We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Parador de Santillana

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Parador de Santillana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 50: English reviews
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here using it as a base to explore the mountains and the coast. The rooms are comfortable, staff helpful and breakfast very generous. We couldn't fault it and would recommend it as a good base for touring the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelenD166
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana, responded to this review

Dear HelenD 166: We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador, and we and we think like you, this is the best place to travel throughout the province. We are close to everything, sea and mountains. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every...

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

This was our first experience of a Parador and we were not impressed. Firstly it was difficult to find. The satnav kept saying it was on a limited access road and to park and walk. We rang the hotel for directions but still got lost. Eventually we parked the car and found the hotel then drove to the car park....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana, responded to this review

Dear LindaH: We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador, and specifically with getting the map Parador with booking, to make it easier to find We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you...

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I would normally rate all paradores with five stars because in my opinion they after terrific value for money. You get a comfortable room, with fluffy towels and lots of toiletries in an interesting building with a breakfast offering a wide choice and a three course evening meal with first class service all for £60-£70. To find the parador go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana, responded to this review

Dear JohnL: We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. You are right about the difficulty that the people for disabled people. We trust...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Quite nice room, big, with parking at E6 per day. Finding the hotel and its car park was extremely difficult. We ended up asking 3 locals, including a policeman before we found it- normally vehicles are not allowed in the village. Room nice, quiet. Breakfast is here with dinner at Parador Santillana Gil Blas a few yards away (4 star)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigCheeseOxford
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

This was our first experience of a parador and we were very impressed. Apart from Garmin bringing us in to the wrong end of a pedestrianised town, we had no problem finding it. The parador is well located although the town is so small that everything is close anyway. The building is relatively modern but charming and quaint nonetheless. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana, responded to this review

Dear AndrewC: We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction. Best regards,

Leigh-on-Sea, Essex
Reviewed 16 September 2016

What a fantastic little town, stuffed full of history and bars/restaurants. One night stop-over after Ferry to Santander and we were delighted by the two Pararores - we stayed in the "Parador" but 2 mins away across the Square is the other "Gil Blas" Parador where we had dinner (breakfast in our one). The staff were fabulous and so proud...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelmak
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana, responded to this review

Dear travelmak: We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador, and we think you are right about "getting" is a medieval village and can not be put signals We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve...

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Once you have found the hotel it's a little gem. Parking is the problem because signage to the hotel is poor . However once you get there it is an oasis of calm. Reception was helpful. Our room, like all the hotel is dated and quite Spanish, but still very good for all that. Our room overlooks the front courtyards...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank william g
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana, responded to this review

Dear Wiliam g, We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions. About sings to arrive Parador, we are sorry but it's not possible to put them, because is a medieval town. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve...

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Being located in the centre of Santillana is great as you experience the special atmosphere of the town. In the evening, you can walk out and take a drink on the nearby romantic terrace. The parador restaurant (that is shares with the Gilblas parador) is quit poor. The food is simple, they only include two plates in halfboard and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kees00
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana, responded to this review

Dear Kees00, We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador. We regret that we were unable to satisfy your expectations with respect to this Parador in the way we had hoped. Please know that we have taken note about your suggestions. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

There are two Paradors in Santillana del Mar, and in our view, this is the better of the two, although it has fewer facilities. At the time of year we were there, the Agapanthus flowers were in full bloom, and looked wonderful. Reception is less busy than the Parador Gil Blas over the road, so service in quicker, and on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate L
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana, responded to this review

Dear Kate L, We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction. Best...

Tampa, FL
Reviewed 29 June 2016

What an experience driving thru old road, maybe a few inches on clearance on each side of your vehicle. The surroundings are great! Hotel staff very attentive and cordial. Very comfortable room, beautiful old furniture. Looking forward to return to this site.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex F

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santillana del Mar hotels
0.0 mi away
Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
#6 of 26 in Santillana del Mar
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Marques
Hotel Casa del Marques
#2 of 26 in Santillana del Mar
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa del Organista
La Casa del Organista
#1 of 26 in Santillana del Mar
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Casona de Revolgo
La Casona de Revolgo
#4 of 26 in Santillana del Mar
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cuevas I-II
Hotel Cuevas I-II
#8 of 26 in Santillana del Mar
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Altamira
Hotel Altamira
#10 of 26 in Santillana del Mar
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This newly built manor house respects the traditional local architecture and harmonises perfectly with the style of this lovely town. Comfortable rooms and a pleasant atmosphere add to the peace and tranqulity of this hotel. The restaurant and bar, in the Parador Santillana Gil Blas, offer a chance to try the most traditional dishes in Cantabrian cooking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Parador de Santillana

Address: Plaza de Ramon Pelayo s/n, 39330, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santillana del Mar
Price Range: £69 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador de Santillana 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Parador de Santillana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Santillana Hotel Santillana Del Mar
Parador De Santillana Del Mar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Parador de Santillana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First Floor Front with Balcony (think 114?)”
 of 5 bubbles travelmak, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Summer may be hot, since they don't have AC”
 of 5 bubbles AlexF939, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“stay in the old part”
 of 5 bubbles Ducatisue, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a front room”
 of 5 bubbles williamg920, 18 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear of building have views of gardens and countryside.”
 of 5 bubbles Chiefbeard, 26 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay