Carriage House Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Carriage House Inn

Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Traveller (103)
Panorama of the Deluxe Room (Downstairs) at Carriage House Inn
360
Panoramas (10)
Deluxe Suite
Room & Suite (197)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£415
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Breakfast included
£415
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 11 inns in Carmel
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Constructed in 1980, the Carriage House Inn has consistently received the prestigious AAA 4-Diamond rating. Tucked onto a quiet side street, the Carriage House Inn is just one block south of Ocean Avenue, the hub of this quaint yet elegant village. Guestrooms are designed with an elegant, soothing decor; boasting feather beds, fireplaces, flat screen TVs and luxury linens, with most including jetted tubs and vaulted ceilings with some featuring oversized 2-person jetted tubs. Stay with us at the Carriage House Inn and enjoy the charming cottages, luxury shopping and premier restaurants while strolling through Carmel-by-the-Sea.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast in the room
Adults only
Newspaper
Private check-in / check-out
Happy hour
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Fireplace
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
654Reviews2Q+A98Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 544
  • 72
  • 29
  • 8
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
AKGiblin wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned from a 4-day stay at the Carriage House Inn and I have never written a review before, but I felt that this definitely deserved one. Our first contact at the hotel was with Michelle at the front desk who was absolutely wonderful and welcoming. She asked if we had ever stayed at the their hotel and when we told her we had not, she said that this would be out new favorite and she was definitely correct. We arrived late afternoon and we were provided a beautiful charcuterie tray and wine, which we learned was complimentary and delivered to our room every evening. We were also given a bagfull of complimentary snacks for our room. The room was beautiful and well appointed and the beds were very comfortable. The mini fridge came with complimentary water, sparkling cider and sparkling water or sodas that they refilled as requested. Each morning a beautiful complimentary breakfast (choice of quiches, pastries, bagels, toast, juices, coffee, etc) was also delivered to our room. The location of the hotel is one block from Ocean Avenue right in the heart of the Carmel and everything was an easy walk from our hotel. Luis was also very helpful and accommodating and the entire staff could not have been kinder and more helpful. They were very conscious of taking all the necessary security measures due to Covid, which we really appreciated. The food deliveries to our room were in lieu of the happy hour reception in the lobby that they have in the evenings during normal times, but we loved enjoying everything in the comfort of our beautiful room. Rooms were cleaned if we requested and any towels and extras were promptly delivered to our room whenever we needed something. All the great service and extras that they provided made it a very special stay and we will be back again very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We did not have a balcony, but next visit we will request a balcony so we can sit and enjoy our...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michelle Pisciotta, General Manager at Carriage House Inn
Responded 12 Dec 2020
Dear AKGiblin, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. Please know that our staff is incredibly flattered by your comments. Just knowing that the little things we do have such a positive effect on those we serve, serves us in return with continued inspiration to go the extra mile in everything we do, for all of our valued guests. It will be wonderful to welcome you back when the time is right, and until then, we wish you and your family a warm holiday season, with good health and prosperity in the new year to come. Cheers! Michelle
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
christineyork wrote a review Sept 2020
San Bruno, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Carmel has really done a bang up job at making visitors & locals feel safe & healthy in the area. Masks required everywhere, sanitizer & limits to people going in shops, signs up everywhere, outdoor dining accommodations almost everywhere with appropriate distance, and this hotel stay at The Carriage House inn was just as wonderful! We've stayed many times over the years, and this place did not dissapoint in still providing luxury accommodations & service, safely, and actually more conveniently given the times. Still able to to the daily personal wine & cheese, anniversary treats, breakfast included still amazing, and snacks/water, etc. All at your convenience as per usual. Easy to walk to everything (Shops, restaurants, etc.) from the space, and Room #1 suite with two person jacuzzi tub is always our favorite spot and does not dissapoint. Worth every $$$
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susie G wrote a review Feb 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I originally booked a different hotel for our stay in Carmel. We weren't very pleased with it (room wasn't as nice as pictures made it look and noisy neighbors) so on a whim, I did a search of nearby hotels. I knew the Carriage House was a really nice hotel so when I saw the incredible deal we could get by booking last minute, we jumped on it. We booked the Premium King Suite for the price of a regular room. The suite was amazing. We're not fancy people so having a living room, bedroom, 2 fireplaces and a jetted tub for 2 in our hotel room was basically the coolest thing ever. Lol Everything was included in the price of the room- the drinks in the fridge (bottled water, sparkling water, sparkling cider), afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres, continental breakfast. Snacks are also complimentary but due to Covid, they're keeping them in the lobby. All you have to do is tell them what snacks you want and they'll either bring it to your room or you can stop by the lobby. Even though the room faced the street, it was really quiet which is exactly what we were looking for with this trip. The hotel is just a block and a half from the main street so walking to restaurants was easy. The employees at the hotel were all very nice. We'll definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
happytwanderer wrote a review Oct 2020
Novato, California164 contributions129 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay here. The staff was excellent and observant of all Covid recommendations. They give you a wonderful free breakfast which they bring to your room at a time you set up with them. It runs until 10 AM. We had wonderful yogurt with fresh berries, the delicious quiche, toast and orange juice, You can get coffee, tea, etc. It is all high quality food. They also have a wine and cheese snack in the afternoon which you can pick up In the lobby. The rooms are beautiful, large, and ours had a gas fireplace which made it very cozy for foggy mornings.We loved visiting Carmel and felt very safe. Masks are required and everyone was observant, even on the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
702barbd wrote a review Jun 2021
Harleysville, Pennsylvania11 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was outstanding and far exceeded our expectations. We arrived on a cross country flight (with connections) and were tired but our greeting at the Carriage House Inn was so warm and welcoming we immediately relaxed. Also since it was late and we were tired we thought we should eat but didn't really feel like going out. But they had saved a personal charcuterie board from the earlier wine and cheese reception! It was just lovely complete with red and white wine, a variety of cheeses, fruits, nuts, cookies etc. It was just want we needed. That was completely unexpected but welcome. Our room was beautiful, immaculate, comfortable and quaint with soft music playing when we entered. Just a very romantic and comfortable room. It was extremely quiet and serene. The next morning a breakfast of our selections arrived delivered to our door! It was just delicious. Every interaction we had with staff was positive. The location is great - a short easy walk to the shops, restaurants and beach that makes Carmel so special. Overall I highly recommend the Carriage House Inn. It was just a lovely couple of days before going on to Saratoga for a wedding. Thank you for making it so comfortable and relaxing!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: I couldn't see that there was a bad room to be had. It's tucked away and quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michelle Pisciotta, General Manager at Carriage House Inn
Responded 14 Jun 2021
Dear 702barbd, It's always a pleasure to read reviews like this one! Thank you for noticing and appreciating our wonderful amenities, as well as our sincere effort to provide an exceptional guest experience for travelers. There is a pride of service that is alive at Carriage House Inn, and our entire team sincerely appreciates having had the opportunity to serve you during your recent stay in Carmel. Hope to see you again! Warmly, Michelle
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrée wrote a review Oct 2020
Los Angeles, California56 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We so enjoyed our stay at the Carriage House Inn. The deluxe king suite was large with cozy gas fire place and 2 person jetted tub. The Inn offers complimentary wine and cheese each afternoon and a complimentary breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Jim, who was managing the inn, was so helpful and friendly. There’s free parking and internet. You are walking distance from everything downtown and the beach. The hotel also was very thorough with cleaning and Covid precautions which we really appreciated. The only room for improvement could be perhaps investing in a new mattress. I highly recommend staying here. It was the perfect romantic getaway!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
venturapaul wrote a review Mar 2020
Carmel, California9 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Top notch experience. Best in Carmel. Lives up to AAA four diamond rating. Provides breakfast delivered to room with choice of items such as quiche, granola, pastries, etc. Whirlpool tubs. Rooms and grounds have been recently refurbished. Hotel is within walking distance of most restaurants and shops in Carmel. Innkeepers Jim and Lorrie will take good care of you.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michelle Pisciotta, General Manager at Carriage House Inn
Responded 21 Mar 2020
Dear Venturapaul, We so appreciate receiving such a stellar review as this one! Your feedback is confirmation that we are successfully meeting the standard of hospitality that we set for ourselves and identify with, as a dedicated team here at Carriage House Inn. Thank you also for mentioning Jim and Lori. They are very wonderful, and highly valued among guests and fellow staff, alike. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review. We look very forward to reconnecting when you are ready to plan your next trip to Carmel! Michelle Pisciotta, Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BobE915 wrote a review Jun 2021
Santa Rosa, California13 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our third time staying at the Carriage House Inn. This was a trip for my wife and I to celebrate our 20th anniversary and have some time away from work. Carriage House did some upgrades since our last stay and it is all for the better. The rooms are clean and neat. The staff, all of them, are pleasant and professional and all wearing masks but with bright smiles behind those masks. Our every need was met. The breakfast menu is very delicious as you can tell they deal with high quality vendors in the area. They even have a charcuterie plate for you each day. Anything in the room was already included so you didn't have to worry about grabbing a bottled water and paying $10 for it. They even had snacks at the front desk for you. Keurig coffee maker in room and that was great to wake up to. Proximity of the Carriage House was great. Restaurants abound in Carmel all within easy walking distance. The walk to the beach is unbeatable. We couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable experience. The staff, the buildings were all top notch.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michelle Pisciotta, General Manager at Carriage House Inn
Responded 14 Jun 2021
Dear BobE915, Thank you so much for choosing Carriage House Inn for this milestone celebration, and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay! Such feedback is extremely flattering, and also motivating. It fuels a sense of pride among our entire team, which inspires us to continue going the extra mile for our valued guests. Thank you for noticing and appreciating the upgrades at the property, along with the many amenities you enjoyed. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth stay here at Carriage House! Cheers! Michelle
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda C wrote a review Jun 2020
