Carmel Inn & Suites
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Carmel Inn & Suites

Traveller (95)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#28 of 29 hotels in Carmel
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Two story Inn with modern guest amenities in rooms and suites; situated in the business district, near shops and restaurants.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

NE 5th Ave. Junipero St., Carmel, CA 93921
259Reviews1Q+A39Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 76
  • 61
  • 33
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jonathan G wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Make sure you book through a website, because I was left disappointed by phoning up directly. Their own website had error 404 when trying to use it, and it is still broken as of today. I asked for a one of the larger King bed suites for two nights at the rate advertised on their own website, which appeared to be a better for deal going to them directly. However the staff failed to inform me that the rate went up significantly for the next day. When I arrived at the hotel/motel I found that i had been given a smaller standard room for the higher rate, so I was not happy. The Staff told me the code they had used was for a standard room, not what I had asked for, and they were sorry for the mistake. They would not move me on request to the room that I wanted. - At 2 a.m. there was what sounded like an earth quake, but in fact it was people moving into the room above us. It seems that the floors are worse than paper thin and actually amplify the noise. We heard every step and conversation they had, including every passionate encounter, which would have been funny If we had not been so tired. The pool was closed and looked old and in need of repair, with the gate ripped off at an odd angle. There were aircon units in the walkways left there as obvious work being done.
On the positive side, the bed was comfy, and the decor was okay. We TV worked so we turned it up to let the guys above us know we could hear them.
Room 1 (our room) had a broken sink plug and no draft excluder under the entrance door. The 1 inch gap between the door and the floor let quite a bit of cold air in, so we had to crank the heating up.
Breakfast was left outside our door on the first day, - pots of cereal, bananas and a cinnamon roll. - passable (no breakfast the second day)
The location was good. Not too far from the center of Carmel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the second floor, and ask for the total amount for the stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear S2768ECjonathang, Thank you for your detailed response. Firstly, we apologize for the website issue. We are currently working to fix it. We are also sorry for the confusion that arose over room bookings. We will ensure that this does not happen again. Again. we apologize for the issue with the noise. Wish you'd told this to us earlier which, in turn, would have enabled us to shift you to a more peaceful room. Please know that we are always there to assist you with your needs. We are currently at work with regard to pool and aircon units. We are sorry for all our shortcomings. We hope that you will give us a second chance to restore your faith in us! Best Regards, Ray, Customer Care Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel A wrote a review May 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I feel bad about giving a small business a bad review, so I'm giving it a four instead of a three. The truth is that these folks could easily do a better job, with very little money and not much time. Lights didn't work, the plug in the bath didn't seal (so we had to run the tap the entire time our daughter was in the tub), the carpet was really dirty (if you walked around with bare feet, your feet got black), the paint was dirty or worn off in lots of places, the blanket on the trundle bed had a hole in it, the cabinet under the sink had no door, an outlet cover was broken off. Just a lot of little things that made it feel kind of crappy. I realize you could make money renting stalls in a stable in Carmel, but making the place nice would make guests feel a lot better.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Be prepared for the room to leave you feeling kind of crappy about your stay.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded 31 May 2023
Dear V5337OMdaniela, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback and for your high review. However, we apologize for the concerns you had with your room, carpets, cleanliness, and these maintenance mishaps and we appreciate your patience. We utilize feedback like yours to improve our guest experience; therefore, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. Thank you for being our guest, and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
goldenislesgal31522 wrote a review Feb 2020
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I never want to leave a bad review but Carmel Inn and Suites is definitely in need of a facelift. Maybe we got the only un-remodeled room but having stayed several times in Carmel we were so disappointed in the accommodations at this site. The baseboards were badly scuffed and dirty. Closet light did not work and had hole in the ceiling where another light fixture may have been. Bed linens were so thin you could see thru them and pillows felt like solid blocks of foam rubber. Only seating in the room - two white wicker chairs circa 1970. Housekeeping left a ‘fresh’ shower mat that was so frayed and ragged it should only be used as a dog washing towel! Bathroom window looked directly out into parking lot with 1/2 curtain on the upper non-frosted glass; the lower window was frosted but had no window cover. Ceiling in shower had holes in sheetrock.
None of these comments are directed at housekeeping and our room was always serviced before lunch. But management needs to step up and refurbish this property.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Hi goldenislesgal31522, We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us. We are extremely sorry if the room assigned to you was not up to the mark. Wish you'd told this to us earlier which, in turn, would have enabled us to shift you to a more peaceful room. Please know that we are always there to assist you with your needs. We have noted all your feedback and we will definitely discuss your review with the management in order to go ahead with the required repairs and updates. We are sorry for all our shortcomings. But we request you to give us a second chance tor restore your faith in our hospitality and hotel! Best Regards, Ray, Customer Care Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ben W wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This small motel offers rooms with Victorian style furnishings located in an ideal spot in walking distance to everything in downtown Carmel. Bruno's market is just down the street and numerous restaurants nearby. We stayed in a deluxe king suite with daybed. It was great with a trundle pullout bed under the day bed which makes it ideal for a family of four. The unexpected highlight was the complimentary breakfast basket that is delivered to your door in the morning full of a nice selection of pastries, cereal, yogurt, and fruit. My kids talked about it for the rest of our week plus trip in California.

We stayed for two nights at the Carmel Inn and Suites, and we plan to stay here again on our next visit to Carmel. The friendly staff was able to accommodate a date change which really made our stay possible. I did not get an email confirming the date change (likely just due to their reservation system) but was assured my new dates were in the system each time I called to make sure. All worked out great! Thank you to the great staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded 15 Aug 2021
Hi HonestReviewsByBen, Thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with our services and amenities of Carmel Inn & Suites. We are so glad to hear from you and to learn that we were able to give you a pleasant, comfortable and convenient experience while staying at our hotel. We are very happy to learn that your stay was so comfortable, and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sean P wrote a review Feb 2020
Los Angeles, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I called to make a reservation at this hotel for the PGA Pro/Am event since I was not able to make a reservation online after putting all my payment info on their system. The front desk person said there must have been a system issue. I was told a room was available if I provided my credit card info again. I did so and asked that I receive email confirmation of my booking. This is an extremely busy week and I wanted to make sure everything was in order. I waited on the phone for about 5 mins with the front desk person on the line but the email confirmation never came. She said it might take about 10 mins so we hung up.

I never received any confirmation of my reservation!

After attempting to call the property and getting no answer, I then checked my credit card statement to see if there was any hold placed for the reservation. Nothing.

Therefore, I booked another hotel, received confirmation within minutes and was on my way.

Last night I received a voicemail from the hotel at 10 pm. I called them back first thing in the morning to let them know I never received confirmation of my reservation and stayed somewhere else. The front desk person was very abrupt in saying that it is too bad for me and my card had been charged. She said she would contact accounting and they might get back to me next week. I called back again and she was very dismissive about any possible solution.

