We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sportsmen\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

872 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 732: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

the café is excellent...great breakfast...if you need a fridge you must ask for it at booking otherwise the rooms do not have fridge. the pool is excellent nice and clean... front desk is very helpful & friendly..

Helpful?
Thank enappi2016
Nassau Bay, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel has gotten many more renovations each time I stay there. In short someone is putting money into the place. There appear to be more staff than previous. However they may need to train them more on customers service. Example at check out they did not ask how my stay was. Maybe they were afraid because they already knew... More 

Helpful?
Thank bhermann
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I'm a brand hotel kinda girl but wanted to stay at the Sportsmen's Lodge because of the conference that I was attending. I stayed 3 nights. There was a noise issue the 3rd night - but the front desk quickly addressed the issue. Don't stay near the elevators. Cafe was nice as well. Will stay again in the future if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kesha M
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
149 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is very cute. Very clean and the nicest most helpful staff. Lots to do near the hotel, local dining and stores. Book the garden view and not the city view. The city view is the highway. The rooms have balconies. The hotel was remodeled 2 years ago. I feel the parking should be free. Fast internet. Very impressed... More 

Helpful?
Thank S-Badventures
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a kid growing up in the Valley, I always dreamed of staying at the Sportsmen's Lodge. It was where fancy weddings and bar/bat mitzvahs were held at, and it had a dreamlike quality. So as an adult, when needing a hotel for a Universal Studios trip, I chose this spot both based on my past connection and convenience to... More 

Helpful?
Thank sfcurly

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

I love this place. I have stayed here twice and it is classic LA. The beds are comfortable and the style is so mid century. If you like places that are not cookie cutter, this is it. The Sportsmen's Lodge has so much LA style that it is hard to leave. Love it!

Helpful?
Thank bmelancon
Clinton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed for two nights for vacation visiting Universal Studios. Rooms were clean and spacious. Pool are was great and the Patio Cafe serves a wonderful breakfast!! Location is great, Starbucks across street and large food store where you can get anything you may have forgotten. Only bad thing is you can easily here hallway noise and other guests... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
AlexandraMelbardis, Sales Admin at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Jennifier V for your review. We really appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future! More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sportsmens is an adequate place to stay, and particularly nice if you use the pool. While generally clean, overall the facility is worn and dated. We were disappointed that the only room that they would give us based upon our booking through getaroom overlooked rooftop HVAC and other roofscape ugliness, though the front desk clerk pitched the room as having... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim T
AlexandraMelbardis, Sales Admin at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Tim T for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the view of your room. It looks like you booked a cityview king. Unfortunately some of those rooms do have a view of our rooftop. If we are not at full occupancy and the front desk is informed we can typically go ahead and... More 

Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Older hotel that was updated but poorly executed. Rooms hallways and common areas poorly maintained. Rooms noisy and poorly furnished. Noise until 11 pm from wedding. Pool pretty decent. Great location but advise you to look elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank pavel311
AlexandraMelbardis, Sales Admin at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you pavel311 for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are an event hotel, however our event sound is regulated and the music can not go over 85 decibels to ensure the comfort of our guests. More 

USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here several times over the past ten to twelve years. This hotel has gone through a few renovations during that time, and has improved each time. It is not a new hotel but a local fixture and conveniently located with many families visiting. There are stores and restaurants within walking distance but the grounds make the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank dow47
AlexandraMelbardis, Sales Admin at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you dow47 for your awesome review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

366 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Pool View (32)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Studio Suite with Pool View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
The Garland
#13 of 347 in Los Angeles
2,677 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#108 of 347 in Los Angeles
328 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#106 of 347 in Los Angeles
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
South San Fernando Valley
Mikado Hotel
Mikado Hotel
#132 of 347 in Los Angeles
196 reviews
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel

Address: 12825 Ventura Boulevard, Studio City, Los Angeles, CA 91604
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Universal City Area
Price Range: £139 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsmen`s Hotel Los Angeles
Sportsmens Hotel Los Angeles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room on the upper floor in the new building.”
 of 5 bubbles bhermann, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floor as the kiddies are on the ground floor and excited for the pool!”
  • Aren't you supposed to clean bathroom vents?
  • The peeling bathroom tile with mold (I wanted some Tilex!)
 of 5 bubbles sfcurly, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Garden rooms are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles bmelancon, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the side of the party ballroom are loud until late on weekend evenings. Discounted rooms overlook rooftop HVAC systems.”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not face the pool”
 of 5 bubbles pavel311, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay