We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Newton Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Newton Farmhouse A698 Roxburghshire, Jedburgh TD8 6ST Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (22)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 lodge in Jedburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A perfect haven with wonderfully comfortable big beds, stunning views and delicious farmhouse breakfasts. Stay in luxury B&B accommodation in our tastefully restored farmhouse. Midway between Hawick and Jedburgh, the 900 acre farm runs from the top of the dunion down to the River Teviot. From the house you have views of Ruberslaw – with an amazing view from its summit. The Borders Abbey Way passes nearby and there are numerous walks and cycling available from the farm. Three of the 7stanes mountain biking centres are within an hour and Keilder Forest is even nearer (25 miles). We have plenty of private parking, bike storage and hire and walkers & cyclists are most welcome. ​The delights of the Scottish Borders and the stunning Northumberland coastline are on our doorstep with the cities of Edinburgh and Newcastle just over an hour’s drive away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
19Reviews0Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 18
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jrp1234 wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
+1
What an amazing place to stay. Me and my teenager daughter stayed for 2 nights while we attended a wedding. After a very long drive Abbey was very attentive with hot drinks and a warm welcome. Breakfast was great, the shower was lovely. I found it very easy going with no hassle of the usual strict check in or out as you would get with a hotel. We had the green room with fantastic views of the grounds. A very comfortable stay in the huge bed. Would definitely recommend this and I will definitely be visiting again to explore properly. A lovely relaxing stay away from the usual rush of everyday life. Thank you Abbey and your family for opening your home to allow people to experience your amazing home.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
K2431HJhannah wrote a review Aug 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
I couldn’t have wished for a better nights sleep with the most wonderfully comfortable bed in a beautifully calm and picturesque setting. I had the room that looked out over the lake and it was stunning to wake up over. The breakfast was delicious and the breakfast room so quaint and cute.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
kph666 wrote a review Oct 2019
10 contributions7 helpful votes
Great find for my ever increasing trips back to visit family form the South East of England. A fantastic home and probably the best sleep I have had away from home. Nothing to much trouble for Abby and what a fantastic breakfast to set you up for the day. Will most definitely be back very soon
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Yvonne S wrote a review Sept 2019
Glasgow, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
The house is superb, situated amongst peaceful, rolling farmlands and has a beautiful garden to explore. The room is luxurious without being to fussy and the bed is large and comfortable. Abby couldn't have been a better host, she was friendly, welcoming and went out of her way to be helpful with suggestions of places to visit and eat. Breakfast was in the drawing room where you could enjoy the views of the garden pond, the countryside and all the animals that live there. The breakfast was filling and set us up for each day's adventures. The house is located close to Jedburgh and other villages and places of interest. It's good value for money and we would love to go back again. It's the best B&B we've ever stayed in.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JackieWorcs_UK wrote a review Jun 2019
Worcs, UK2 contributions
Newton Farmhouse is stunning, more like a Manor House than a B&B! We were in one of the two guest rooms, in the guest wing. The room was huge with a very comfortable bed and dining table in the window. We had brought our own food so we didn't have to go out again after a long journey, but Abby would have been happy to suggest/book a local restaurant. Breakfast in the beautiful guest dining room was lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dannysmurf1989 wrote a review May 2019
Falkirk, United Kingdom40 contributions45 helpful votes
Ok I first want to say that the host are amazing, really welcoming with some great recommendations. The location is amazing, far enough away that you feel like you are in the countryside but with the nearest town and restaurants 3 miles away you can’t really go wrong! We stayed for 2 nights so got to sample the breakfast too and we thought it was really great with fresh local ingredients and homemade bread every morning which is a great touch. The rooms themselves are really comfy with modern amenities but keeping the traditional features which is really hard to do. All in all one of the best I’ve stayed in and if you are looking for somewhere nearby I would definitely book this place but be quick as I can imagine it gets booked quickly!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
19beth123 wrote a review Aug 2018
Northampton, United Kingdom49 contributions44 helpful votes
Drive too fast and you could miss the turning for Newton Farmhouse. Situated between Jedburgh and Hawick. The setting is idyllic with a view of the lake and surrounding hills dotted with tiny white sheep. Our room at the front of the house overlooked this beautiful view. The room was huge and elegantly furnished. No en-suite,the bathroom was next door with an unusual yellow bath suite circa 1950's? which was accentuated with matching decor. Unusual but nice. Husband complained of no stand-in shower but as we were only there for the night we both had a relaxing bath instead. Wonderful, wonderful breakfast next day sitting in Abby's beautifully 'drawing room' looking over the lake. Abby was the perfect host, nothing was too much trouble. She had a natural charm, easy to talk to. Arranged an evening meal in Jedburgh for us and suggested places to visit. We visit the area often so would definitely go to Newton Farmhouse again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ajennie wrote a review May 2018
Jedburgh, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Fabulous place to stay . We were made very welcome and treated almost like part of the family . Breakfast was great with adequate choices , the views were stunning and the beds were exceptionally comfortable . Look forward to staying there again 👍🙂
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DunkMac1 wrote a review Sept 2017
Dervaig, United Kingdom1 contribution
My girlfriend and I were down for the weekend to do some cycling. I could not think of nicer place to stay. Abby, Charlie and family were lovely, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was ace! We both look forward to going back sometime soon!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Christine H wrote a review Sept 2017
Liverpool, United Kingdom125 contributions98 helpful votes
Stayed four nights at Newton Farmhouse. Owner very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Recommended and booked various places for evening meals. Location of property is in beautiful grounds with lovely views from breakfast room and our room had a huge comfy bed. Booked on strength of other reviews of this property but unfortunately our experience did not match up to some of the other comments. In the four days we were there our bed was never made - in 30+ years of using bed and breakfast accommodation this is the first time we have ever encountered this. We always throw the duvet over neatly and put the cushions on the bed but usually the owner tidies the bed and the cushions. We arrived back at the b and b on the first day at 6pm to find the bed exactly as we had left it and the hospitality tray still dirty and the bin not emptied though the hospitality tray and bin were rectified when we returned at 8pm. There was no wardrobe in the room - not even a hook on the door so we had to keep any clothes which we would have hung up in our bags. There was also no lock on the bedroom door which we found rather strange, the owner told us there was no need for a key to the bedroom doors as the main door to the house had a key pad! We particularly found this rather unsatisfactory. There were bits on the bedroom carpet including a clump of hair on the floor on one side of the bed when we were shown our room, obviously from a previous visitor's hair brush. The carpet had obviously not been vacuummed prior to us arriving and the bits on the floor were still there when we left, the housekeeping of the rooms leaves something to be desired. There is a shower attachment incorporated into the taps on the bath but there is no shower curtain or shower screen so impossible to use it for a shower without getting the floor and walls wet. Whilst we had a nice cooked breakfast there was no menu to tick the night before to say what you want for breakfast which seems to be the norm in other establishments. It was only when looking at a page in the room information prior to leaving that we noticed scrambled egg and smoked salmon was available but there had never been any mention of this. On the first morning the lady who was overseeing the breakfast said 'it is a good job you only want white toast as we only do white toast we don't do brown bread'. Only orange juice was provided and I asked if there was an alternative only to be told 'we only do orange juice'. Whilst all this did not detract from an enjoyable holiday, we were disappointed with this accommodation and consider it to be overpriced for the facilities provided.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlie O, Owner at Newton Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Responded 12 Sept 2017
Dear Sir or Madam We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay and were extremely surprised by your reviews, especially given how well we seemed to get along. We are therefore very sorry for your unsatisfactory stay but felt the need to respond given the very poor reviews as we pride ourselves on delivering excellence. You are quite right, we do not make our guests beds, we do however refresh the tea tray on a daily basis, in your case this was done at 7pm when you went out for supper, this is simply because after I tidy away breakfast, I leave for work. We do not provide locks on any doors in our home because we trust our guests and hope that they trust us and one another When you were first shown into your room the wardrobe in the bathroom, including hangers was pointed out to you. Regarding the cleanliness, the room was cleaned and vacuumed before you arrived, we are devastated that you found the room unsatisfactory and would happily have rectified the situation had you pointed out the faults The room is advertised on Booking.com as having a bath only, we have fitted a shower tap which is not designed to be stood under. We like to serve breakfast in a social way and would never ask our guests to tick boxes with their requests We bake fresh bread every morning and have chosen white because we have found it to be the most popular, if we are asked we would have been more than happy to bake an alternative, however we were not. On your fourth morning with us you asked if we had any Apple Juice, had you asked on the any other morning we would have bought some. I'm sure you appreciate that with only having 2 rooms the wastage involved if we offered multiple fruit juices would not be ethical. When the lavatory was broken in your room not only did it get fixed immediately we were informed, but we also gave you a bottle of Prosecco to apologise. Once again I would like to reiterate how sorry we are that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I believe that nobody makes mistakes deliberately and should therefore be judged on how they rectify them, in this case the first time we have discovered the mistake was after you had left, through public reviews, which has not given us that opportunity. We wish you all the best
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Jedburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
£100 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish BordersJedburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NEWTON FARMHOUSE BED & BREAKFAST - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Newton Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Newton Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Mary Queen of Scots' Visitor Centre (2.3 miles), Jacksons at Jedburgh (2.3 miles), and Jedburgh Abbey (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Newton Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Newton Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Newton Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Newton Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Caddy Mann Restaurant, The Belters Bar, and The Capon Tree Town House.
Are there any historical sites close to Newton Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mary Queen of Scots' Visitor Centre (2.3 miles), Jedburgh Abbey (2.3 miles), and Monteviot Gardens (2.2 miles).