San Francisco, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Carriage House recently. I understand some policies may need to be modified due to covid restrictions but beware they are no longer serving their famous breakfast which I couldn’t understand because it was always brought to the room. The hotel offered to bring wine and cheese to the room but not breakfast. I could care less about the wine...just wanted a safe breakfast to avoid a restaurant trip. This was not disclosed at making reservation or booking the room. The room itself which is one of their most expensive was musty smelling and beware...full of down...pillows, featherbed, duvet. We had a horrible sleep and left early despite paying for two nights. Sad disappointment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michelle Pisciotta, General Manager at Carriage House Inn
Responded 16 Jun 2020
Dear jenny415387, We are disheartened to learn that your most recent stay with us was a disappointment. Having just opened up two weeks ago, after having been shut down for two months due to Covid-19, our initial concern and responsibility has been to master the practice of maintaining a clean and safe lodging environment for guests, as well as a clean and safe working environment for our staff. As we adjust to this "new normal" and feel confident with the added routine of new stringent food service practices outlined by the Monterey County Health Department, we will most certainly re-introduce our in-room breakfast service. Until then, we will continue to recommend several wonderful breakfast spots in Carmel, where professional food service staff has already mastered the practice of meeting and maintaining such requirements. We do apologize if you were not informed about the current status of our breakfast service before you decided to book your stay. We are doing our best to inform our guests about these Covid-related temporary changes, but these updates were delayed with some of our third party websites, and this might be why you had not been made aware. Nevertheless, if you would like to give us another chance sometime in the future (when our breakfast service is up and running again), please call me directly and I will do my best to make sure your next stay is above satisfactory. With regard to the feather-bed, down pillows and comforter in your room, I can only respond that these are amenities that we are very proud to offer. They are of the highest quality and maintained to be kept as such. With that said, we are always happy to replace these items with down-alternative versions, upon request. If you had stayed with us in the past and this had been an issue, we would have most readily replaced yours. Our goal is to provide our guests with a wonderful and exceptionally memorable experience when coming to Carmel. If we had known that you were unhappy during your stay, it would have been of great concern to us, and we would have taken action to correct the problem. Again, we do hope that you will give us another chance sometime in the future. Until then, we wish you and your loved ones very well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shelbeau wrote a review Sept 2020
Carmichael, California12 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
King size bed and hot, fresh croissants. Top notch experience. Best in Carmel. Lives up to AAA four diamond rating. Provides breakfast delivered to room with choice of items such as quiche, granola, pastries, etc. Whirlpool tubs. Rooms and grounds are beautifully designed. Hotel is within walking distance of almost all of the restaurants and shops in Carmel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michelle Pisciotta, General Manager at Carriage House Inn
Responded 14 Sept 2020
Dear Shelbeau, So thrilled to read this beautiful review! The experience you describe is what we strive to produce for all of our guests, and to receive such feedback is not just extremely affirming, it's also very much appreciated. On behalf of the entire staff here at Carriage House Inn, please accept our sincerest gratitude for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from GLM
San Francisco, California1,021 contribution402 helpful votes
When we were there they provided a basket of breakfast goodies in your fridge. Not bad, but never as good as a full sit down. Now that things have gotten better, call them and see if things are opening up.
Dizzy_gal_linds asked a question Oct 2017
Slough, United Kingdom762 contributions8 helpful votes
How far is it to walk to the beach?
Answer from jeanbean0919
Westhampton, New York26 contributions17 helpful votes
A pleasant 10-15 min down hill walk to the beach, the reverse on the return.....beautiful beach!
Kip A wrote a tip Feb 2024
Pleasanton, California162 contributions109 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is not designed for people with mobility issues - lots of stairs and the hotel itself curves steeply down the back. "
Read full review
Margaret B wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you visit the quaint little grocery store downtown if it’s still there, they have a great selection of wine and cheeses"
Read full review
Kristin M wrote a tip Jul 2023
San Francisco, California31 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The trash trucks in the morning can be loud, just FYI"
Read full review
Michael J wrote a tip May 2023
Manhattan Beach, California278 contributions188 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The deluxe room with the vaulted ceiling was more spacious."
Read full review
alcoka wrote a tip Apr 2023
Milwaukee, Wisconsin96 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a second floor room so you get the cathedral ceiling. No elevators though. Did not have continental breakfast delivered to room. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Carmel area.
PRICE RANGE
£337 - £509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
carriage house hotel carmel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyCarmel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CARRIAGE HOUSE INN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Carriage House Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Carriage House Inn?
Nearby attractions include Ocean Avenue (0.1 miles), The Cheese Shop (0.07 miles), and A.W. Shucks Cocktail & Oyster Bar (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Carriage House Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Carriage House Inn?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a fireplace, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Carriage House Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Carriage House Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carriage House Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flying Fish Grill, Treehouse Cafe, and Dametra Cafe.
Is Carriage House Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Carmel.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Carriage House Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Carriage House Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tor House (1.0 miles), Cannery Row (4.5 miles), and Doc Rickett's Pacific Biological Laboratories (4.6 miles).
All Carmel HotelsCarmel Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CarmelHotels near Carriage House Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire