 review on this particular account, we do not feel this is a fair representation of our services. Our lodge manager has gone above and beyond many times for our guests to ensure they have a positive experience, having many cases of positive feedback as they take professional pride in their work. We feel there has been a misunderstanding somewhere along the line and it is not fair to say that they do not care as this has proven to not be the case a multitude of times. There are some physical elements within this particular area of the amazon which are very difficult to avoid due to the climate/weather conditions and the fact it is a high humidity area in terms of fungus/mold. We take our clients health and safety and can ensure that these particular elements are harmless. We are currently in the process of addressing some minor snagging issues in terms of maintenance, it is simply bad luck that they have occurred at this particularly busy time of year, we can assure you we are in the process of fixing this. Irregardless of this, we are sorry you feel this way and wish you all the best for the future! Kind Regards and please enjoy the rest of your travels wherever you may be.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
952alice wrote a review Feb 2022
Niort, France14 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I came in February with my 2 children (9 and 13) and we had a great time thanks to Manu Crees team. We were pampered by everyone and discovered the beautiful nature and wildlife of Amazonia. If you want an authenticité experience with meaning, then this is the place. They have great educational, comunities and scientific projets.
Thanks Crees for the wonderful memories that will last a lifetime. Special thanks to Nefi our guide and Thomas for the fishing lesson. 👍😄
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vivian Maricé, Otro at Manu Learning Centre
Responded 26 Sept 2022
We are very proud you enjoyed your experience with us! 🌱
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DPrentice wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lucky enough to complete a university placement as a volunteer at the Manu Learning Center. A once in a lifetime experience. Incredibly warm, passionate and welcoming staff. A great opportunity to see much of the local wildlife and work towards conserving it. Amazing food and accommodation with many comforts catered to
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nina phillips wrote a review Feb 2020
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
very rural and isolated but all very opened plan and spacious. very hot and humid, thermals are not needed, be careful of the sandflies, chigers and mosquitos, the wildlife was a great experience, you see things you only see in david attenborough documentaries and the staff are lovely, theyve always got plenty of activities and opportunities for adventure. DIY laundry
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: rooms on the lower level are bigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
evz32 wrote a review Jan 2014
Maastricht, The Netherlands433 contributions170 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a 5d/4n crees tour and had a really good guide for the first 3 days. After arriving in MLC we visited the oxbow lake, Shintuya village, a clay lick and local hot springs. The two women of the projects gave us a good talk and insights in the variois projects around.
On the 4 th day our guide left with other member mebers of our group who booked 4d/3n and left us in the mlc, where one of the staff had to look after us. We did some walks with him, but he didn't seem to care we were not used being in the rainforest with high humidity, and walked way to fast, so i lost him many many times, what is not so practical on night walks....
You must be aware that in the mlc the conservation projects with staff and volunteers are no 1 priority and that paying guests are not. Especially after our guide left this feeling grew. When you are aware of this before booking it may be fine, but we we were not aware.
We stayed in a sort of lodges, accommodating 4 rooms. These had no windows or wardrobes so al kind of insects and cockroaches ran over your luggage. My husband took a giant cockroach with him to cusco and we still hope it didn't lay eggs in the luggage. During the day someone kept removing the mosquito nets from our beds, so when you returned late there were already insects on the beds. When we were there we had the impression they were putting nets in the rooms so no animals can come in through the windows anymore, that would already improve something. But it can't be that kind of problem to build wardrobes with nets so you do not need to warry about the luggage.
Food was of not so good quality, when we compare this with the inca trail we were really disappointed, there was a well equipped kitchen, a lot of fruit and vegetables growing there but not a proper cook, at least when we were there. We also think it was weird that all the staff and volunteers got their food first and that we had to sit and wait until we got something, whick could take quite a while, it just didn't give us a hospitable feeling. Dining room also open, so insects flying around you and on your food all the time. Don't want to sound spoiled, but when you pay 2000 usd for 5 days you have some expectations. Also this was not our first jungle we visited, have been in African and Asian rainforest, so had some comparison how it can be. Even compared with cock of the rock this was a enormous difference. Sanitary facilities are shared with all of staff and volunteers. It gave the idea of a youth hostel with dirty toilets and showers covered with hairs. No hot water available in the showers.
Nature fantastic, really good guide (until he left), facilities poor, overall feeling disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris V wrote a review May 2018
10 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently did the 12 day/11 night tour of Manu, and the 6 day/5 night tour of Heath River and Lake Sandoval in Tambopata. I stayed at the following lodges: The Cock of the Rock Lodge, Manu Learning Centre, Romero Rainforest Lodge, Manu Tented Camp, Manu Wildlife Center, Heath River Wildlife Center, and the Sandoval Lake Lodge. I booked the tour through InkaNatura. I would rank the lodges as follows:

1. Tie between the Manu Wildlife Center and the Heath River Wildlife Center. Not only did they have the best facilities, the best food, and the most professional staff, they also had the best wildlife viewing opportunities.
3. The Cock of the Rock lodge in the Manu Cloud Forest. The facilities were great and the food excellent. The only reason that I didn't rank the Cock of the Rock in a tie for first is that the wildlife is mostly limited to birds. But, the bird life is amazing. I would definitely go back to the Manu Cloud Forest and I would stay at the Cock of the Rock Lodge again!
4. The Manu Learning Centre. We really enjoyed the presentations from the researchers/scientists who live at the Manu Learning Centre. The food was really good at the Manu Learning Centre! Great sunrise location!
5. Manu Tented Camp. The best wildlife viewing opportunities are in the area near this lodge. There is no comparison. Plus, its deep in Manu National Park. Cocha Salvador was breathtaking. The bungalows at the lodge need updating, though.
6. Romero Rainforest Lodge. Another lodge inside Manu National Park. Its very small, but nice, and you'll get great sunsets with the Manu River in the foreground.
7. The only lodge that was bad (really bad) was the Sandoval Lake Lodge. See my separate review of that lodge. Bottom line: Don't go there.

Our guides were excellent. We had Cesar in Manu and Pepe in Tambopata. They were both very knowledgeable, spoke good English, and were friendly, and they were very patient with my photography! When I saw Cesar pull out his Nikon DSLR and 500mm zoom lens, I knew that I had the perfect guide.

Carmen Maria at InkaNatura was the best. She made the booking process easy, and was very responsive to my e-mails and questions. I'll definitely go back to Manu, and when I do, I go through InkaNatura!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Manu National Park area.
LOCATION
PeruMadre de Dios RegionManu National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MANU LEARNING CENTRE - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Manu Learning Centre
What are some of the property amenities at Manu Learning Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Manu Learning Centre?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Manu Learning Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Manu Learning Centre have airport transportation?
Yes, Manu Learning Centre offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Manu Learning Centre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.