We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Welk Resort San Diego

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Welk Resort San Diego
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Welk Resort San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,400: English reviews
Grandview, Washington
Reviewed 8 May 2015

Spent a week here with my husband and 3 y old daughter. The villas are nice and so is the pool area. The only complaint I have is that we couldn't get cell phone service in our villa (Mountain Villas) and the wi-fi wasn't great. It isn't such a bad thing to be unplugged when on vacation, however.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanna F
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Joanna, It is great to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The are occasions where the Wi-Fi and cell service can be a little challenging. I am glad you had a great vacation. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to see you again if you return to the area.

Fremont, California
Reviewed 6 May 2015

This is a nicely maintained resort property, but it's quite a way from any other services. Located along side Highway 15 between Esondido and Temecula. About 40 miles north of San Diego. It is adjacent to the freeway (about 1/4 mile), but I heard very little noise from it other than the occational excessively noisy motorcycle and the like. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chuck D
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Chuck D, Thank you for your detailed review. It will help our future guests get an idea of what to expect when they visit Welk Resort San Diego. I am glad you enjoyed your exchange stay with us. We would love to have you return to stay with us again if you return to the area.

White Mountains of New Hampshire
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Kitchen great, bath great, living area and balcony great. But...wifi totally awful and the business centers always busy. The beds are not comfortable. The sofa bed was just springs. We had to get 5 down quilts to put on top of it. They need temperpedic sofa beds at the next upgrade. The hot tub wasn't really hot. Lovely grounds and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank VWH
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear LWH, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your villa and our resort grounds. I appreciate you letting us know of some of the things you enjoyed as well as some of the areas where we might improve service. I will share your thoughts with our resort team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to...

Tyler, Texas
Reviewed 30 April 2015

Reservations were made several months in advance. Plane flight was cancelled due to dangerous weather. Resort was informed promptly. Arrived the next day for second reserved night. They would not grant us another night for the one missed(our preference) and did not offer to refund the funds. Even though had "reservations" and requested upstairs room WERE PLACED ON A BASEMENT...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jim A
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Jim A, I am sorry to hear about your travel challenges. I apologize that your stay was less than perfect. I know we do offer travel insurance when you book your reservation. That would be the avenue to use to secure a refund if you are unable to travel due to weather. I checked into your villa location, I understand...

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 29 April 2015

We had a two bedroom condo. Spacious and very comfortable. Bathrooms were great! Lots of counter space, double sinks, separate toilet room. Only drawback is no bath in second bathroom. Bed was just the right level of softness/firmness for me so I got great nights sleep. The balcony had a mountain view facing west so it was good for sunsets...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lieu H
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Lieu H, I apologize for any negative interactions with the staff at our market. I will be sure to pass your thoughts on to our management team. I am glad you enjoyed your villa as well as our resort amenities (and the car chase). We would love to have you return for another getaway with us and see what...

Parma Heights, Ohio
Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

The rooms are beautiful and it was a very pleasant stay. The water pressure in one bath was nearly nonexistent and the furniture in the living room is hard a a rock and difficult to lounge on. Other than that, the rooms were spacious and the views beautiful, the kitchen well appointed. There are a ton of activities probably more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy o
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Wendy o, I am glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. I apologize for any challenges you encountered with your Villa. I am glad you had a chance to enjoy our resort as well as relax. If you return to the area we would love to have you back.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 28 April 2015

We go each year. We rent 3- 2 bedroom Villas ( either Broadway or Harmony) and unpack and set up shop with out 3 sons and their young families. It has it all. If you need something extra or something is not working they send someone quickly. Lots of activities for all ages.Easy free parking. Quiet setting at the edge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joanne g
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear joanne g, Thank you very much for making Welk Resort San Diego your choice for an annual vacation with your family. I appreciate you taking the time to post you review. We look forward to having you and your family back in the near future for another excellent vacation.

Reviewed 27 April 2015

Thieves work here and they will steal from you like they did me. Had our Macbook stolen by the staff. Stay elsewhere or lock your things up in your car. Otherwise the resort is nice the pools where a zoo, and the food on site is awful. Oh yeah you are a ways from anything worth seeing, especially with the...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Jason G
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Jason G, Your comments concern us and we'd like the opportunity to look into this further. I have taken your concerns directly to our management team. Please reach out to me personally at hutch.farrell@welkgroup to discuss this matter in greater detail.

Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

We are owners who visit family in the San Diego area five or six times a year. The Welk Resort never disappoints, and improvements to the property are making it better and better. This is a wonderful place to stay, whether to relax and enjoy the resort, or visit any of the many attractions in the area. The staff try...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cynthia F
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hi Cynthia F, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We always enjoy hearing from our owners. It is wonderful to hear that you had another great stay here at Welk Resort San Diego. We are very happy you had a chance to catch up with Adrienne during your stay. Thank you for being part of...

Weatherford, TX
Reviewed 24 April 2015

We were there at the resort for a week in April 2015. The resort has many amenities and is family structured. We ate several meals in their restaurant and found it to be reasonable and very good. Our trip was to visit the attractions in San Diego and while the resort was a little remote, it met our needs. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ftexas
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hi ftexas, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed some of the various amenities we have at the resort. We also appreciate your comments about the on-site restaurant. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to having you stay with us again if you return to the...

1,123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (665)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (163)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (62)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
Other (242)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (426)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Boulder Springs Club House (49)
Viewed
Mountain Springs Rec Centre (24)
Viewed
Mountain Villa (73)
Viewed
Resort Villa (93)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)
Viewed
Villas On The Green (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
14.6 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#31 of 279 in San Diego
1,828 reviews
16.3 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#8 of 16 in Escondido
87 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Price Range: £122 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Welk Resort San Diego staff and other travellers.
68 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (68)

Questions? Get answers from Welk Resort San Diego staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Decide what you want to be near - pool, golf course, do you want privacy. You can have any of these - just ask!”
 of 5 bubbles locksofcurls, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you have kids ask for a room in Mountain Villas over the pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles LiveToGetaway, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms close and facing the freeway.”
 of 5 bubbles mychef1985, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room in the Resort or Mountain area.”
 of 5 bubbles Buddy-Bear, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Mountain Villa's. They were great.”
 of 5 bubbles 832markc, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5