Carmel River Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Carmel River Inn

26600 Oliver Rd Highway 1 At Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93923-9219
Traveller (434)
Panorama at the Carmel River Inn
360
Panoramas (11)
view of the river from Inn Room
Room & Suite (279)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
£200
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 28 hotels in Carmel
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Located at the entrance of the stunning Big Sur coast, Carmel River Inn sits amid a pastoral river setting, providing guests with a basecamp to the adventurous areas around them and the opportunity to truly enjoy the natural surroundings of the Monterey Peninsula. Carmel River Inn offers guests two different experiences, our inn rooms suitable for a good night's sleep or a cozy cottage to unwind and relax, tucked into 10 acres of gardens, forests and meadows. If you have any questions about our facilities or services please contact us and we would love to tell you more! Front Desk is open 24 hours. Pet fee is $20 per pet, per day. Physical Address: 26600 Oliver Road Carmel, California, 93923 Most accurate address to use for GPS directions: Highway 1 at Carmel River Bridge Carmel, California 93923
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Hiking
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Picnic area
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
24-hour front desk
Room features
Private balcony
Iron
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

26600 Oliver Rd Highway 1 At Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93923-9219
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 70 out of 100
70
Monterey Peninsula Airport
1,376Review18Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 762
  • 370
  • 120
  • 78
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ms. Bishop wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at The Carmel River Inn on multiple occasions and have always found the experience to be refreshing. The staff is extremely friendly and accomodating. I never feel pressured to get out of the room immediately on my last day. Plus, they allow dogs and aren't over the top with about it. Many places charge a hefty fee for dogs, but not at The Carmel River Inn; they only charge $30. I have only stayed in the cottages. Some of the cottages have patios and some have kitchens, with full-sized refrigerators ad a stove, so there is a lot to choose from. The best way to make sure you end up in the cottage that is right for you is to call ahead to make the reservation. The grounds are beautifully manicured with flowers blooming throughout the year. I like how the cottages are spread out, so you don't feel like you are crowded. If you are thinking about visiting Carmel, consider staying at The Carmel lRiver Inn; you can;t go wrong.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: There are rooms at the Inn but I prefer cottages.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 12 Jun 2020
Thank you for the great review! Look forward to your next stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jswiens wrote a review Aug 2021
San Jose, CA43 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was born and raised in the Santa Cruz mountains, and my husband in San Jose, so we have been to Monterey and Carmel too many times to count, especially with our wine clubs in Carmel Valley. And I am sorry to say that we just found this gem of a place. My husband and I and our Frenchie stayed in one of the cottages. The cottages are super cute and spotlessly clean and the grounds are beautiful for walking your pup (or yourself!). The bed was also very comfortable. They even give you a combo dog bowl/water dish, a dog toy, and a towel for cleaning your pup. We found their prices very reasonable and liked the fact that we could have our "own place" versus being in a hotel. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Camp Carmel Valley The Camp Valley, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 4 Aug 2021
Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
itsWindy wrote a review Jul 2020
San Francisco, California1,484 contribution97 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I needed a break after 3 months in a small apartment in the city, and have been wanting a safe place to swim. Carmel River Inn fit the bill with a lovely (unheated) pool near a gorgeous if chilly Pacific beach.

I splurged on a cottage to avoid proximity to other guests. The cottages are spacious and well maintained, with kitchenettes, fast internet, newly remodeled bathrooms, and a remote-controlled has fireplace. It was just what I needed.

During the current health crisis, only one family at a time is allowed in the pool. I appreciated how spotlessly clean everything was.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 6 Jul 2020
Thank you!!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric B wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Likely would not stay here again. I understand that the COVID shutdowns have made life difficult for many businesses, however I do not forgive lack of communication with guests due to COVID. WiFi password was written on a tiny piece of paper handed to me on check in, instead of being listed on the laminated guide sheet inside the hotel. I ended up having to call twice for the password since it logs you out everyday. Coffee maker was broken, and began overheating for several minutes before I finally unplugged it due to concern that it may cause a fire. They did replace it promptly. However, the most annoying lack of communication was regarding pool access. With all beaches in Carmel and Monterrey closed, you would think that the staff would add into the laminated in room guides that pool access is by appointment only and that only guests from the same room or family can enjoy the pool at one time. That was not disclosed, and with record high temperatures, no air conditioning in the rooms, and no beach access my girlfriend and I were unable to refresh in the pool, not knowing that we would have had to make an appointment the day we arrived to get access on Sunday. Overall, our stay was mediocre at best, and communication was terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We apologize that your stay with us did not meet your standards. The laminate sheet is for covid information pertaining to our property. We are unable to place the wifi code on the laminate sheet due to it changes monthly. We apologize in regards to the coffee maker issue, and are glad we were able to correct the issue promptly. We will discuss with our staff the communication of the pool use that you did not receive and apologize that the information was not relayed to you. We hope that you will give us another try in the future and provide you with the stay you should have received when you first arrived. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
949erikab3434 wrote a review Aug 2020
Los Angeles, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The ADA accessible cottage is pretty well done. Minor issues, like the bed is a high transfer for my husband, and there could have been a little more space between the side of the bed and the entrance for a wheelchair. But on the plus side, there is disabled parking clearly marked right next to the cottage, and the bathroom is open and the roll-in shower has a lip so there isn't water all over the place. On our list of places to stay at again the next time we head up north.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 6 Aug 2020
Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
593vivianl wrote a review Oct 2021
Galt, United States8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this inn because it is located less than 2 miles from Carmel Beach, where dogs (under voice command) can run and play off leash. We chose the Carmel River Inn because it was reputed to be the most dog-friendly lodging in a city that promotes itself as being dog friendly.

The inn exceeded our expectations with a doggie welcome package that included biscuits and a dog bag. We were provided with rags that could be used to wipe the dog down after running at the beach, an extra sheet to place on the floor or over the bed for the dog to lay on, and a bowl of water outside the front office that was regularly refreshed.

The amenities for people were great, too--a nearby stream, private balcony, walking paths, and tall shrubs surrounding the property which muffled sounds from Hwy 1. Great place, highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 18 Oct 2021
Thank you for your feedback! See you next time!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Discover785233 wrote a review Oct 2021
Ashland, Oregon1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed one night here while on a trip down Highway 1, and though the place looks pretty much like an old-style motel from the outside, the rooms have been nicely remodeled, and my ground-floor room had a pleasant, private patio outside the sliding glass doors, with a lawn and the Carmel River bed beyond. Check-in was quick, and the stay was perfect. One thing to note: this is an older building, and the walls are thin. So bring earplugs if you’re not a sound sleeper. But I’ll definitely be staying here again the next time I pass through.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 18 Oct 2021
Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChairWell wrote a review Oct 2021
San Francisco61 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed two nights with my sister and we loved the convenience, nature setting, cleaniliness, hospitality, and riverside location (even if river is now dry). Whle the Crossroads mall area may not be as charming as Carmel center, we loved the Crossroads Barbeque and enjoyed hanging out with locals in cozy chairs at Coffee Bank. This hotel is tucked right off Highway 1 at Crossroads, so all Monterey Region sites are easy to access and parking is provided. I liked the rooms on bottom floor so I could scurry down to the riverbed. Good value.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 2 Nov 2021
Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Artlady20 wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This motel came highly recommended and to say we were disappointed is an understatement. Tired, tired, tired. The coffee maker did not work. The refrigerator door was held together with duct tape. But the determining factor in our checking out after one night was finding dark hairs in the bed. Many, many dark hairs.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 6 Mar 2020
Thank you for recent stay with us! We apologize that there were issues that had made your stay with us uncomfortable. I can assure you that we do not utilize duct tape to keep our refrigerator doors closed. There is a plastic film on the them to protect them from scratches, fingerprints, etc. It may be possible that it was peeling off. In regards to the hairs on your bed, we have brought this to the attention of our housekeeping staff so that it can be reviewed. We have an excellent housekeeping staff on property that take their work seriously, and will not let this be repeated. We hope that you will give us another try in the very near future, thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dbeller wrote a review Aug 2020
Cambridge, Massachusetts1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is a terrific value considering its proximity to fancy Carmel. Downtown Carmel is a longish walk or a reasonable jog away, and very close by car. The location right off of US 1 is also very convenient for visiting Big Sur. I stayed in one of the studio cottages with kitchenette, which was perfect for COVID-times in terms of having my own separate space, including a little patio area with outdoor furniture. A room fan was provided and much appreciated. My only small complaint was the room was hot when I arrived because the windows were closed, making it a bit of a greenhouse during the day. A few hours with the windows open fixed that, thanks to the lovely coastal weather. Wifi in the cottage was plenty good enough for video streaming. I have happily recommended this hotel to my friends.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erika G asked a question Mar 2022
Do you guys accept cash?
Answer from Michael A
Carmel, California
Thank you for your inquiry! Regrettably we do not accept cash at our property. We hope this does not hinder you from staying with us, thank you!
becca678 asked a question Jan 2021
El Cerrito, California6 contributions
Is the pool heated year-round?
Answer from Michael A
Carmel, California
Hello, thank you for reaching out to us! Our pool is seasonal and is closed during the winter months. Thank you for your inquiry!
Answer from Michael A
Carmel, California
Thank you for reaching out! Yes our pool is currently available for guest use. We allow one family/room to utilize the pool at a time. If there are others waiting we ask that you limit your time to about 30 to 45 minutes. If there are no others waiting you can use the pool as long as you would like. Thank you for your inquiry!
kevincc4 asked a question Jul 2020
Pleasanton, California20 contributions1 helpful vote
Do the cottages have outdoor fire pits or a bbq?
Answer from ygwhitty
Rohnert Park, California113 contributions108 helpful votes
No they don't
Answer from InnkeeperSLH
San Luis Obispo, California4 contributions
We do not have AC in the cottages. bawerner7 is correct being close to the ocean it is rarely necessary. On warm days the temp. drops quite a bit at night. The cottages have windows that open to create great ventilation.
Susan P wrote a tip 16 May
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The cabins tend to be on the small side (as most cabins are) - but are very clean "
Read full review
Bart C wrote a tip 9 May
Foster City, California472 contributions176 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take a top floor room to avoid neighbor noise, or go for a cabin instead of the motel."
Read full review
Mark C wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just to reiterate that this place is a GEM!!"
Read full review
Hillary P wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Glamping cabin floors will be cold if it's cold out, but the room is very comfortable and unique. "
Read full review
SF Margo wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel rooms, not the cabins, are very handicap accessible."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Carmel area.
PRICE RANGE
£149 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
carmel river hotel carmel, carmel river inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyCarmel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CARMEL RIVER INN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Carmel River Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Carmel River Inn?
Nearby attractions include Crossroads Shopping Village (0.2 miles), Stephan Cori (0.2 miles), and Spencer's Stationery (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Carmel River Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Is parking available at Carmel River Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carmel River Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rio Grill, Sea Harvest Fish Market & Restaurants, and R G Burgers.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Carmel River Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Carmel River Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Carmel River Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Carmel River Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tor House (1.2 miles), Point Sur Light Station (2.8 miles), and Cooper-Molera Adobe (4.3 miles).
Is Carmel River Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Carmel HotelsCarmel Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CarmelHotels near Carmel River Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire