Moonstone Landing
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Moonstone Landing

6240 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Traveller (342)
Room & Suite (143)
Beach across the street
Pool & Beach (33)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
£220
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£220
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 5 inns in Cambria
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Moonstone Landing is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. All rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. A free continental breakfast is included with your stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Room features
Fireplace
Private balcony
Seating area
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English

Location

6240 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 42 out of 100
42
San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport
35.4 mi
See all flights
Monterey Peninsula Airport
81.4 mi
See all flights
860Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 516
  • 264
  • 60
  • 14
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ichabod104 wrote a review Mar 2021
Riverside, California91 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The good parts, Room was very large, extremely quiet at night, very clean and all covid protocols were followed. The location is unbeatable, you cross the street and there's direct beach access. Open the windows and hear the waves crashing at night it is amazing.
They do not do daily housekeeping services and you have to call the night before if you want towels or the Room clean. Sometimes in the morning you might eat an extra towel or cups but not an option. No breakfast service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tara Bender, General Manager at Moonstone Landing
Responded 27 Apr 2021
Thank you for the feedback! We appreciate hearing from our guests. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful location. Unfortunately, with following the COVID guidelines were are not cleaning rooms for extended stays at this time. We do our best to inform every guest of this when a reservation is made. That way there is plenty of time to make an informed decision if our property is up to your standards. Please feel free to contact the front desk during your stay and we'd be happy to provide you with any extra amenities we offer. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again! Best Regards, Moonstone Landing
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johncZ5101AC wrote a review Feb 2020
9 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent Valentine's evening having a wonderful
meal sitting at the dining table in our room. The view was magnificent and being together on this special day in such an environment was a forever memory. We were in a 2nd floor ocean view room which we both highly recommend. Weekday stays off season are less expensive and February was a great month to be here, less crowds definitely.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Worth having the ocean view rooms, second floor gives spectacular view and sunset.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tara B, Manager at Moonstone Landing
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear JohncZ5101AC, Our family owned property takes a great deal of pride in providing a relaxing and memorable experience for our guests. It's so rewarding to us when we receive a review like this, it reminds us of why we are in the hospitality business! Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your forever memory! Cheers! Moonstone Landing
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aetsai1 wrote a review Aug 2020
Lancaster, California18 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We drove up and requested a room at the last minute due to an AirBnb fail. The staff was beyond courteous and accommodating and was able to book us a 2nd floor room with a partial ocean view for 5 nights. The staff are the most cleaning conscientious group I have seen in the pandemic era. The room was spacious, comfortable, and exceeded our expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tara Bender, General Manager at Moonstone Landing
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Dear Aetsai1, Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we really appreciated that you recognized the cleaning measures we have put in place to insure a safe and healthy stay for our guests during COVID-19. We're glad to hear our staff was accommodating and made you feel welcome, we hope you can stay with us again when things have settled down. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again! Kind Regards, Moonstone Landing
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
atticus404 wrote a review Jun 2020
Santa Barbara, California11 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are spacious and very nice. The breakfast is also very good. This was our second time there. The first was a full view unit in the front. No complaints, though somewhat pricey. This time we had a partial view room on the side of the property next the to Sea Chest Restaurant. No breakfast because of Covid-19 but the room was equally nice, though somewhat expensive. However the restaurant runs loud equipment on and off all day and night. They also power wash (with a loud machine) the kitchen mats a couple of times a day. The equipment drowns out the ocean sounds and is very intrusive. When I called to check out and told the desk that this had been a real problem for us and that I thought they should discount the rooms on that side of the building. She was she would take note of the problem but did not offer a discount. If you go there, make sure you get a room away from that side of the building. That should cure the problem. Though I was disappointed by the uncaring reaction to our problem.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay on the side away from the restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tara Bender, General Manager at Moonstone Landing
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Dear Atticus404, We're sorry to hear about the noise disruptions you experienced from the neighboring restaurant. While we have heard at times about noise, we have not heard it to the extent you experienced. Since they were mostly closed during that time due to COVID-19, it's possible they were doing extra cleaning detail or work on the property in order to take advantage of the "down time". We are, however, happy to hear that you otherwise enjoyed your accommodations and we hope to see you again. Sincerley, Moonstone Landing
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AO wrote a review Aug 2021
South Dakota1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful location with lovely, clean room and a comfortable bed. The boardwalk along the beach is wonderful to walk on and is just across the street. The beach is fun to explore. Moonstone Landing could improve the experience with better towels instead of the sandpaper-like towels they have. The continental breakfast isn't worth eating and is pretty much the saddest hotel breakfast I have ever seen. But, it's CABRIA and we loved the experience anyway. And regardless of the towels and breakfast, I wanted to stay another day.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tara Bender, General Manager at Moonstone Landing
Responded 31 Aug 2021
Thank you for the great feedback! We love hearing from our guests and we're glad you enjoyed the beautiful location and lovely room during your stay. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again! Best Wishes, Moonstone Landing
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chrissy M wrote a review Feb 2020
Syracuse, New York135 contributions52 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for one night in February while visiting the CA coast. We opted for the 2nd floor partial ocean view room as we didn’t want to pay the rate for full ocean view rooms. While these rooms do face towards the parking lot there are windows angled towards the beach. We were pleasantly surprised by the view we had and how clearly we could hear the ocean at night. While the bathrooms are a little dated, we really enjoyed the room. The hardwoods, fireplace, and table near the window were great features that we enjoyed. The room was incredibly clean as well which was a plus. We would definitely come back again if in the area!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer S wrote a review Nov 2021
Fresno, ca64 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If I could give this place 6 stars, I would. Beautifully updated room, oceanfront view, friendly staff….this place has it all. We stayed in Room 201 which is oceanfront. Check in was seamless and staff is extremely friendly. Room 201 is on the upper floor, in a corner, meaning no way walking in the hallway, making the room very quiet. The furnishings are on point and the Moonstone Beach walking trail is right outside the property. They currently have a limited continental breakfast due to COVID. There is a fireplace in the room too, very romantic! I definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tara Bender, General Manager at Moonstone Landing
Responded 24 Nov 2021
Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We love hearing from our guests and we're glad you enjoyed the views, quiet room and fireplace. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Moonstone Landing
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jules T wrote a review Jul 2022
San Jose, California1,369 contribution257 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Moonstone Landing is the best location right on Moonstone Beach in Cambria, CA. We have stayed before and this time did not disappoint! The service is fabulous from the front desk associations and also the very friendly housekeeping staff. I'm glad after covid, the ice machine is back and they were also offering breakfast items, although we did not partake. Easy parking right next to the rooms. The room was so clean and the bed very comfy! Although we had to open all the windows as the cleaning scent was too strong. Decent flat screen TV and we loved the fireplace. Bathrooms are decent and a hot bath appreciated after a lot of hiking! Nice bath products. Only hesitation for giving a 5* is the noise level. We booked late and could not get a 2nd floor room and unfortunately, the people above us did not stop moving around until late so we could not sleep. As an older Inn, unfortunately, it's not as quiet as it could be. Otherwise, it's fabulous and we for sue, will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor. Clean view would be fabulous but pricey!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Georgia Legg, General Manager at Moonstone Landing
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Thank you for the feedback, we value hearing from our guests! We're glad you enjoyed the great location and amenities. If you ever have any issues, please feel free to contact the front desk and we would be glad to assist you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again! Best wishes, Moonstone Landing
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alli wrote a review Aug 2022
Colorado20,781 contributions78 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was good, as pictured with a king bed, fridge, coffeemaker, microwave and fireplace. It was also very hot even though it was quite cool in Cambria. The room was south facing, even with the window open and the fan going it was still very hot. Hard to sleep. Also very loud, you can hear people in the hallway and with the windows open the restaurant next door. The breakfast consisted of prepackaged muffins, yogurt, green bananas. The staff with the exception of one guy was very indifferent. I felt like I was bugging them when checking in. I would have liked some communal outdoor seating that faced the ocean. The location is very good. Easy beach access and walkable to restaurants and shopping. I did find the price to be high. Would I stay again? Maybe in winter when the fireplace would be welcomed and rates much lower. Though not again in prime summer months.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Georgia Legg, General Manager at Moonstone Landing
Responded 3 Aug 2022
Thank you for the feedback, we value hearing from our guests! We're sorry to hear your stay didn't meet your expectations. If you ever have any issues, please feel free to contact the front desk and we would be glad to assist you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! Best wishes, Moonstone Landing
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carlotaTravel4fun wrote a review Sept 2021
california629 contributions176 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at this hotel before, and my opinion remains the same. The staff is very friendly, and the room is spacious and clean. The rooms at this hotel go from front to back, so the view of the ocean is next to nothing. The outside sitting area is in the back with no view of the ocean. There is room out in front of the hotel where they could have built a patio area and taken advantage of the view, but chose not to. This may be because they have six rooms that face the ocean in the front, and are the only rooms with a view. These rooms are booked months in advance and cost $100 more a night. This is a good hotel and I would stay here again. Again, do not book a room on the first floor as it is at parking lot level.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tara Bender, General Manager at Moonstone Landing
Responded 16 Sept 2021
Thank you for the great feedback! We love hearing from our guests and we're so glad you enjoyed the spacious and clean room during your stay. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again! Best Wishes, Moonstone Landing
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DoodleDandy asked a question Nov 2021
Idaho Falls, Idaho418 contributions81 helpful votes
Is breakfast included?
Answer from travelwork
Thornton, Colorado421 contributions197 helpful votes
Yes, they have continental breakfast. It's not amazing but if you're looking for a little something first thing in the morning, it will do.
Answer from Georgia L
cambria
Dear Scincalifornia, We purchased all new mattress in May/June of this year. As you can see by all the replies to your message, our guests have been loving the new mattresses. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Moonstone Landing
MRCINC asked a question Oct 2015
Tehachapi, California14 contributions3 helpful votes
Do you allow pets?
Answer from JaguarTracker1952
Los Angeles, California21 contributions25 helpful votes
How is the cell phone service here? I recall staying a couple of times years ago at another hotel very nearby and the cell phone service was horrible. I believe it wasn't a hotel specific thing but more due to that location.
Answer from Moonstonelanding
Cambria
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the quality and comfort of your room. We're sorry to hear our complimentary continental breakfast did not meet your expectations. The morning pastries we serve are baked and delivered fresh every morning from Cambria's local Italian Bakery, Allocco's, and are usually still warm upon arrival. Of all our breakfast selections, we receive the most compliments about the pastries. We do provide Hot Water in the lobby to be used for the porridge (or oatmeal), and does not need to be taken back to your room to heat it. We feel we provide a wide selection of quality items for our daily complimentary buffet breakfast, including hard boiled eggs, pastries, croissants (also from Alloccos'), bagels, english muffins, wheat and cinnamon raisin breads, granola, oatmeal, fruit, juice, and coffee. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing for your destination.
Danielle Lovingood wrote a tip Dec 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The restaurant everyone told us to go to which is right next door/ was closed during our December stay "
Read full review
Flower G wrote a tip Nov 2023
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 110 is swampy hot no view but of cars"
Read full review
Rachele G wrote a tip Sept 2023
Sacramento, California48 contributions58 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Oceanfront rooms are great."
Read full review
kasloan wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t plan on enjoying the jacuzzi after 9pm."
Read full review
KSSeaB wrote a tip May 2023
Henderson, Nevada2,162 contributions388 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you're an AAA member, ask for a discount."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cambria area.
PRICE RANGE
£141 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo CountyCambria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOONSTONE LANDING - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Moonstone Landing
Which popular attractions are close to Moonstone Landing?
Nearby attractions include Fiscalini Ranch Preserve (1.3 miles), Highway 1 Road Trip (5.0 miles), and Moonstone Drive (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Moonstone Landing?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Moonstone Landing?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Moonstone Landing?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Moonstone Landing?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moonstone Landing?
Conveniently located restaurants include Madeline's Restaurant & Wine Cellar, Robin's Restaurant, and Indigo Moon.
Are there any historical sites close to Moonstone Landing?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nitt Witt Ridge (0.9 miles), The Old Santa Rosa Creek Chapel (1.8 miles), and Cambria Jailhouse (1.1 miles).
Does Moonstone Landing have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Moonstone Landing accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cambria HotelsCambria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CambriaHotels near Moonstone Landing
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire