We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

826 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 650: English reviews
Start your review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
 Click to rate
San Jose, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

For 2/5 stay - I bought my room back in September, 2016 for a Saturday night during the ATT Pebble Beach Pro-Am Golf tournament through Hotwire. It was not a bargain price at all ... but did not expect it to be on this very busy golf weekend. Imagine our surprise when we arrived at the hotel after a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jules T
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Jules, Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by booking through Hotwire. Even under the best of circumstances third party reservation sites often cause problems. If you book with us directly we will always match what is available online. While we were able to honor your reservation in the end, we should never have caused you such...

Distant 'burbs of Chicago
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We got our room for about $70/night, which appears to be about half the price through the tripadvisor partners. Even at that price, it was no bargain: They are short on parking spaces in their two lots, people park all places including No Parking sections. If you need to use the other lot, you may have to drive two blocks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GearheadJim
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear GearHeadJim, I am so sorry about your experience as our guest. This is not the type of impression we want our guests to leave with. Please accept my apologies for all your inconveniences and discomforts during your visit. Obviously there are a few things that need to be addressed with my staff. We will work hard to improve and...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for one night only with my husband and two small children on our Pacific Cost Highway roadtrip. Decent accommodation and generous breakfast. It was clean and comfortable. Perfect for one night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review

We are so happy you, your husband and two children enjoyed your night as our guest. It is always a pleasure to know our guests are happy and comfortable with our accommodations and service. We hope you enjoy the rest of your road trip and all the fun memories you are making. Thank you for allowing us to be a...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great service from the staff. I had minimal requests and all were responded to quickly. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was great for my requirements. Close to dining, shopping and sight-seeing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert E C
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your holiday memories. We are so glad you found our staff so responsive to your needs and requests. We love taking care of our guests and we are delighted it shows. Our location, just moments from Cannery Row, is a great location for anything you want to do...

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We asked for a mobility access room, got her name and phone number in case there were any problems. When we got all the way to Monterey, they said, "No, we did not get the mobility access room request." We told the clerk well we have the person's name, but it did not help. So they quickly got us another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foodcritique2017
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear FoodCritique2017, Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review regarding your experience as our guest. I am sorry for the issues you had with your reservation, room, and at breakfast. I will speak with my team and share your experience and concerns. We want each and every guest to have a perfect stay, every stay. I...

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 14 January 2017

My friends and I just crashed at the hotel for one night and it was just what we needed. Clean, comfortable and kind staff. The room was spacious and the beds were surprisingly comfortable as well. I would highly recommend this hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaz W
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Jaz, We are thrilled you and your friends enjoyed a great night as our guests. Thank you for your compliments on our clean, comfortable rooms and welcoming staff. Your high recommendation is truly appreciated. Thank you for choosing Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea! Kind Regards, Dianna Dean Front Desk Manager 831-372-2908

Reviewed 5 January 2017

I've stayed in quite a few Comfort Inns over the last several years, which has always been a good experience. This is one of their better properties. Clean, no smell, no excessive noise, conveniently located. One of my pet peeves about many motels is that the heater is very noisy and cycles on and off during the night, which wakes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thanks for staying with us! We’re so glad that you were able to sleep peacefully with our heating unit. Thank you for being such a loyal guest of ours. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Monterey! Warm Regards, Dianna Dean Front Desk Manager

Elk Grove, California
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We used this an an overnight stay to visit the Monterey Aquarium the next morning. The room was clean and a basic room. No refrigerator, just as information, not a complaint. The shower was the coldest hot shower I have ever experienced. There was no heater in the bathroom, and the shower door had a one-foot gap between the door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PointePrincessmom
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear PointePrincessMom, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience as our guest. We are delighted you found our room clean and comfortable. Please accept my apologies for your cold shower experience. I will make sure maintenance does a thorough check on your shower and bathroom. We hope you will think of us next time you visit the...

Reviewed 14 December 2016

The room was clean and had all the necessary amenities. The only thing we didn't like about the room was that the bed was too hard so we had a hard time getting comfortable. Other than that, we had a great time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Helen, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your experience as our guest. We are delighted you were able to enjoy a visit with your son, and also enjoy the beauty of Monterey. I'm sorry to hear our beds were a little too hard for your liking. Hopefully, once you were comfortable, you were able to...

Reviewed 5 December 2016

Had a terrible experience at this Comfort Inn. I specifically requested a pet friendly room, and then they had the audacity to charge me $150 for an "undeclared pet" since apparently they did not receive my request and heard barking from the room. They blamed it on the fact that the third party website did not pass on the information,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akaina G
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Akaina, We are so sorry you had a bad experience with us. While we make every attempt to communicate with our guests, occasionally some facts do not get communicated to us. Unfortunately, in the case of pets, this has consequences that often affect current and future guests. We did reduce the charge from the $250 pet fine which you...

363 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (175)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (138)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Non-Smoking Double Queen Room (17)
Viewed
Non-Smoking Family Room (26)
Viewed
Non-Smoking King Room (21)
Viewed
Non-Smoking Queen Room (27)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
892 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#30 of 55 in Monterey
756 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940-6138
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: £63 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#17 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Reno, Nevada
Alexandra-Mooloolaba, Queensland, Australia
San Diego, California
22 days ago
Colchester
8 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are set back from the main street and the property was quiet during my stay.”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try somewhere else for breakfast options and more efficiency when requesting special rooms. Do not trust the reservation phone service.”
 of 5 bubbles foodcritique2017, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Anything on the bottom floor near the lobby”
 of 5 bubbles GregS932, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request lower level if handicapped w/res & reconfirm! We booked 4 mo ago w/request for lower floor but unable to get. There's no elevator!”
 of 5 bubbles 283pamc, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a quiet room, but do not be surprised if you are woken up by two dumpster trucks at 6am and again at 7am on a Friday morning.”
 of 5 bubbles dfw9706, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5