I am very disappointed in how this went down. After reading through the other reviews I’m not that surprised. There are plenty of other nice properties in the area that are neat, clean, updated and professional. This is not one of them.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Hello Sean, We appreciate you voicing your concerns. We are extremely fazed to learn that you had to face such a disappointment. However, this was clearly a system issue as mentioned earlier. Still, the trouble that you went through cannot be justified in any way. We will definitely look into this matter and try to come up with a possible solution. We also apologize that our staff failed to help you in this regard. Meanwhile, we request you to cooperate with us and send us your contact details to allow us to keep in touch with you even better offline! Best Regards, Ray, Customer Care Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meggysmum wrote a review May 2022
Oxford, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived and eventually managed to park, be aware that the spaces in the carpark are compact, very tough to park a standard SUV. Greeted warmly but then found our booking wasn’t “on the system” although she could see it on booking.com. We were two couples, she said she had no rooms, offered one king room in another hotel across the road but that wouldn’t sleep 4! Then suggested we went to a hotel in Monterey and she would try and get them to match the price we had paid, if I wanted to stay in Monterey I would have booked Monterey . At this point she still had two rooms available as people hadn’t yet checked in but we couldn’t have those as those people were “ on the system”. As international travellers we were really stuck as it was a holiday weekend. She really couldn’t care less, she wouldn’t call her manager and made some comment about him eating and she’d call later whilst we just sat around without accommodation. So ungracious and showed no empathy for our situation. We found alternative accommodation ourselves down the street as she wasn’t offering anything that would be suitable for us. To be honest the reception area looked a bit twee and dated so maybe us having to find somewhere else to stay wasn’t a bad thing.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded 4 Jun 2022
Dear Meggysmum, We are sorry to hear of the inconvenience you had while traveling. No traveler should experience the same. Your reservation was for the 30th but you arrived on the 29th. We offered to let you stay at the hotel across us which was also our property but you declined the offer. We were fully booked and can't cancel a booked room to accommodate your request, we apologize for this. Your reservation was refunded in full because we were unable to accommodate your request. We hope that you take note of your arrival dates in the future so this won't happen again. Best of luck on your future travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heidi H wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was adorable and quaint with old Carmel charm. The staff went above and beyond to help us out so I would give them above 5/5 stars if I could!!!! It was a great location to walk anywhere and the breakfast was delivered in a cute little basket. Worth it for the price!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Hi Hdhtrip, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! Thank you so much for your compliments on our staff, breakfast, lcoation and we were able to meet your expectations of quality service in our hotel. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your review, and we can't wait to serve you again. Thank you very much!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
3kids2kauai wrote a review Jul 2023
San Luis Obispo, California
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The good: location, easy walk to Ocean Ave and downtown Carmel, free parking, bathroom was clean.
The OK: breakfast in a cute basket, prepackaged pastry, cereal, milk and juice (one morning I did get a banana), DirectTV but the remote didn't work even after getting new batteries, the view of a wall with some natural light coming in, the bathroom was recently updated (however the fan light was out).
The needs some attention: the decor (very 80's floral), the floral fabric headboard had a tear in it, the bed had been built up on 2x4's that were unfinished, there was a sewage smell, not all the time but several times during my 3 nights. No floor length mirror. The carpet needs updating. The comforter was just gross, I folded it and put it on the floor. I kind of feel like I am being overly critical, but I was here for 3 nights and more and more things just kept popping up. Like the roof work! Yes, I understand when you need a new roof, but how about a heads up...hey we are starting the new roof tomorrow around 8am and you will hear pounding and yelling. That was fun to wake up to. Also, pool was empty and blocked off (not that it was warm enough to swim anyway). All of the outlets in the room were behind furniture, so bring a long cord to charge your phone.
In my opinion the Carmel Inn & Suites is ok for one night. It is a tired hotel that needs attention and updates.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Dear 3kids2kauai, Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay. It's great to hear that our location was convenient, liked the parking and the bathroom was clean, however, I do regret that you experienced several shortcomings during your stay especially with the TV, carpets, pool, and with the condition of your room. I have communicated these issues with the appropriate department heads to ensure they are remedied quickly. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to be able to exceed your expectations in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tarryl J wrote a review Jun 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My hotel room was clean and cozy. I enjoyed the continental breakfast delivered to my door in a picnic basket (nice touch). I arrived early to grab lunch and check out the shops in downtown Carmel. The manager was nice and let me park in the lot before check-in. It is one of the more affordable places to stay in Carmel, and it's still within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded 10 Jun 2022
Dear tarrylj2021, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! Thank you so much for your compliments on our staff, breakfast and we were able to meet your expectations of cleanliness and service in our hotel. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your review, and we can't wait to serve you again. Thank you very much!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin G wrote a review Jun 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights June 2023 with 2 adults and 2 teenage kids. 1 bedroom suite was perfect, had a daybed with a rollout mattress underneath in the living room, and a king size bed in the bedroom. Continental breakfast was left in a cooler outside the door each morning. Nice furnishings, perfect location to stroll around Carmel from and never need the car. No problem parking in the hotel lot. Price was reasonable, especially for Carmel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Carmel Inn & Suites
Responded 15 Jun 2022
Hi martingW8191CS, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! Thank you so much for your compliments on our staff, breakfast and we were able to meet your expectations of cleanliness and service in our hotel. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your review, and we can't wait to serve you again. Thank you very much!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
704Sheena asked a question Jun 2014
Kiotari2 contributions2 helpful votes
Howcan they claim that breakfast is "included"?
Answer from Bruce F
San Jose, California6 contributions
As of 2022 the breakfast included cereal, milk, yogurt, danish roll, orange juice, an apple and a banana each morning for two to eat in your room. Coffee maker for your wake-up.
Bill P wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Terrible, terrible, terrible. Never again! An old, run down place were numerous things dont work right. "
Read full review
Robert K wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No changes. All was good "
Read full review
Ted G wrote a tip Oct 2023
50 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bruno'sDeli is the go to to save on picnic suplies and geeat snacks. Carmel Park Square across the street is picnic friendly- but it's the beaches!"
Read full review
sarah4nil wrote a tip Oct 2023
Raleigh, NC92 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bruno’s has decent coffee; get to Point Lobos before 9:30 to park and get in free using State Parks Pass checked out from your home library"
Read full review
Daniel A wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be prepared for the room to leave you feeling kind of crappy about your stay."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Carmel area.
PRICE RANGE
£120 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
carmel hotel carmel, carmel inn and suites
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyCarmel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CARMEL INN & SUITES - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Carmel Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Carmel Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Ocean Avenue (0.2 miles), The Cheese Shop (0.2 miles), and A.W. Shucks Cocktail & Oyster Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Carmel Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Carmel Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Carmel Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carmel Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flying Fish Grill, Treehouse Cafe, and Dametra Cafe.
Is Carmel Inn & Suites located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Carmel.
Are there any historical sites close to Carmel Inn & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tor House (1.3 miles), Cannery Row (4.2 miles), and Doc Rickett's Pacific Biological Laboratories (4.3 miles).
All Carmel HotelsCarmel Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CarmelHotels near Carmel Inn & Suites
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire