We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Budmarsh Country Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Budmarsh Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 233: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here over Christmas 2016 for our Honeymoon. I couldn't have found better accommodation if I tried. From the moment we booked until the second we left, the service was impeccable. The staff were friendly always paying attention to every level of detail to make sure we were comfortable and happy. I would highly recommend Budmarsh as your first...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rowan Z
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rowan Once again congratulations and thank you for choosing BUDMARSH as your Honeymoon destination. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please do contact us on 0117281800 we would love to make your 1st Anniversary just as memorable. Thank you for your kind review, which I will definitely share with the team. Wishing you all the best...

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was our third visit to Budmarsh. I always visit with my wife as this is an ideal romantic lodge. Budmarsh is a small and intimate boutique lodge with very well appointed rooms and facilities and large manicured gardens and trees providing for a romantic getaway. The staff is very friendly and provide great service and the food is excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gcobane_Quvile
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gcobane Thank you for your 3rd visit to BUDMARSH and that you found BUDMARSH to be consistently the ideal romantic lodge. Please do call us on 0117281800 to reserve your next romantic getaway and enjoy a picnic basket on us. February and March is some of the best time to view the over 100 species of Bird Life found...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed my visit to Budmarsh country lodge.The lodge should consider improving The hotel should consider improving the breakfast menu. The lodge surroundings are excellent. Well worth the visit. The property has good clean rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellockh
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kellockh Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at BUDMARSH. We are pleased to say we have introduced a new and more exciting Breakfast menu to compliment our 8 course fine dinning dinner. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been going to Budmarsh since 2013 and have yet to be disappointed. We stayed over in 2013 and the room quality was great with all the trimmings expected of a 5 star establishment ( We have not stayed over since then so cannot vouch for the room quality at present). Since then we have been for Sunday lunches...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Patience M
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Patience Thank you for your kind review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your New Years Lunch with us. Our new Executive Chef has brought a breath of fresh air to the BUDMARSH table and I am pleased that you enjoyed it. I notice from our records that you have been coming to BUDMARSH regularly, and would love to...

Edenvale, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

our reception was excellent-we were made to feel welcome immediately. our rooms were very comfortable with all the little luxuries. service of the rooms was unobtrusive. the fine dining was exceptional with excellent wines to complement the meal.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mandyc2017
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mandy Thanks for the great review, we are very pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and look forward to your next visit. Kind regards THE BUDMARSH TEAM

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

From 31 December 2016 to 2 January 2017 visited budmarsh private lodge on the basis of advertised 5 star rating and associated beautiful pictures of their room. We however never got the 5 star rating and room beauty as advertised but ended up with a firm observation that it befits it as 3 star lodge not a 5 star lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bkbonginkosi
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Budmarsh. I have investigated both the room you occupied, and the menu that you were served for dinner. Your accommodation was in one of our most popular rooms. I am sorry you did not find our Antique furniture, original artwork, Persian carpets, Jacuzzi bath, variety of high quality amenities, gowns , slippers, turn down...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely setting in very large well kept garden setting. The lodge is very quiet and peaceful and the service is good. The rooms are large and have a good size balcony with views over the gardens. The meals are excellent and weather permitting can be enjoyed outside in the garden. For lunches you can order picnic baskets and enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diether K
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Diether Thank you for your kind review. We wish you well for 2017 Kind regards THE BUDMARSH TEAM

Joburg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family visits the area quite often. Budmarsh has a beautiful surrounding and quaint decor. The first time we went to Budmarsh was for Sunday lunch which was really lovely. Having had such a good experience we decided to revisit it this December. We were disappointed. The sandwiches we ordered were burnt, pasta was over cooked and had too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GiulZ_SA
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments regarding BUDMARSH. We are very pleased you enjoyed your previous Sunday lunch with us and we are sorry you did not enjoy the Bistro meal you had on your last visit. Our new Executive Chef has made some changes to the Bistro Menu and has brought a wealth of knowledge and training...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All I need to say is: EXCELLENT IN EVERY RESPECT! WELL DONE TO AN EXCELLENT TEAM. The service was wonderful, the room great, the food excellent - just a great stay. We will most definitely recommend Budmarsh to our friends and associates, and plan to come again soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E1963LSrolandb
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we do look forward to your next visit. Happy, Prosperous and a Healthy 2017 Kind regards THE BUDMARSH TEAM

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two evenings during December ''16, we were allocated a Luxuary Suite. We expected a "luxury suite", only to find a bedroom, number 5. This room as well as three others lead straight off an inner courtyard area adjacent to the reception area. It does not offer a private veranda or balcony. Should you wish to sit somewhere,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek_Coles
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Derek Thank you for your review of Budmarsh, we do take all comments very seriously and am sorry you did not find room 5 satisfactory. All our rooms are meant to reflect old world charm and I am sorry if this is not to your liking. I do see that you made your reservation online where there are many...

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
1.5 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
2.8 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#7 of 7 in Magaliesburg
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
397 reviews
14.2 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 6 in Muldersdrift
308 reviews
19.9 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Muldersdrift
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Away from the hustle and bustle of the city, in the heart of the magical Magaliesberg, Budmarsh Country Lodge awaits to welcome you to its world of understated elegance, tranquility and personalised attention. Escape through beautiful gardens to ramble amongst abundant bird life. After a sumptuous dinner, conjured by our Master Chef, relax in front of a roaring fire, engage in a game of snooker or simply escape to the quietness of the library to read and forget the stresses of your world. Retire to your bedroom with its antique furniture, underfloor heating, en-suite bathroom and sink into your king size bed for a sleep that is truly nature’s balm. With its lovely landscaped gardens, exquisite trees and alluring scenery, there is no better place than Budmarsh for an intimate wedding for special people. To enjoy your friendships in the peacefulness synonymous with Budmarsh, simply book for a High Tea, Picnic or Sunday Lunch. With enchanting views of the Magaliesberg Mountains, our state-of-the-art conference facilities are designed to inspire, motivate, develop and spoil your staff. Enjoy five star dining, service and accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budmarsh Country Lodge

Address: T1 Magalies Meander Road, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Price Range: £121 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Budmarsh Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Budmarsh Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Budmarsh Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The standard room is luxurious enough (king bed, heated floors, outside shower and fireplace). There bigger and better suites.”
 of 5 bubbles Gcobane_Quvile, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Any of the upstairs rooms”
 of 5 bubbles dietherk, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles 896cynthiap, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms off the main building are quieter with lovely jet-pool/bath.”
 of 5 bubbles yvettedejager, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a twin beds in a luxury room. Very spacious, air-conditioning good. Very clean. Sheets very clean and fresh daily. We love to open our windows at night and felt very safe. Beds were very comfortable. ”
 of 5 bubbles marjoriedale65, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay