Steeple Bay Holiday Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Steeple Bay Holiday Park

Canney Road, Steeple, Southminster CM0 7RS England
Sunset Over Steeple Bay
Traveller (442)
Room & Suite (41)
Pool & Beach (35)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 1 campsite in Steeple
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Relax and unwind at Steeple Bay Holiday Park. Set in a waterfront location with stunning views, it’s great for those looking to distance themselves from the stresses of daily life. On top of great surroundings there’s plenty of entertainment on offer, from daily kids clubs to evening bingo. Enjoy a refreshing dip in the outdoor pool or delicious food and drink in the modern clubhouse.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Public wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Self-serve laundry
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Fishing
Room features
Microwave
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

Canney Road, Steeple, Southminster CM0 7RS England
Getting there
Southend Municipal Airport
Stansted Airport
26.2 mi
See all flights
819Reviews27Q+A89Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 301
  • 137
  • 99
  • 60
  • 222
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Leighhpx123 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited steeple bay and stayed in the gold plus accommodation which was fantastic and clean, the entertainment crew were good Carl was amazing and we really enjoyed ourselves and the shows and entertainment that was put on.The bar is stunning and the staff are really lovely and helpful although on our first night it did take us a full 40 minutes to get served and we didn’t enjoy our breakfast much, all over food we loved and our service was amazing the rest of the week. The pool was lush as it was a heated outdoor pool and the views were stunning all around the park definitely a hidden gem. I would defiantly pack food and essentials as although the shop does the essentials it is very small and has the minimums you would need and your nearest supermarket is roughly a 20 minute drive. I would also definitely recommend a trip to local maldon as the restaurants their were really nice and it offers a splash park for the little ones. Overall we really enjoyed our experience entertainment was a 5 star and I would definitely recommend a game of bingo as we managed to win ;) my boyfriend also loved our time away and he isn’t a big fan of caravan parks but he loved to accomadation and the relaxation the park has to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ailish Chester-Grimmit, Other at Steeple Bay Holiday Park
Responded 5 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review here on TripAdvisor! I'm so glad to see you enjoyed yourself here at Steeple Bay. We love seeing that your first experience with us was one to remember! I'm so glad that you were able to truly sit back and relax during your stay, and I hope that you and your boyfriend can visit us again for another short get away!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S Lovell wrote a review Aug 2020
United Kingdom86 contributions57 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Went for my mums birthday, there was 5 adults in silver plus caravan, the caravan was very clean, comfortable beds, everything in there you needed. Club house was good very busy and noisy but it was over a weekend, plenty of encouragement to keep 2 metres a part, food was very nice in there and they do takeaway. Didn’t use pool but it looked nice, definitely will return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ailish Chester-Grimmit, Other at Steeple Bay Holiday Park
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the lovely comments and i will make sure these are passed onto all departments involved. Once again,thank you for taking the time to write a review, I look forward to seeing you here again with us soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel S wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 4 nights using the park as a base to visit places nearby like Maldon, Chelmsford, Colchester zoo and Clacton on sea air show. If you haven’t got a car then this probably isn’t the park for you. The caravan was clean and tidy. We spent only one full day in the park and used the swimming pool which was great and the fishing lake. This park is located on an estuary so for the people wanting a beach it’s not, but the walks are lovely and surrounding area very pretty. We thought all the staff were very friendly so really don’t understand the bad comments? The nearest well stocked shop is about 5 minute drive down the road at Londis (garage) and we used the Chinese (Rickshaw) very nice takeaway.
Overall we had a great time, I think people need to do their research before booking and look at the location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ailish Chester-Grimmit, Other at Steeple Bay Holiday Park
Responded 5 Sept 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review here on TripAdvisor. I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your time here with us at Steeple Bay! I'm pleased to see your accommodation was in tip top condition and that you could make full use of our facilities on park! I do hope that you can visit us again soon for another well earned break!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie R wrote a review May 2021
Walsall, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just arrived back from a 3 night sun holiday, didn’t upgrade so was just expecting a basic bronze standard, how wrong I was, arrived to have been given a 3 bed (was only 3 of us), 12ft, central heating, tv/dvd, 4 year old caravan with what looked like brand new utilities and equipment, spotless and even free Wi-fi. I cancelled the entertainment passes and linen as just using as a base and wanted to save some money so we bring our own. Arrived to be given passes anyway and beds made up on arrival, couldn’t fault the caravan at all it was absolutely beautiful. Arrived on the Friday and ordered a meal through the app and collected it as we didn’t want to eat outside and it was delicious and reasonably priced, gammon steak & chips £12.95 and double cheeseburger, coleslaw and chips £8.70, on the Saturday reception called to see if everything was ok which was nice, we went to Maldon, 20 minutes drive away, expecting to go to the market but unfortunately there isn’t one there on a Saturday anymore so had a walk round and found the hythe quay and promenade which was a beautiful place to visit especially with kids, stopped at McDonald’s before heading back, on the Sunday we went to adventure island at Southend on sea, 45 mins drive for the day, buy your ticket online as it’s only £20 instead of £25 and paid for a carer ticket which was £12.50, these had to be collected from customer services, good variety of rides for all ages, social distancing on the rides but not in the queues and you didn’t need to wear face masks, hand sanitizer stations all over the park though, when we finished adventure island we went on the train along the longest pier in the world, 1.33 miles long, we paid £5.60 which was for 2 concessions return, we parked at the royals shopping centre which was £5.80 for upto 6 hours and only across the road. Overall our weekend was enjoyable and would come again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FiJJ1990 wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed last week, myself, my husband and two children (age 13 &9).
Check in was easy and quick. The caravan we were staying in was a gold plus (we opted for the non animal friendly as we do not have pets ourselves), the caravan was in immaculate condition, full size fridge freezer, 32in TV with DVD player, nice hot power shower and central heating which was lovely., enough cutlery, utensils etc. My husband asked for extra pillows which were brought to the caravan almost immediately.
On the first day, 2 lovely ladies knocked on the caravan with a box of goodies for the kids, they got to pick some treats as indoor facilities are not open due to Covid.
The kids went swimming on one of the days in the outdoor poor, pool was a bit cold but to be expected when outside is so cold, the life guard was amazing with the kids, keeping them entertained with a tennis ball hahha.
Evening entertainment was what you'd expect, felt for the entertainers being outside in their t-shirts as is was freezing of a night time, they did a grand job. I would suggest the park could invest in gazebos and outside heaters if financially possible as I think people would stay longer if they were warm. Nice little kids play park, my son was in their every day. The entertainment man had to call off the Segway activity that we paid for due to the heavy rain which was understandable, he rescheduled for the next day rather than cancel completely which was nice.
We hired the peddle carts which the kids loved. Shop was well stocked for essentials and not overpriced. Park in general was very clean.
Polite and helpful staff all round.
My husband decided to take a drive over to the fishing lake and due to heavy rain, got himself stuck in the mud, the staff got the tractor out and saved him haha.
It is in the middle of nowhere which is beautiful, although I would suggest driving and taking food if you do not plan to eat at the clubhouse as we could only find takeaways approximately half hour or more away.
We used this as a base to explore Colchester zoo (which was fab) and Clacton-on-Sea (which was also fab).
We all had a lovely holiday, thanks Steeple Bay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ailish Chester-Grimmit, Other at Steeple Bay Holiday Park
Responded 19 Apr 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write us review here on TripAdvisor, I'm glad to see you had a wonderful time here with us at Steeple Bay. Your kind words will be passed onto the housekeeping team and lifeguards, and I'm very pleased to see you enjoyed your evenings with the entertainment team! Our maintenance team will also be sure to receive the recognition they deserve for helping you in your time of need! Thank you once again for your lovely review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Summer Holidays wrote a review Aug 2020
10 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Disappointed to say the least.
Room cleanness 5/10 found a pair of socks in bathroom of previous residence.staind here and there through out caravan.
Completely shock of pool arrangement which was was made apparent the night before via email to say 30 min slots and on the 10th of our arrival which was hottest day ever they close pool at 12.it was madness overall as the pool area was the most policed covid area yet probably the least risks.

