We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tradewinds Carmel

Show Prices
#12 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tradewinds Carmel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 431: English reviews
Carmel, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked in today. Service was outstanding! Teresa checked us in, giving us our choice of available rooms and price matching the best available price. She provided excellent restaurant recommendations, together with relevant discounts due to our stay at this property. John showed us the various available rooms and took care of our luggage. Both personnel were extremely service-oriented, working to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliedesjardins2016
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very proud of our staff and are pleased to read about the level of helpfulness and attentiveness both Theresa and John provided. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel reception was friendly, the room was of a reasonable size, the location was good but I found this hotel to be quite confusing. We were in the middle of Carmel on the Californian coast yet the hotel should have been in Thailand/ Bali etc. that was its theme and decor both inside and out. Inside the decor was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deeceepee
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding the decor at Tradewinds Carmel. We are delighted to hear that you found the staff friendly and liked the size of your room. I am happy to answer your question regarding the Asian theme. Tradewinds Carmel is locally owned. The original owner returned to Carmel after living in Japan for 7 years. He...

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I went to Carmel for a wine tasting getaway and stayed in the Poet Suite at Tradewinds. This place was so wonderful! The room was huge with 1.5 baths and a separate bedroom from the living room. The fireplace in the bedroom was very cozy and romantic. The staff were so nice and we loved the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele33657
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting Tradewinds Carmel for your wine-tasting getaway. There is a generous selection of tasting rooms in Carmel, all of which showcase excellent wines from our region. Best of all, they are all within walking distance. Did you use our wine passport? Sweetie and our staff look forward to your return!

Fresno, California
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My recent stay at Tradewinds Carmel was for a sisters' bday weekend. The weather was beautiful, but the hotel was what made the trip. The only negative was staying for one night and not two! We stayed in a double queen partial ocean view room. everything about the rooms and the hotel setting was above my expectations. Can't wait to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rdemera
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

We are so happy that you selected Tradewinds for your special birthday celebration for your sister. The fact that we exceeded your expectations is wonderful news. We hope you will make this an annual event.

Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Tradewinds. The room is small but well decorated, asian style, and very comfortable. The location is perfect. The meditation garden is really enchanting. The breakfast time ( 8-10 am) was a bit restrictive, and we also had to check out exactly on time or penalties would have applied.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celine N
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our tranquil meditation garden area. We are so sorry that we were unable to extend our 12:00 noon check-out time on the day you were leaving. Whenever possible we do try to accommodate our guests’ requests, but with check-in at 3:00 pm we are not always able to do that. We appreciate your...

Livermore, California
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

The rooms exude a very relaxed feeling. We stayed on the upper floor. We had a raised white exposed wood ceiling, a calming water feature in the room, a small hidden fridge and bar sink, a tub and separate shower. It was great. We were able to walk to all the shops and restaurants. The staff is attentive, friendly, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, staff, and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back at sometime in the future.

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

My husband, son and i were on our way to San Francisco and booked an overnight stop here. What a perfect little place and town. Quiet, tranquil and relaxing feel. Upon checking in, I recieved a flower and when we walked into our room, there was a sweet little note for us with 3 chocolate covered strawberries waiting. How did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tradewinds Carmel while on the way to San Francisco! We certainly hope Carmel will be a destination of choice for your family in the future. The chocolate covered strawberries will be awaiting your return.

Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The Tradewinds has much zen too it. Our room was very nice, very clean, with nice decorations. The staff were all very helpful. It was in a nice location near town and not far from the beach. I would stay there again if I am in he area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ww1
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

We truly hope you have the opportunity to return to Carmel at sometime in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our several days here. Our first introduction to Carmel. Off beat 60's style hotel. Fantastic helpful staff. Just a short stroll from downtown and the beach. We loved the convenience but most of all sleeping with the windows open we had the most restful sleep! They have a very nice breakfast Buffett that's included with the stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

We’re so pleased that you chose Tradewinds for your introduction to Carmel. We hope that this will be the first of many future visits. We send out a monthly newsletter that includes interesting information about upcoming events and fun activities. If you’re interested, you can sign up for it on our webpage under “Stay Connected”.

Reviewed 3 October 2016

This was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. A little black rock on a cheap white towel does not equal a luxury hotel. Hot, stuffy and a lot like a cheap 1950's motel. BAD, Bad, Bad, BAD, BAD, Bad, Bad, Bad, Bad Avoid at all costs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review

I’m so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Tradewinds. There doesn’t seem to be anything specific that I can address. I wish you had let us know your disappointment while you were staying with us. Perhaps we could have done something to improve your stay.

403 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (224)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (57)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Serenity Suite (83)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
755 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
1,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#18 of 25 in Carmel
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Price Range: £167 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tradewinds Carmel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Tradewinds Carmel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms with two beds are larger but the king room had a view of the ocean and a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles juliedesjardins2016, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We loved the Poet Suite!”
 of 5 bubbles Michele33657, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I have heard the suites are amazing. Our room was upstairs, corner room and very peaceful. The entire property is peaceful and serene.”
 of 5 bubbles rdemera, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don´t think spending money on the sea view is worth it at all!!”
 of 5 bubbles devicentem, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The upper floor rooms can see the bay. Nice”
 of 5 bubbles marklK9432DD, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay