We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sandcastle Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sandcastle Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,076 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,045: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our beautifully appointed room offered a lovely view of the Pismo Beach pier. It was an easy stroll to several delightful restaurants. Falling asleep to the sound of the waves was delightful. We only stayed one night and wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the outdoor lounge/fire pit area and other amenities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krista W
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were there for only one night however the welcome we received was so warm and our room was delightful. I had a great nights sleep with the balcony door open so i could smell the Ocean and hear the waves. Our room had what they called a peek-a-boo view however it was good enough to go down and bring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much Mary for being our guest and for your review of your recent stay with us. My staff and I are very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed everything about your stay at our downtown beachfront inn, especially being able to smell the ocean and hear the waves while being lulled to sleep. We can't wait to see you...

Livingston
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed two nights at this beach front hotel for daughters wedding. Nothing special about this place. Pretty ho hum for the price. Usual abbreviated breakfast. Would seek out better lodging next visit. Something with pizazz for the same money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 683gregorym
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for being our guest. I am terribly sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us at our downtown beachfront inn. We are currently in the beginning stages of a multi million dollar renovation that I know will provide the upscale, luxury accommodations you desire. My staff and I would love to have you give...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been visiting the Sandcastle Inn for over 20 years and we always love staying with you. Over the years the Inn had many facelifts and we are looking forward to seeing the results of your new renovation this year. What really made our last stay this time so memorable was the wonderful attention your Assistant General Manager, Christine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinabrownjobs
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much Tina for being a loyal long time guest. I'm very pleased that you truly enjoyed your most recent stay and that my staff, especially Christine, provided exceptional service. We know you will be happy with our renovation and look forward to hearing your thoughts once we are complete. Thanks again. Kind regards, Roger Wightman General Manager

Birmingham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On our way up the CA 1 to Monterrey we ovenighted at the Sand Castle Inn and had a wonderful stay. We did the sip, sea and stay package that features an Ocenview room and a complimentary bottle of wine. We stayed on the 3rd floor, awesome view and the Ballard Lane Cabernet was wonderful! We arrived late but was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much Brian for being our guest for a quick overnight while making your way up the beautiful California coast. My staff and I are extremely pleased that you truly enjoyed your stay at our downtown beachfront inn. We can't wait to see you again on your return to Pismo Beach, perhaps for a bit longer stay so you...

Visalia, CA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at the Sandcastle Inn numerous times over the years. It's a bit pricey during the peak season, but we usually get good rates for the offseason. It's about time that they do a remodel of the rooms, which they just started when we arrived. Our side room with a view was a bit noisy and I prefer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kdave1967
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for being our guest. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. We have started our multi million dollar renovation that I know you will be extremely pleased with once completed. My staff and I appreciate you as a long time guest and can't wait to see you again. Thanks again. Kind regards, Roger Wightman General...

Benicia, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We upgraded to the ocean side first floor and I would not do the stay there any other way. The view is totally is perfect but do understand that the walking path is like 10 feet away from the back door. The rooms are dated but the manager did say the are soon to go under construction to make improvements...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james k
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much James for being our guest at our downtown beachfront inn. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. It is great to be downtown close isn't it? Yes, we have started our multi million dollar renovation that I know you will truly like. My staff and I can't wait to see you again soon....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was very impressed with Sandcastle. It was so nice to spend the whole day in Pismo and then be able to relax after. You could see the ocean from our window. So to hear the ocean while you sleep was awesome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrains907
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

I'm very happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us at our downtown beachfront inn. Hearing the sounds of the ocean from your room is truly a treat isn't it? We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Roger Wightman General Manager

San Jose, CA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reader - There's a shoe for every foot and there's a hotel for every lodger. This place as it currently is, is not for me. There are clearly lodgers that love this place and I let their reviews convince me to stay here much to my regret. This evaluation comes down to ROI. The investment was $235 for a Tuesday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the_roaming_nerd
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for being our guest and for your review of your resent stay with us. I am truly sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay overall. I am very happy to tell you however that we began our multi million dollar renovation yesterday which I know you will be very pleased with. Once complete...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am writing this review right in this horrible room that I was pushed to be upgraded. Thats right people... $250 a night with no working central air.. I even upgraded with a partial view and grown floor next to the noist kitchen for $20, when I found out others upgraded for $20 with a full view. The biggest complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uplike247
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and for your review of your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. You'll be happy to hear however that we began our 5 month multi million dollar renovation yesterday that will include central a/c for the entire hotel. My staff and I would...

408 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (387)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
View from Room (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,810 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,476 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
761 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Price Range: £112 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandcastle Inn staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Beaumont, California
over a year ago
19 days ago
Henderson, Nevada
7 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Sandcastle Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have a view of the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles 439kristaw, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we were on the 3rd floor with out own private balcony. I loved it.”
 of 5 bubbles T2059MRmaryg, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean View Rooms are the best”
  • Patio with Fireplace
 of 5 bubbles 193BrianD193, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take the ocean side”
 of 5 bubbles jameskC5407OU, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you must stay here, pay extra for an ocean-view room. The parking view is terrible.”
 of 5 bubbles the_roaming_nerd, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay