We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel del Coronado

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel del Coronado
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,951 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel del Coronado
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,670: English reviews
Lake Arrowhead, California
Reviewed 12 October 2014

We stayed here for our Anniversary. Beautiful Romantic Historical Hotel. We rented a pedal car and cruised the beach. Great room service breakfast we highly recommend The Del. Great place to relax and enjoy the pool or beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunshine4menow
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review

Dear sunshine4menow, Happy anniversary, and thank you for choosing Hotel del Coronado to celebrate your special occasion! The Del has a long history of romance and now you’re a part of it. We're glad the two of you enjoyed the fabulous food, beach, and old-world atmosphere of our historic resort. Hopefully it will become an anniversary tradition.

Reviewed 12 October 2014

We have stayed here multiple times and loved it but this time we stayed at Beach Village (the supposed upscale cottages) because we had a large group coming in town for a party. They misrepresented the description of the room (it's just a larger hotel room). They claimed it had a kitchen and living area and it didn't. They also...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Drhmk
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review

Please let me first thank you. As difficult as it is to read about our guests less than exceptional experiences the feedback is priceless. It is concerning that your room type was not effectively communicated to you. We take many opportunities throughout the reservation process to clarify our room types; whether it be online with our room maps and tours...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 11 October 2014

We are not used to fancy hotels such as The Del, but my significant other won a trip with his company and we were given a few nights stay on this piece of paradise. The hotel itself is a beautiful landmark. Again we were given the rooms for free and the food was all complimentary for the week. But I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rkdunkin
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are please you had a lovely vacation and enjoyed The Del’s beautiful location; however, we regret that your expectations were not exceeded. Only the daily breakfast at Sheerwater and our famous Sunday Brunch are served buffet style and our Concierge can arrange for transportation to/from the...

Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewed 10 October 2014

Love the location. Love the beach and s'mores on the beach. However, strongly dislike Unite Here Local 30, the hotel union that has been on the bullhorn yelling for the past several days. Please Hotel Del, get rid of these disruptive and disrespectful "service" workers.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tcw423
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review

Dear tcw423, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We sincerely apologize for the disruption you encountered; unfortunately the rally was out of our control. We are pleased, however, that you did enjoy s’mores on the beach while taking in the beautiful scenery. We appreciate your response and hope a return to the Del is in your...

Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 October 2014

My recent stay at the Hotel Del Coronado was great, and I'd like to recognize Rosie, the person who checked me in, for outstanding customer service. Thanks Rosie for helping to make my stay memorable!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ronald M M
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review

Dear Ronald M M, Thank you for your recent stay at The Del, and for letting us know what a fantastic job Rosie did. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to her. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay, and hope you return again soon..

Tucson, AZ
Reviewed 9 October 2014

After driving for several hours we decided on the Del. Called and they said plenty of rooms were available. Checked in at 8pm, tried to get the best price available. Room total was 340.53 for self parking, taxes and 28.00 Resort Charge. Plus another 93.00 for room service. Our room was nice, recently remodeled but VERY small. My husband had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Blackites
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. We are pleased you chose the Del but regret that you were not pleased with your accommodations. Part of the charm of the historic Victorian Building is that no two rooms are alike. However, we apologize that your room was smaller than desired and hope you will reconsider a return...

Southern California
Reviewed 9 October 2014

A classic hotel on one of the most pristine beaches you will find anywhere! This was our second visit to the hotel after a 5 year gap. We stayed in an ocean view room in the tower. Previously we stayed in a room in the classic old section. The tower does not have the character and ambience of the old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChiefPark
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review

Dear ChiefPark, Thank you for your return visit to Hotel del Coronado and we appreciate your kind words. As you mentioned, rooms in the Ocean Tower are a bit more contemporary than those in our original hotel, with many offering spectacular sunset views every single night. It's great to hear that you enjoyed so much of what our resort has...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We booking stays at The Del's Beach Village for a number of years but our last visit to Beach Village was terrible. We were there to celebrate our 27th Wedding Anniversay. The trip started out well enough but quickly turned into the worst hotel experience we've ever had. The first night of our stay we had an extremly large and...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank Juanita W
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review

Like you, we are extremely disappointed by your recent experience. It simply does not exemplify the Beach Village you have grown to love. With all certainly, our leadership team deeply cares and since receiving your letter, we have attempted to reach you by telephone (voice messages left with contact information and intent). Our hope was to to speak to you...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 7 October 2014

The Del is a lovely old historic hotel that we have stayed at several times. In the past, our rooms varied in quality depending on which area of the hotel we stayed in. There are plenty of activities and action at this hotel. There are lots of events (weddings/conferences/meetings), and people everywhere all over the spacious hotel and grounds. The...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Laurie B
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience with Trip Advisor's online community. We regret any miscommunication between your travel club and Beach Village's view descriptions during the reservation process. We can certainly appreciate how important views are when you travel. When we learned of your view concerns, we worked with your travel club to find another full...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2014

It was a beautiful drive over the bridge from San Diego to Coronado Island, we were going to be staying in a beautiful hotel on the beach…. boy were we wrong! This was the last stop on our three week holiday in CA and it was a big let down, definitely not the way we wanted to end our holiday....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank nicole m
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and while we are pleased that you enjoyed the view and delicious dining, we regret that your experience fell short of the high standards you expect at The Del and we aim to deliver. We do provide dining options on property for each meal and recommend numerous restaurants on the island as...

3,954 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2781)
Viewed
View from Room (162)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (797)
Viewed
Bathroom (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (327)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (248)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1058)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (1133)
Viewed
Amenities (134)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Blue Dolphin Suite (96)
Viewed
Boardwalk Adult Only Pool (21)
Viewed
Full Ocean View Resort Room (38)
Viewed
Main Pool (24)
Viewed
Resort Room Non-Ocean View (40)
Viewed
Dining (78)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Villa Loft Suite (95)
Viewed
Junior Cottage with Full Ocean View (69)
Viewed
Cottage Suite with Full Ocean View (78)
Viewed
Cottage Resort Room with Full Ocean View (90)
Viewed
Villa Suite with Full Ocean View (144)
Viewed
Sapphire Pool (12)
Viewed
Indigo Spa (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
258 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,111 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Price Range: £307 - £635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel del Coronado staff and other travellers.
46 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (46)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel del Coronado staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ocean views, need I say more.”
grand33, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We liked the high floors in the Ocean Towers. Partial ocean view was great!”
Seafairy, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the tower. Better yet avoid this hotel.”
_swg1111, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“When making reservations, tell them you will not stay in the ocean tower”
maryp620, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not sure they have any renovated rooms”
Vinehall70, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5