We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monterey Bay Travelodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Monterey Bay Travelodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,023 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monterey Bay Travelodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 866: English reviews
Fresno, California
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Shower was old, low water pressure, tile did not look clean. Free wifi was so slow it rarely worked.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianasS9929MN
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear you had issues with your shower and wifi. Due to the drought in California, the City of Monterey restricts the amount of water pressure we can provide to our guests. However, we are currently working up updating our showers, so hopefully our...

Concord, California
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Nice clean and older motel. This motel is located right off of the freeway, on the edge of Monterey, south of the town of Seaside. This is not close to the water, but a nice, clean, above average value priced motel. I reserved my room online for the best price, and made sure I verified the cancellation policy of 48...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deb5biker
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we did. We truly value your opinion as we are always working hard to provide you with the best services as possible. We hope you will stay with us again soon. If there is anything we can do for, please do not hesitate...

Reno
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This hotel is very close to a airport with aircraft flying over head. It's very basic but did have a comfy bed. There was no air con which made the room stuffy. The shower cubicle was very very dark. I had to shower with the door open as it was too creepy to shut it. Didn't rate the breakfast. Nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holidaybug2015
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with feedback of your stay. We are truly sorry to hear you were not completely happy with your stay. Believe us when we say this is our goal as your host. We are working on a renovation in the fall that includes opening up our showers, so thank you for sharing your opinion. If there...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 14 September 2015

I did not enjoy my stay at this outdated motel. There was no climate control, so I was miserably hot at night and couldn't sleep well. I would have opened a window, but the main window was a sliding glass door which people would pass in front of regularly. I wasn't about to put my safety at risk by leaving...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hothapa
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We will work harder in the future so that these issues do not happen again. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Let us prove to you how much we truly care about your comfort....

El Centro, California
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 282guadalupeq
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Reviewed 13 September 2015

So let me tell you, this place looks like a prison. the doors...geez the doors look like your about to walk into a jail cell. The room looks clean at least. Lets just say the photo shopped pictures you get online doesnt match the reality of what you get. See that nice bathtub they show you.....you get a shower stall...a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LeeAnn M
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear about your experience with us. We will use this opportunity to work on our customer service. If you would like to further discuss your concerns with us, I will make sure that Erika is available for you. We certainly want you to feel like you are being heard and...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2015

We had almost by passed this one, but decided to look at it because it is a Wyndham property. The property is dated, but.the room and property were very clean. We ended up staying 3 nights. The staff were very accommodating. The breakfast room was quite large and very well supplied with cereals, milk, juice and coffee. There were hard...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul S
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for giving our hotel a chance! It was such a pleasure hosting you and your wife. Nothing is nicer than hearing you were comfortable and happy during your stay with us. Thank you for letting us know how we did. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Monterey. In the meantime, we...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2015

This is our second visit to the Monterey and again this year we stayed at this Travelodge location. Since we came to the area to see the attractions and not spend a lot of time in our room this Travelodge offered a great rate at less than half the price of downtown hotels. The rooms are large, clean and updated....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erniew
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so happy to hear this was your second time staying with us. Nothing is nicer than knowing you enjoyed your stay enough to return. We truly appreciate your loyalty. Please let us know when you stay with us next. I would like to personally make sure your next stay is as pleasant...

Reviewed 11 September 2015

I stayed only for one night. I would not recommend it for following reasons: * As I walked into the room, it was like an oven even with fan going!!! * Refrigerator not working and no one came to look at it even after calling the front desk. * Bath room light not working (finding it at 11pm); showered in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are terribly sorry for your discomfort while staying here. We want nothing more than our guests to be completely comfortable. We are truly sorry we failed to provide that to you. I will use this opportunity to re train my maintenance and front desk staff in efficiently...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
137 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#34 of 55 in Monterey
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#29 of 55 in Monterey
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monterey Bay Travelodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Monterey Bay Travelodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with King size bed is great deal roomier than other rooms.”
TrishB790, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Near to the pool looks to be the best bet.”
bear100no, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Just a dingy old Hotel. But for 80 dollars might be OK.”
drewm2014, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The suites were quiet and very roomy.”
379leahh, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“never again, please avoid like the plague”
MatUKLondon, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5