We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

King Frederik Inn

Visit hotel website
Traveller (128)
Room & Suite (58)
Pool & Beach (12)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The King Frederik Inn is located right in the center of downtown Solvang, CA. Plenty of attractions, shops, restaurants, and wine tasting rooms are within walking distance of the hotel. Comfortable rooms, many surrounding the pool and spa area. Completely non smoking, no pet hotel, with free parking, Wi-Fi, and fresh pastries from local bakery delivered every morning!
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
56Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
49Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
305Reviews
164Photos
4Q+A
63Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 76
  • 141
  • 74
  • 10
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
(+) Excellent location in Solvang. You will easily walk everywhere in town and still be able to walk back to the room for an after lunch nap in the middle of day. <-> Room was a little small and may need to be renovated or updated in a few more years, but overall I highly
Read more
Response from PeaSoup-KingFred-MGR, Manager at King Frederik Inn
Responded 4 Feb 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are delighted that our location made your stay pleasant and enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
Quiet, centrally located, great staff and clean rooms. My wife and I enjoyed a midweek stay just prior to Danish Days '18. I really appreciate how they focused and excelled at the "basics" instead of a lot of glitter and fluff.
Read more
Response from PeaSoup-KingFred-MGR, Manager at King Frederik Inn
Responded 25 Nov 2018
It's really great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass this comment along to our staff, and thank you for sharing your experience!
Read more
The walls are extremely thin. You can hear EVERYTHING. It was terrible. The largest bed is a queen. They should really get a few King beds.The pillows were the worst as well. I am so tired. Unfortunately, I booked through a pre-pay site so will get to "enjoy" another night.
Read more
Response from PeaSoup-KingFred-MGR, Manager at King Frederik Inn
Responded 25 Nov 2018
I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have a 24 hour front desk, and we encourage guests to call us if there is a noise issue. We do have rooms with one queen bed and one king bed, so hopefully next time we will be able to upgrade you to a room with a king size bed.
Read more
This was a great surprise. We were looking for a place to stay in Solvang over the last weekend. But places were expensive until we came across the King Frederik Inn. We reserved a standard and asked for a upstairs room. The room was recently redone with new bathrooms and
Read more
Response from PeaSoup-KingFred-MGR, Manager at King Frederik Inn
Responded 25 Nov 2018
Hi Nohi, I'm glad Michael was able to make you feel welcomed! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
I booked on Bookings.com and once we arrived the check-in staff were friendly and helpful. Check-in was a breeze. We got a nice room with a full kitchen (too bad we didn't need it, but good to know for the future). The hotel was located walking distance from pretty much anything
Read more
Response from PeaSoup-KingFred-MGR, Manager at King Frederik Inn
Responded 25 Nov 2018
I am so thrilled that your stay was enjoyable! It sounds like you were upgraded to our Studio Suite, that is the only room with a full kitchen. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We hope to see you again next time!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementKing Frederik Inn
king room
Tub & Shower Combo
Sink Area
King Size Bed Room 201 K
Complimentary Shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and soap
PreviousNext
12345612
is this Hotel walking distance to everything?Like downtown?Thank you
Yes, definitely. Even going out the back will take you to shops and restaurants.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is this hotel pet friendly?
No we are not pet friendly. Thank you.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there on site parking
There is onsite parking. Occasionally, if the parking is full we do have extra parking next to the Inn.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello. Do you offer AARP or AAA discounts? Thank you. Don Schneider
We do offer AAA or AARP rates at King Frederik Inn. There is only a few week-ends through out the year we do have them available. When you are ready to make s reservation just call them direct and any front desk clerk will be happy to assist you. Thanks, Terry
0 votes
Show all answers
"Our room faced the pool area and it was very quiet."
"Ask for a room away from Mission Street."
"Before booking this place call the hotel directly. DO NOT USE BOOKING.COM EVER!!!!!! FINE PRINT Danger!"
"101 & 102 right next to the office and patio,"
"I had room 105 and it was great!"
PreviousNext
12345613
PRICE RANGE
US$101 - US$202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
king frederik hotel solvangsolvang best westernbest western solvang
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSolvang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing