We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rose Garden Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 327: English reviews
Vallejo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very convenient hotel if you have business in SLO. All rooms are equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. But my brother tells me that this hotel used to be a weekly/monthly kind of a joint, and I can see how that might be true. Linens are worn and the carpet is very tired. But on the plus side,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merry54
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Merry54, Thank you for sharing this review. I am happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay while working in SLO. I agree that our location is convenient for visitors to the city. Thank you for your comments, since we always appreciate feedback that helps us improve the hotel. Please stay with us again on your next trip...

Miami
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel could be much more attractive with some refurbishment and better maintenance. Pros: - Good location to Hwy 101 - Friendly staff Cons: - Rooms urgently require refresh, just too many things run down - electrical outlet unprofessional and almost impossible to connect desk lamp and coffee maker - minimal water flow from bathroom sink tap - corridors dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caribtravelnut
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear caribtravelnut, Thank you for reviewing us and offering this valuable feedback. I am glad you found the location convenient and had the opportunity to interact with our staff. I have noted the concerns you raised and am currently looking into them. We are always looking to improve the experience of our guests, and have improvements planned for the future....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clean rooms Bath tub was old and making squeaky sounds Ample parking No commentary breakfast Cheap hotel room.. Old looking interiors... Bed was good.. Quite rooms in the night... Good TV and furniture

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mandaek
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear mandaek, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is always valuable to hear feedback from guests so that we can continue to improve the hotel's experience. Thank you for your suggestions. I have made a note of them and will bring them up with the staff. I am glad to hear that you found the...

Guatemala City
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were there on December 27th party of four (3 adult 1 kid). Room was ready and clean. Bath was very clean. Safety and quiet neighborhood. Immediate access from highway 101. 5 minutes from SLO downtown. Free parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo H
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ricardo H, Thank you so much for this nice review. It is always a treat to hear from a guest who enjoyed their time at the hotel. We are proud to be a family friendly hotel and our top priority is always the comfort of our guests. I agree that the convenient location makes this a great spot to...

Reviewed 14 November 2016

positives: 1. dog friendly 2. least inexpensive room in SLO for timeframe 3. location is off freeway and close to coffee shop 4. clean room 5. pretty ground with roses 6. tv worked fine 7. able to park close to the room 8. close to restaurant 9. good size room in the king bed room negatives: 1. expensive for what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana A
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Diana A, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this review. We always value guests feedback as it helps us to improve overall experience in the future. San Luis Obispo is only getting more and more popular, but we still pride ourselves on offering some of the most affordable rates in the area. I am glad...

Arcadia, California
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We didn't reserve any hotel when we went San Luis obispo. All the hotel are so expensive and we needed to stay for one night. We came the hotel and staff was nice. Room key cards didn't work so we couldn't go inside hotel from outside. We called front desk and we had to come back front desk, then she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashamta
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear ashamta, I am sorry to hear about your disappointing experience. We always try to help out guests when they encounter issues, but we should have done more to assist you with the room keys, and for that I apologize. I have brought up your other concerns with the maintenance and housekeeping staffs, and we will work to ensure this...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I booked this hotel due to the fact that every other hotel in the area was really expensive and our group would only be there overnight. That scenario really would be the only reason you should decide to stay here. The hotel itself is dated, with the exception of a handful of rooms that are upgraded. Our room was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank denjimenez
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear denjimenez, I am so sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. As you noted, the San Luis Obispo are is only getting more and more popular, and we are proud to offer some of the most reasonable rates in the area. We are in the process or updating the hotel, and have plans to further...

Reviewed 9 October 2016

Clean property and very comfortable beds. Heidi was extremely helpful when ever I needed something like getting me a room with good internet. There was plenty of parking for my truck and trailer. Not sure I wanted to stay there from outside but presently surprised on the inside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman D
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Norman D, Thank you so much for this nice review! It always makes my day to hear from guests who enjoyed their time with us and felt comfortable throughout their stay. I passed along your compliments to Heidi, and she was just thrilled to hear your kind remarks. We pride ourselves on offering comfortable and pleasant accommodations at some...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel should be avoided at all cost! It smells horrific. The toilet didn't work right and the faucet was green. There were brown stains smeared on the side of the bed. The staff just made excuses when we complained. We even paid extra for a room they said was remodeled. Not fit for any living creature!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smitten1995
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear smitten1995, I am so sorry to hear about your experiences during your stay here. Our top priority is that guests are comfortable and content, so hearing that your stay was unpleasant is completely unacceptable. I have brought up your complaints with the staff, and we are working to ensure that this does not happen again. If you would like...

Lake Stevens, Washington
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We won't be returning here. Our room had a really strong odor - it was bad! I went to the front desk and asked if we could change rooms, but they didn't have any other available rooms. They were thoughtful enough to offer me an Ibuprofen for the headache the smell had given me or to come and spray Febreeze...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Terry D, I am very sorry to hear that the room was not up to par. It is our top priority that guests are comfortable throughout their stay here, so this situation is unacceptable. If you would be so kind as to give me a call at the hotel, I would be happy to discuss this further with you....

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (135)
Viewed
127 Two Queens (28)
Viewed
206 Standard King (21)
Viewed
227 Two Queens (22)
Viewed
228 Double Double (17)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
576 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
763 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
260 reviews
3.7 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £61 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rose Garden Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rose Garden Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2 double beds for 4”
 of 5 bubbles rhernandezch, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“select an upstairs room”
 of 5 bubbles P4538FDdianaa, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request the upgraded rooms”
 of 5 bubbles denjimenez, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms in the back are away from the freeway”
 of 5 bubbles drj-family, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had room near swimming pool!”
 of 5 bubbles 707emmz, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay