We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Utopia Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Utopia Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Horror hole. Stayed in some ghettos in my time but this takes the biscuit. Rooms damp and linen used by God only knows how many others. Booked in then promptly went to find somewhere else. No excuse for such shabby offerings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Killie999
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The first thing we noticed at the bar is a distinct smell of damp and vomit. Drinks were fine and cheap. We had to move from our first seats as the cushions were damp and we were getting bitten, plus we saw 2 giant rats running around. The second spot beside the pool seemed nice but we started to smell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I didn't stay here, I only went to the bar as beers were $0.50 usd and at happy hour they were $0.25. I did look at staying here but wasn't a fan of the communal bed idea. One big bed with a bunch of cheap, thin mattresses thrown next to each other. Looked quite dirty as well but for $2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tyler T
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night, the staff was awesome, chilled bar, great dj, cheep beers and comfy room. Definitely the best prices and vibes for any backpackers looking for a fun hostel. The pool and gym are a nice plus!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adina S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Didn't stay in the hostel but the bar does 25c beer during happy hour. Got a pool and 'jacuzzi', big area for a bar. Lots of different seating areas and a decent central bar. Would happily stay here a night if back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

I have never slept there and based on the reviews that is NOT good (really l, bad reviews on FREE rooms?) I can only review it as an (Excellent) drinking hole. The bartenders at Utopia are fantastic. The ambiance is great too and combined, I always have an excellent time. I meet fascinating people and the vibe is great. Come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
rotorua
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Never again!! I guess you get what you pay for but I had a horrible experience! paid $2USD and got a gym mat on the floor. INFESTED with cockroaches! Very small lockers that have cockroaches in them. The gym next me my bed was so drunk he wet himself - lovely right. The pool is kinda cool but does not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank livigonerunning
Hemal M, happiness janitor at Utopia Guest House, responded to this review

It's very unfortunate you had a terrible experience. We have recently employed an amazing cleaner, who is doing a wonderful job with keeping the dorms and wash areas clean. I could add maturity to our policy for our guests...but not sure how effective that would be. I agree with the pool being pretty cool (including slackline), expecting to fire up...

Reviewed 18 August 2016

My girlfriend and I arrived here into the 2 dollar dorm. The lockers were big enough for our 65 litre rucksacks as well as our day bags and the dorm itself is comfy enough, definitely for the price. You can see the place is a work in progress but the staff are obviously dedicated to making it as rad as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KarlAndSassy
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

I wouldn't say it was fair of me to complain about Utopia because in the end, I was staying there for free. If a place near the beach at the lowest price is a priority, this will suit. Yes, it was dirty, yes the mattresses were linoleum mats and yes, the facilities could have done with a face lift but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunfiction
Hemal M, Substitute Receptionist at Utopia Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your honesty! We haven't had free dorms since a few years! Best not take the themed night of Timewarp Tuesday too literary.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

As the trend here is to pen strong-worded replies accusing unhappy guests of being "flashpackers", allow me to say that I wild-camp, crash on sofas, hitch-hike and even had meals consisting on the remainders of other people's plates. I only needed a place to crash to wait for my morning-after boat, and thought that couldn't possibly be that bad. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cristinaram0s
Hemal M, happiness janitor at Utopia Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your feedback is much appreciated...all I can say it's work in progress, but not for the old school hippie backpacker place, but time for something new school!

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
0.0 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#12 of 68 in Sihanoukville
568 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Road Hotel
Beach Road Hotel
#50 of 68 in Sihanoukville
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
Serendipity Beach Resort
#22 of 68 in Sihanoukville
440 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Led Zephyr Backstage Bungalows
The Led Zephyr Backstage Bungalo...
#71 of 219 in Sihanoukville
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mick and Craig's Guesthouse
Mick and Craig's Guesthouse
#29 of 219 in Sihanoukville
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Utopia Sihanoukville is a completely unique hostel bar, designed for backpackers by backpackers. With a bar, food court, swimming pool, great entertainment and accommodation all in the same location - it's your UTOPIA. People from all over the world have helped out and become part of the utopia family, sharing a unique travel experience with many like minded travelers. You'll meet many interesting people and get to know the Khmer way of life. Utopia accommodation doesn't so cater to flash-packers, we have a FREE dorm a $2 Fan dorm and $3 AC+en-suite luxury dorm rooms. Awesome location in the heart of Sihanoukville in the middle of all the action and only 3 minutes walk to the beach. The bar has direct access to the food court with your favorite dishes from around the world. Relax in the sun around the pool by day, drink your favorite cocktails in the evening and put on your party hat by night. The hot tub gets steaming hot every night, come join the party... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Utopia Guest House

Address: Tolastreet, Ochheuteal | Sangkat 4, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Utopia Guest House Hotel Sihanoukville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Utopia Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bath, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Utopia Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do NOT do it!”
 of 5 bubbles livigonerunning, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“byo pad lock for lockers.”
 of 5 bubbles kristiejaynew, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“avoid if you want a quiet evening with an early sleep”
 of 5 bubbles 168marcd, 5 Mar 2016 | Read review
“For so cheap what did you seriously expect?”
 of 5 bubbles dtz247, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Cheap so don't expect a lot.”
 of 5 bubbles 669tatia, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5