We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grisedale Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenridding
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Grisedale Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

Family weekend away, beautiful scenery surprised with how large and spacious the lodge is, lots of DVDs and cd's for your own use! Definitely be back thank you for a lovely weekend & making us feel at home perfect for a peaceful weekend with your family. Ps love the bathroom!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Millsward
Shipley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2015

My wife and I arrived very late in the evening but we still received a warm welcome even though we arrived at 11pm. Food was kindly provided in the evening and also advice on an alternative route for the next day's walk due to having pulled a muscle in my leg during the day. The room was very pleasant and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
ChrisKenyon12, Owner at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

We did enjoy meeting you both and hope that you enjoyed the alternative route and its superb views of the lake. Hope to see you again. Christine and John

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Excellent host who met us with tea and the most amazing flapjack. Very comfortable rooms well furnished. First class breakfast and chunky filling sandwiches, my wife said the doorstop marmite sandwiches got her up Kidsty Pike. Highly recommended especially for C2C walkers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clem687
ChrisKenyon12, Manager at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

We did enjoy having you to stay and are glad to hear the marmite sandwich played such a key role in your ascent of Kidsty Pike! The home made bread mush have made a difference. Hope to see you again. Christine and John

Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

We arrived quite late after a MASSIVE day out hiking. My sister had terrible knees and was visibly upset when we arrived. Christine answered the door and nothing was too much for her. She quickly organized a pack of ice peas for my sister's knees, bought fresh milk up to our rooms and was just genuinely kind. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
ChrisKenyon12, Manager at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

Hello again. We did enjoy meeting you all and hope that you were able to enjoy the rest of your C2C adventure. Some of those descents are tough on the knees and the joints. We did hear that you had made it to Shap and were still in good spirits .... amazing what a bag of frozen peas can do!...

London, UK
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Absolutely fantastic B&B. Excellent quality breakfasts (including a nice selection of fresh fruit), comfortable rooms and friendly hosts. Probably the best place we stayed at during our Coast to Coast walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KingOfThePond
ChrisKenyon12, Owner at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

Hello again. Hope that you enjoyed your Coast to Coast adventure and that you have lots of happy walking memories. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Patterdale. We hope you'll come back again. Christine and John

Bedale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
ChrisKenyon12, Owner at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 13 September 2015

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank B K
ChrisKenyon12, Owner at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

Wheatley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jrw1649
ChrisKenyon12, Owner at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelharrogate
ChrisKenyon12, Owner at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cheesee01
ChrisKenyon12, Owner at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,586 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Glenridding House
Glenridding House
#2 of 6 in Glenridding
50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crookabeck Bed & Breakfast
Crookabeck Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 12 in Patterdale
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Water View
Old Water View
#2 of 12 in Patterdale
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grisedale Lodge is a friendly and comfortable Lake District B&B with gorgeous views of the Ullswater fells. We have three guest rooms on the first and second floor of our home and a lovely lounge which you are welcome to enjoy. We are located between the villages of Glenridding and Patterdale in a quiet location at Grisedale Bridge. There are numerous walks from the door and the lake is only a 10 minute walk away. We are directly on Wainwright's Coast to Coast walk and a 15 minute walk from the Inn on the Lake in Glenridding which is a superb wedding venue. There are some lovely pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Our B&B rooms are simply furnished and comfortable. We have three rooms : two twin or double rooms with en suite shower and one double room with separate, private bathroom. All rooms have good WiFi access and tea and coffee making facilities. There is private off road parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grisedale Lodge

Address: Grisedale Bridge | Patterdale, Glenridding CA11 0PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Price Range: £21 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Grisedale Lodge Glenridding, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grisedale Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the 2 top floor rooms had views of the lake”
cheesee01, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
“corner room at back quiet/gorgeous views/extremely small en-suite/huge comfy bed”
bambi4sluice, 9 Jun 2014 | Read review
“All lovely, extremely comfy beds, just what's needed after a days walking.”
BrumSteve96, 24 Feb 2014 | Read review
“While our room didn't have an entire bathroom en suite, it had a toilet and sink in the room and our bathroom, while down two stairs, made up for the distance in size and quality. The longest, deepest soaking tub I've seen, with a large,separate shower, great lighting and warm towel racks...sigh...”
curlyred52, 2 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
Sukithecat, 11 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5