We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Casa del Mar

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Casa del Mar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

807 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 700: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed on the first floor and on nights 2-4, I heard them in the external wall and over the ceiling walking on the pipes back and forth. I called night manager and filed a complaint. They offered me a $300 credit and a free breakfast, which I declined to take. If it was worth my time, I would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francisco P
Rebecca H, Vice President of Sales & Marketing at Casa del Mar, responded to this review

Dear Francisco P, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I would like to sincerely apologize that your stay was not up to the standards you had expected. We were able to look into the issue, and have concluded that the plumbing was causing some noise. Please be assured that this is not the norm – we pride ourselves on impeccable...

Reviewed 1 week ago

my adult son left his watch in the bottom of his backpack when he went to exercise at 11 am. we returned after lunch with him at 2 and his watch was gone. there was no safe in his room. housekeeping was there between 12:30 when we left and when we returned at 2.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryKayePeacock
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As soon as we walked in the hotel, I was completely wowed. Definitely doesn't feel LA like. it made me feel like I'm in San Francisco! The Shutter next door is very chilled and laid back while this hotel definitely has the wow factor. We stayed at two different room types. The standard room is standard yet a bit small....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kweesey
Napa, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Class Act Hotel. Third time staying at hotel, love it! Valet customer service is poor coupled with long wait time receiving car. Pay special attention to rims/tires and exterior of car prior to driving off.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aleshia H
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really loved the look and feel of this hotel. The rooms were lovely and the bed extremely comfortable. It would have been the perfect stay in Santa Monica if it wasn't for the disappointing breakfasts. There was no buffet offered which would have been fine if the meals on the a la carte menu were great. Sadly they were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex S
NYC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Though traveling for business, Casa Del Mar is like staying at a seaside B&B - gorgeous, charming and impeccable service. Amenities are wonderful, as is the staff. Both in room dining and the restaurants were great also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kfinck
Mandeville, Louisiana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a very nice hotel. The pool and bar/restaurant areas had wonderful views of the ocean. My only complaint is that when booking it, it said the room had an ocean view but when we arrived it was more of a view of the road than the ocean. The room was still very nice, clean and had a wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brook S
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I was billed for extra night after I checked out causing great embarrassment to my business partners and client. The front desk manager made up lies and emailed my client saying that I called down to extend my stay, even though that morning I went directly to LAX and flew to New York and have all of the airline and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Edward S
Rebecca H, Vice President of Sales & Marketing at Casa del Mar, responded to this review

Dear Edward S, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I understand that you did contact our staff requesting to extend your stay by one day, and that we were not notified when you checked out of the hotel on the original checkout date. Upon learning this information, we provided you with a full refund...

boston
Reviewed 2 November 2016

THis hotel has really gone downhill. The overall lack of concern from the front desk staff and concierge staff has left a sour note and made me change future travel plans so i will not return. There is no recognition for being a frequent guest or welcome back. Lighting in the room is very poor and rooms need refreshing. House...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BostonHeidi
Rebecca H, Vice President of Sales & Marketing at Casa del Mar, responded to this review

Dear BostonHeidi, Thank you for your feedback. We share your disappointment that your experience did not meet your expectations. We take great pride in our standards of services and rooms provided for our guests, and will take your comments into consideration as we make further improvements. Please feel welcome contact me directly if you have any further questions or concerns....

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 November 2016

What a great location! Right on the beach. The room we stayed in had a direct ocean view so how can one complain :)))). My husband and I usually stay in boutique hotels and so we probably would have booked at Shutters next door. But we were happy we stayed at Casa del Mar. I think the hotel entrance and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lj b

988 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (271)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Other (133)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (653)
Viewed
Amenities (62)
Viewed
Beach (49)
Viewed
Massage Table (3)
Viewed
Ocean View Suite (71)
Viewed
Palm Terrace King Room (61)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (117)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (175)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)
Viewed
Whirlpool (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,552 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,403 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
741 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hotel Casa Del Mar - Catch
Hotel Casa Del Mar - Catch
Cuisines: Japanese, American, Seafood, Sushi
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1083
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Price Range: £401 - £605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa del Mar staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Jacksonville
5 months ago
Brisbane, Australia
6 months ago
Cleveland, Ohio
9 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Casa del Mar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“definately get direct ocean view unless a view of parking lot is ok with you”
 of 5 bubbles BostonHeidi, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ocean Direct View if you feel like splurging”
 of 5 bubbles ljb716, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea view is great.”
 of 5 bubbles Eric060, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean View”
 of 5 bubbles dina857, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ocean view rooms are the best”
 of 5 bubbles calwinemd, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay