We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 346: English reviews
san dego, United States
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is the most pleasant hotel in the area. The staff are always nice and helpful. They go above and beyond for you. The rooms are remodeled and look up to date and always clean. I would recommend anyone to stay at the Bestwestern South Bay Inn .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
BW_SouthBayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. The staff gives their best to each of our guests, and we love to see when the guests feel right at home with us.. Please come back and visit us again.

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall the motel was clean and easily accessed. Parking can be a bit tight but not too bad. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Easy access to trolley, highway and other modes of transport. Fairly quiet at night too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silly1s
Rainier, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice little hotel for the money. Staff was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was a bit lackluster, but was on time. It would be nice if boiled eggs were hot. Nice variety of choices. Room was very clean, and tidy. That's not always easy in a humid environment. Would definitely do again if in area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ORFranP86
BW_SouthBayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5 star review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come and visit us again next time you are in the area.

Washington, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff here were friendly and efficient. The rooms are clean and exterior is freshly painted. WiFi is fast but you will need to login again frequently. And I had to unplug the TV to get an outlet for charger. Second floor rooms are quieter, although you may need to close the bath window.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulaP9671QH
BW_SouthBayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and we hope you stay with us again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was good for price. Only stayed a few days. Beds were comfortable. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was very good with a variety of food. Disappointed that the fitness center was never open due to boxes of, I believe, lighting materials being stored in it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patti S
BW_SouthBayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, responded to this review

I do apologize for the fitness room being closed. We are currently doing several upgrades including upgrading all of our bathroom and vanity lights. We were also installing new rubber flooring in the fitness room. I do hope you will come back and visit us again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ants in the first and second rooms, broken soap dispenser in the third, some unknown quick bugs in the 4th plus a very annoying intermittent noise all night long and very hot. The staff didn't seem very concerned and did not offer anything to make our stay better. Don't stay there!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer O
BW_SouthBayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, responded to this review

I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. I have gone over my pass down logs and I don't see where we moved a guest this many times. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience, and I will have our pest control look into the quick bugs.

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

We had originally booked 2 nights here but our flights changed meaning we only stayed the 1 night. Service at the check in wasn't too friendly and very brief about where breakfast was located. The room we got was on the ground floor and initially we thought it was lovely and quiet until next door checked in and we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miinyii
BW_SouthBayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our rooms are a good size and comfortable. We are getting ready to remodel our bathrooms, to include replacing the tubs. I do hope you will visit us again.

Mansfield, Texas
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Room was clean and front desk folks were helpful. Trolley is directly next to the hotel, so you don't have to drive everywhere, if you don't want to. Good breakfast restaurant next door. Definitely a good place to stay in SD.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank etchief
BW_SouthBayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, come back and visit us again.

Tijuana, Mexico
Reviewed 1 November 2016

PROS Comfortable, no issues with noise. Breakfast was good and service was great, they were on top of things. CONS The Person at the front desk was not very Customer Friendly, maybe he was tired. Tub had a slight ring and we felt a bit uncomfortable showering, other than that the room looked very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilu2016-123
BW_SouthBayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry for the front desks unfriendliness. That is not acceptable for any reason, and I will be speaking with him. I will also speak with housekeeping. Our housekeepers are pretty good about their cleaning. However, if you were uncomfortable with it, then it wasn't done correctly. I do hope you will come back and visit us again.

United States
Reviewed 25 October 2016

On the plus side it is next door to a great breakfast restaurant "Aunt Emma's" and the train station (convenient). Not located in a super great neighborhood, but ok. Received stained towels throughout my stay. The lock to my room was hard to work. I had to key in multiple times before the door would unlock. Reported to front desk,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas W
BW_SouthBayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, responded to this review

Hi Douglas, I am so sorry to hear about your visit. I am not sure what happened with your stay, but I will be checking my log books to find out what housekeeper serviced your room. Again, I apologize .

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
0.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#10 of 20 in Chula Vista
224 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Address: 710 E St, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2004
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Price Range: £47 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Bay Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chula Vista
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“find another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles chriswal33, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Backside rooms are ultra quiet”
 of 5 bubbles kevinwH2093GX, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Second floor rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 54Nancy54, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Request a room in the main building although it is not too close to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles MyViews_11, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closest to front desk or dining rooms, might be cleaner. Not really sure.”
 of 5 bubbles L3924SNbillb, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay