We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area

Visit hotel website
Traveller (48)
Room & Suite (46)
Pool & Beach (4)


If you are looking for hotels near San Diego, make sure you check out our property located right off I-5 at exit 40. We are located less than a half-mile from the beach, and we provide our guests with the best in quality amenities, making us the smart choice.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Save More on Your Rate
Hotel deals


Full view
37Car recommended
Grade: 37 out of 100
24Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
4Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
66Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 104
  • 106
  • 39
  • 21
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Since Holiday Inn is a chain, you're not going to find much differentiation between hotels no matter where you go. Same decor, same comfy beds, same breakfast. The STAFF is gonna make the difference. The staff here was great. Funny, joking around, helping me with local
Read more
There was a bad, musty smell in the room. I used the gym. You can refill your water bottles here. 1 out of the 3 machines was broken and the treadmill was filthy. I cleaned it myself. The good thing is there is a fridge in the room however it leaked at some pint on the carpet.
Read more
Response from Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Responded 6 Nov 2018
Dear Hotelholidayer, I want to apologize for the experience you had. We are preparing for a renovation, and while that does not excuse the issues in your guestroom, we do promise to refresh our rooms and public areas. I do hope you can give us another chance in the future. Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Read more
I understand this is a 3-star Holiday inn express and not a 5-Star hotel, but I have to say that I’m not a fan of this place. The rooms smell musty (at least both that I stayed in), which I’m sure is a result of the a/c units not being maintained correctly. We had issues with
Read more
Response from Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Responded 31 Oct 2018
Dear WanderingThatWay, I do want to apolgize for the hot water situation. We did resolve a plumbing issue during the weekend and I am sorry you had to experience it during your stay. We do hope you can give us another chance in the future to make up for the issues you experiened. Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Read more
We stayed here for two nights on our way from San Diego north. Nice motel close to the freeway and Cardiff/Encinitas. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable – we had a room at the back away from the freeway. Service was good when we needed it. Free wifi. They had great
Read more
I was highly disappointed by this hotel. In general, I am quite happy with Holiday Inn Express, but this one is quite old, not in best condition and staff is not that helpful. It looks like the management is probably not taking too much care about details and how their employees
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Responded 23 Oct 2018
Hello Andreas K, Thank you for leaving us your review and for making us a part your visit here in Cardiff. We are grateful that you've chosen the Holiday Inn to host you. As always, we wanted nothing more but to ensure your experience turn as positive as possible. Though it made me smile that you rated us positively in making sure you get the most out of this, I'm sorry that you felt this experience sub par. I read that you were underwhelmed with the hotel atmosphere and how our staff made you feel. I understand where you're coming from, Andreas K. I'm sorry that this stay didn't go as perfectly as planned. Don't worry, I took the necessary steps to ensure our management gets to read your post and be discussed amongst all concerned staff. We are always on the lookout for ways to make your experience memorable. Reviews such as this goes a long way in identifying areas where we can improve. Your review will also be carefully considered should there be renovations in the pipeline. We may not have gotten off the right foot but I'm positive to make it better for your next stay. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. Best regards, Frank A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
small bathroom
Mold in the bathroom
Old leak from fridge/freezer
Months of dust collecting behind the door
King Bed
do they have safes in the rooms
Not in room , but they do offer a safety deposit box via front desk. Hope this helps
1 vote
Show all answers
Do you have a shuttle for visiting area attractions?
We did not use one - as we rented a cat
0 votes
Show all answers
"Choose a different hotel"
"I couldn't say what a good room would be"
"Second floor"
"you get exactly what you pay for....."
"Walk next door to Mexican take out, 99 cent fish taco's 24/7"
US$118 - US$248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
holiday inn express encinitas - cardiff beach area hotel cardiff by the sea
United StatesCaliforniaEncinitasCardiff-by-the-Sea
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing