We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostelling International - Los Angeles\/Santa Monica
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
See the most recent reviews
Showing 397: English reviews
Recife, PE
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed there with some friends and liked it very much. Is close to the beach and other nice locations in Santa Monica...Staff is friendly and the place is very clean...check it out....We only stayed for one night but were impress by the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oskar M
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I'm sure this place could be a paradise but... The location is great! The staff is very kind but when a problem occurs... My experience was disappointing because when I faced a problem with a (drunk) guy, in a male dorm with his girlfriend (!), the management failed to fulfill my hopes to solve the problem. The reception gave another...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rigas S
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had a disappointing stay at the hostel. It sounds like the staff did respond by giving you another room but then it got confusing....did you want to move again after that? We do have a non alcohol policy that is very difficult to enforce. It was unfortunate that someone created such a disturbance by throwing a cigarette...

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I spent 4 nights at HI Santa Monica and enjoyed my stay overall. I had a slight shock on arrival with the added extras to the price....non HI member and city tax. They were in the small print on Hostel world, but I don't see why at least the city tax couldn't be included or state how much it would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I had a great time at HI- Santa Monica. It felt a very safe area to be in, including the streets around always seemed safe. Being so close to the beach was an added bonus, plus being so close to the shopping area (3rd street) Around the Hostel was always clean, and always being checked. It is such a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tobyrskinner
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Great, safe central location for housing in the heart of a very popular beach city--Santa Monica, in West Los Angeles. Hostel is modern, spacious, and well maintained with friendly knowledgeable staff. It is within steps of all the excitement of boutique shopping, malls, restaurants, movies, side walk cafés and street performers. Additional location bonus: Hostel is in a great spot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank overjo
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reneeashort
mainplace, Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2014

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rebecca W
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 7 April 2014

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aupair123
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 March 2014

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank steeeeveeeeeee
Groton, Connecticut
Reviewed 17 March 2014

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank carole c
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

287 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (147)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Private Double Room (11)
Viewed
Private Executive Double Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Six Person Dormitory (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,682 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,159 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#18 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,055 reviews
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
890 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd expect top floor rooms to have better view”
 of 5 bubbles Arturijus, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for the four bed dorms. You'll find them to be much more hygienic. The rest smell of sweaty balls and cannabis.”
 of 5 bubbles robertmK847UL, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to ask for a room as far as possible from the elevators.”
  • Inconsiderate roomates going out and leaving their things sprawled all over the place.
 of 5 bubbles bunny_deluxe, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book well in advance.”
 of 5 bubbles crikeydick2015, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Bring anything that cools you down if you're going in the summer.”
 of 5 bubbles JeroenOlthofNL, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5