Then you go into main area were you have a bunch of kids running the place with no idea of customer service or hygiene.i mean come on tables uncleaned didnt see anyone wiping or disinfecting anything in club House bar area yet you have restrictions by pool. Seriously the amount of dirt around the arcade area was and should not be allowed filthy it was disgusting, and at a time of covid this place should be shut down.
The toilets were probably only cleaned once a day to,there was no management or employee there to remind the guest of the pandemic we all face.
I don't even know who management was by the looks of it,may of been a 12 Yr old kid. I could go on for ever but waisted enough of my time.
Place could of been so good.
Health and safety outside did not exist especially in the play area picth dark no lights un even surface its a joke yet the idiots restric the only things people wanted to do swim in pool. I hope this place gets shut down as the make a mockery of the people who work hard to follow guidance rules.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ailish Chester-Grimmit, Other at Steeple Bay Holiday Park
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking your time to write a review here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all of our guests comments and feedback. We try to ensure all of our guests have a enjoyable time whilst staying here with us and apologize that you did not enjoy your holiday. Once again thank you for taking your time to write a review here on TripAdvisor, we take the comfort and safety of our guests most seriously, and hope you can once again return to Park Holidays so we can deliver our usual high standards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny G wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have our own caravan here, although not for very long. My family spent the half term holiday here, my two grandsons aged 1 and 5 had the best holiday. The children’s entertainers and pool staff worked very hard, although very busy during half term, everything was kept very safe for the children, you do have to book the pool by 9.00, as the numbers are restricted due to Social distancing rules. The pool was always kept clean and there is always a friendly welcome from the life guards. They had intended to go out for days, but the on-site entertainments was so good, they didn’t need to. There is even a small beach along the river, which has lots of activity at high tide, with boats and jet skies. The children’s outdoor playground is well maintained, and being by the clubhouse, you can sit and enjoy a drink or a meal outside while the children play.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ailish Chester-Grimmit, Other at Steeple Bay Holiday Park
Responded 5 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review here on TripAdvisor! I'm so glad to see you are enjoying yourself here at Steeple Bay. I'm very pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves, our entertainment and activities team are working non stop to ensure everyone can enjoy their time on site! Feel free to join us again very soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fruitybeetle wrote a review Aug 2021
Rochester, United Kingdom124 contributions109 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent two nights in a privately (Airbnb) rented static caravan. Two kids aged 10 and 14.

Judged the length of stay well as I wouldn’t want to spend any longer here. The main decent attraction is the swimming pool which is nicely heated, but costs £3.95 per person regardless of how long you’re staying or intend to use it.

In terms of location, it’s quite good if you like running and there are some Strava segments which are easy to get onto the top ten leaderboard for! :) other than that, it’s barren which is either great or depressing depending on what you’re looking for.

First encounter with staff in the reception was bad. Two young rude girls. One ignored me completely and the other just refused to crack a smile at all. There is also a shop there but it is abysmally stocked.

The toilets in the main centre are clean but also not stocked with soap or toilet roll. Smiling and keeping facilities stocked is basic customer service; not difficult to get right but damaging when it hasn’t been.

Won’t be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ailish Chester-Grimmit, Other at Steeple Bay Holiday Park
Responded 5 Sept 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review here on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry that your stay was not as you had expected, we endeavor to improve and your feedback will is very valuable to us! I do hope that you can visit us again soon where we can deliver our usual high standards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
happy wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
ive been an owner here for just over a year now , and myself and the family love it . its everything we need to unwind and relax . Our children are 9 and 11 and are able to have so much freedom when we are here , they ride their bikes , swim , crab and have made so many friends they cant wait to come back 1st march . it hasnt got loads of facilities but that suits us . With lots of facilities come lots and lots of people making it a busy park with lots of people we dont know and would also put the site fees up . As it stands we feel safe in the knowledge of knowing we are in a safe and secure environment ,When my elderley parents visit they enjpy the peace and the coastal walks . they love playing the bingo in the bar and we are often in there of an evening for the family entertainment . Its not always to our taste but we cant all like the same , We like it so much we are upgrading already .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lintie R wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What a shocking site. We went half board for 4 nights we arrived on Monday got thrown a welcome pack and shown a map of where our caravan was and no further info. The caravan itself was actually OK except for the shower which on had scalding hot water so kids had to have strip wash all week as water was ro hot for them. Mentioned ro reception staff and nothing was done about it.
Play area was fine but surrounding area was dirty cups and glasses and broken glass all over the place. Pool was OK but you can book 30min slot a day and ifs not booked at 9am you can't get a slot all day.
Club house was also really dirty with rubbish over the floor. Bins overflowing not just in the clubhouse but all over the park. Toilets in rhe clubhouse were filthy 3 out of the 4 were blocked I mentioned to reception manager and she said she would sort it..... she didn't. So only 1 toilet in use and it wasn't cleaned all rhe time we were there. We are in a pandemic I would of thought they would be cleaned regularly.
Service in clubhouse was poor we waited on average an hour every evening for food and when it arrived it was of poor quality and normally not what we ordered so had to be sent back. Drink service was table service only and again waiting half hour to have order taken then another half hour for drinks to arrive. Our kids meal was meant to come with a drink and they didn't have any left so said we would have to buy an alternative drink instead as there was no alternative not even a blackcurrant squash. Bar staff were moody, almost felt like an effort for them to do anything. In the mornings at breakfast they made sure that all staff had ordered and received breakfast before any guests. And some staff hungover walking round saying 'they are not in to mood for it today' in front of holiday guests.
Entertainment... was very average. entertainers were quiet moody my kids kept going up and saying hello and they would just ignore them and had no time to interact with anyone.
Reception staff were also unhelpful. Spoke to them on a number of occasions and they don't seem to be able to deal with any criticism.
Overall very disappointed with the resort and won't be book here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ailish Chester-Grimmit, Other at Steeple Bay Holiday Park
Responded 9 Jun 2021
Thank you for writing a review here on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Due to the peak season that you stayed with us, waiting times are to be expected, and our team are doing everything we can to ensure we follow government guidelines. Thank you once again for your feedback, i hope that you can visit Park Holidays UK again n the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Steeple area.
PRICE RANGE
£86 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
steeple bay holiday park hotel maldon
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexSouthminsterSteeple
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

STEEPLE BAY HOLIDAY PARK - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Steeple Bay Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Steeple Bay Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Maldon Escape Rooms (4.7 miles), Combined Military Services Museum (4.6 miles), and Promenade Park (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Steeple Bay Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Steeple Bay Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Steeple Bay Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mrs Salisbury's of Maldon, Queen Victoria, and Cafe Brazil.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Steeple Bay Holiday Park?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Steeple Bay Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Peter's Chapel (6.2 miles).
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire