We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Union Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Union Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Mission Viejo, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You can't beat the location of the hotel which is pet friendly. Our room faced Kinders BBQ restaurant which got deliveries from 3:30 AM on. The jacuzzi had bolts sticking out and we suggested they get that fixed. I would suggest a room away from the corner by Kinders.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mclay2015
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Loved this hotel, we got everything promised and more. Would love to come back again, and so happy to see they are pet friendly, maybe we'll come we with our four legged kids. Had no problems with breakfast, in fact it was excellent and the first morning we were there, we were the only ones at breakfast and they still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilliesPhan65
California
Reviewed 20 October 2016

This is a sweet, old hotel in an historic building in a great location. Comfortable bed, nice old furnishings, large room with a large bathroom. Mine was on the second floor facing the main street and noise wasn't a factor. Brochure said remodeling was done in 1990's, which explains an odd-colored jacuzzi tub. The room was clean and nice. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glbretagne
Benicia, California
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Best apps in town. Sidewalk dining is fun.Mussels and calmari are great apps. Fine dining in a casual atmosphere. Gabby , the owner is the best and helps out the staff when needed. Entrees are phenominal. Varied menu..something for all including the kid. Great old fashioned bar and drinks to match

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eclaire53
San Francisco
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This B&B type hotel is above a very good Italian restaurant and bar. It was only 1 block from the Marina and was perfect for an overnight stay with my wife. The town of Benicia is very quaint and definitely worh a stop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank potrerotraveler
718lidiaw, Manager at Union Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your kind review. We hope you will visit the Union Hotel again.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 8 September 2016

If possible, I would give the Union Hotel in Benicia minus stars! My husband and I had an appalling experience after booking a stay at this hotel. We live in San Francisco and were attending a wedding in Benicia on August 27, 2016. Weeks ahead, on August 13, 2016, my husband booked a room at this hotel through Hotel.com. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank _annettellim
718lidiaw, Manager at Union Hotel, responded to this review

I truly apologize for your experience. I talked to the newly hired innkeeper who assured me that she posted the information you needed. Obviously the needed information did not reach you, despite the fact that you made all the necessary steps to secure your reservation, Therefore the Union Hotel has issued you a refund. We sincerely hope that you consider...

Napa Valley, California
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Rooms ok, no coffee pot in room (as offered), no breakfast unless you call Cherios and instant coffee a breakfast. Accidently left a very expensive shirt in room, called the next day, and several days after that...still no shirt and of course no one knows anything about it! Called owner "Lidia" never heard back from her either!! TERRIBLE customer service,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 24carol24
718lidiaw, Manager at Union Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We appreciate that you found "rooms ok". Thank you for your good word. We appreciate your turning our attention to "no coffee pot in the room" Following your comment, the hotel purchased several additional coffee pots so that every room has one. We are not sure about the instant coffee because we do not stock it. The management...

Southern California
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The Union Hotel sure was an adventure. We arrived around 7:30, so it was early evening but still sunny outside. When we went to try the door, it was locked, and we found a tiny envelope with our last name taped to the window. The envelope had our passcode to get through the door. So we walked into a room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KParco
Kingston, Washington
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

The staff was very friendly. Large main bedroom, and a large bathroom with a jetted tub. It's very convenient having the restaurant with a full bar in the hotel. So we get some drinks and brought them to our room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimandMissy R
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2016

perfect location for my purpose, with comfy bed and hot shower. but it could do with refurbishment throughout and still keep its old world charm. I was given a wifi voucher for 72 hours but my stay was for 90 hours. when I queried at check out I was told there were vouchers in an envelope on the main door...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank judithdiane

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benicia
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Heritage Inn
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Benicia
7.7 mi away
Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
812 reviews
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 18 in Vallejo
120 reviews
7.4 mi away
Courtyard Vallejo Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Union Hotel, a unique hotel in the San Francisco Bay area, is nestled on the edge of a calm bay in Benicia, California close to nearby scenic attractions of Northern California. The city of Benicia is home to a bustling marina, antique shops, art studios, restaurants, historic landmarks and shopping. Our Inn is in the Bay Area, located near the Carquinez Strait, which is part of San Francisco Bay. The comfortable décor of this Benicia, CA hotel is reminiscent of California's past and is highlighted with touches of European elegance. In the middle of the nineteenth century, this beautiful cream-colored hotel welcomed guests from all over the world with warm hospitality. The tradition continues today at the Union Hotel in lovely historic Benicia. Each luxuriously appointed guestroom features a private bathroom with Jacuzzi, distinctive amenities, private phone lines, and period interior. Some suites feature spectacular water views and spacious bathrooms with Whirlpool Jacuzzi tubs for two. Guests on business can enjoy wireless internet service, voicemail, private phone lines.A combination of beauty, history, and comfort has created a distinctive place to stay at The Union Hotel, a Northern California Inn. Whether you are visiting the San Francisco Bay Area for a romantic weekend getaway, honeymoon, anniversary, relaxing vacation, or business trip - we hope to see you at The Union Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Union Hotel

Address: 401 1st St, PO Box 874, Benicia, CA 94510-3207
Region: United States > California > Benicia
Price Range: £101 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Union Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“away from restaurants which get early morning deliveries.”
 of 5 bubbles mclay2015, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Save yourself and steer clear”
 of 5 bubbles KParco, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We chose a room in the back, as it was off the street, and we slept in.”
 of 5 bubbles 558caseyh, 3 May 2015 | Read review
“Go somewhere else! Be aware that it is VERY loudon the street sides if you decide to stay, and that the 2nd floor $179 room, Sea Daisy, has the hotel water heaters drumming all night long right outside the window.”
 of 5 bubbles 174dianeg, 12 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles jordanr101, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay