We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Monterey Bay Travelodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Monterey Bay Travelodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

974 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 820: English reviews
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Between the noise from other guests, a party at the fairgrounds (?), trash trucks, and road construction, this room was horrible! We had a dog and she woke up at every noise all night. The light that comes in from the door (why is there a window?) was disturbing. I cannot recommend and will not stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vincettal2017
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with some feedback on your stay. We are terribly sorry to hear the noise from the fairgrounds and roadwork interrupted your sleep. We understand how frustrating that may be. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel has over 100 rooms, two floors high, with plenty of parking, not necessarily in front of your room. It is in a cluster of many hotels on the strip on the south side just off highway. Yes, it is under an airport flight path, in morning maybe 2 or 3 per hour. Room has ironing board and good size....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TedL1049
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We always look forward to feedback as we work to improve our hotel for you. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Kind regards

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We chose this hotel for a dog friendly holiday weekend getaway. It was disappointing. The dog friendly rooms have only queen beds but cost $20 more per night. This information is not on the website. Our room faced toward the fairgrounds where there was a loud party Saturday night (an event not listed on the fairgrounds calendar) which made sleeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kitty L
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention, and we are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We will work diligently to address all your concerns. We are in the process of renovating our rooms, so we hope you will give us a second chance in the future. Please let us...

Courtenay, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Over the years we've stayed at many hotels and lodges with our dog. In the early years, this was quite a sacrifice as we always knew we'd get a smelly room with soiled carpets and poor amenities. As of 2017, however, a great deal has changed and most hotels welcome pets with open arms and don't punish responsible pet owners....

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary G
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We would like to sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently renovating all of our rooms including putting in hardwood flooring. We hope you will give us a second chance, we think you will enjoy our changes. Thank you again for...

Modesto
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A4945XCrachelw
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is quirky and quite historic but it had everything we needed. We had a balcony that overlooked the pool. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little on the small side and the shower cubicle was a little bit dark as it was enclosed and relied on light from the bathroom coming through a glass...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We truly value the opinion of our guests, as we are always looking to improve our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking into updating our bathrooms, so I will bring your concerns to our next meeting. We hope you will stay with us...

West Covina, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C6320UFmikes
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Foster City, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank edmilsonb2017
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were ok, but next time I will call and book with the actual hotel, not the online booking service. I could have saved some money by calling and having an roll out bed in the room, I also wished they said no pool when I first booked

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 194xl
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We understand the inconvenience of booking through a third party, and would love to help you any way we can, directly. Our seasonal outdoor pool is closed for the season, and we are sorry if this was not relayed to you at the time of booking. Thank you for sharing your concerns with us....

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank erinr286
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#23 of 55 in Monterey
684 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#24 of 55 in Monterey
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#32 of 55 in Monterey
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bask in the sun at our Monterey Bay Travelodge hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our hotel in Monterey, CA is just five minutes from Fisherman's Wharf and Pebble Beach, and only two miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Get an early morning boost with free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Before you head out for the day, enjoy a workout in our fitness center, check your email with free high-speed Internet access or prepare meals using your in-room microwave and refrigerator. After a long day of sightseeing, go for a swim in our heated seasonal outdoor pool from May to November, and doze off on your pillow-top mattress. Our pet-friendly hotel offers express checkout, guest laundry services, 24-hour front desk service and ample parking for oversized vehicles. Balcony rooms and rooms with views of the pool and courtyard are available at our hotel in Monterey, CA. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Immerse yourself in the rich heritage on the Path of History tour, where you can walk through adobe homes. Peek into one of the largest aquarium windows in the world at Monterey Bay Aquarium, and explore the underwater world of penguins, white sharks and sea otters. Browse a unique array of stores, sail through the harbor and go on a whale watching cruise at nearby Fisherman's Wharf. Enjoy fresh seafood with a scenic view at one of the many waterfront restaurants. Spend an afternoon on the greens at Pebble Beach Golf Links, or visit Point Sur Lighthouse, which stands atop a volcanic rock. DINING OPTIONS Sit back and relax with a plate of fresh sushi at Oh! Sushi Japanese Restaurant, located on-site. Enjoy tasty dishes at Chef Lee's Mandarin House, next door to our hotel in Monterey, CA. Take your family for a hearty, homecooked meal at Rosine's Restaurant, just one mile away. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our Monterey, California, hotel offers a business center with fax and copy services. Meeting and banquet space are also available. HOTEL INFORMATION We allow one free parking space per occupied room for special events. Please ask our staff for details on additional parking fees for special events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Travelodge

Address: 2030 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5263
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: £49 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Bay Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Monterey Bay Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge
Travel Lodge Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monterey Bay Travelodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Monterey Bay Travelodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with King size bed is great deal roomier than other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles TrishB790, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Near to the pool looks to be the best bet.”
 of 5 bubbles bear100no, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Just a dingy old Hotel. But for 80 dollars might be OK.”
 of 5 bubbles drewm2014, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The suites were quiet and very roomy.”
 of 5 bubbles 379leahh, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“never again, please avoid like the plague”
 of 5 bubbles MatUKLondon, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay