We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Apple Tree Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Apple Tree Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 42: English reviews
Vidal Junction, California, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

I took several pictures of the bathroom but have decided not to post them, recommend you look at the room before you pay. We had no choice since I booked a few days in advance and the lady said no refund ($134.00) since we were within the 14 day cancellation window. We stayed in room 12, the heater stayed on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boots K
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a good place, near Julian to stay. That's all. Although you can think by the photo of the pool that this is a great place, it is just like a road motel. Internet connection was really poor, we barely were able to connect. Only if you are close to reception you can connect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salvador D
San Diego
Reviewed 10 October 2016

If you arrive expecting anything above a 2 star hotel, then you'll be disappointed. The Apple Tree Inn is owned and operated by a couple, both of whom are very attentive, accommodating, and warm. Have a question? They are more than willing to answer it. They also rescue animals - bonus points in our book! Our room was very clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
Camas, Washington, Usa
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

This is a no frills motel. The room was on the larger side compared to most motel rooms. It was clean and quiet. It's old but what isn't in the Julian area? This is not in Julian proper but another 5-10 minutes further N. The towels were thin and small. Plenty of hungers in closet was well as extra blankets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We had such a relaxing stay. Had a wonderful two nights sleep. Location was perfect. Very clean and friendly. I was very happy with the overall stay. i Would recommend this Inn to my friends that want a relaxing weekend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinathompson1713
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Remembering you are not staying at a 5 star property is the first thing. The property is in a nice location and Charlie was super friendly and very helpful. The room was clean, but dated. I would recommend this property as a budget friendly hotel. The quilts on the beds were a nice touch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve w
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

Everything else in town was booked so we ended up here. The owner gave us a great rate. I was shocked at how clean it was! I wasn't expecting that with such an old place. The decor isn't great but it kinda goes with the feel of the town. Decor has an old Paris feel to it (in room 16)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashley4811
Sedona, AZ
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Extremely overpriced motel not an Inn. Yes, we stayed over the New Year's weekend, but $160 a night was outrageous for the quality. It seemed clean enough, except for the comforter and shams, which I wouldn't want to touch. The bathtub paint was peeling and the tub spout was a capped off pipe. There was a funky wooden box over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank redrocker
jamalie, Guest Relations Manager at Apple Tree Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have recently remodeled our rooms. Our rates fluctuate based on the time of year and occupancy.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 January 2016

We were in one of those situations where we needed a pet friendly hotel right NOW, and unfortunately, chose this dump! We were in unit #2 on a Tuesday night and spent $162. Even at $89, we would have felt overcharged. The pictures will explain a lot. We are not travelers who need a lot of accommodations or fluff, but...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank John D
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

Very clean and comfy. We stay here every time when visiting family. Sure, it's not updated but that's part of the charm. Nice pool area. Lots of little shops and places to eat within walking distance. Also, you avoid the crowds in downtown Julian. It's a great little place to stay. Very quiet and peaceful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie K

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
19.3 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
723 reviews
19.9 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
395 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#11 of 14 in Julian
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Oak Hill Inn
Oak Hill Inn
#6 of 14 in Julian
24 reviews
10.1 mi away
Riviera Oaks Resorts
Riviera Oaks Resorts
#2 of 3 in Ramona
100 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Address: 4360 Highway 78, Julian, CA 92036-9623
Region: United States > California > Julian
Price Range: £77 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Apple Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Hotel Julian
Apple Tree Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apple Tree Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Apple Tree Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not room 12. Unless the bathroom has been remodeled.”
 of 5 bubbles BootsK, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if you want Wifi, choose one close reception”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the highway”
 of 5 bubbles oregondiva, 22 Dec 2014 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay