We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Absolute Backpackers Mission Beach

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Absolute Backpackers Mission Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 244: English reviews
Start your review of Absolute Backpackers Mission Beach
 Click to rate
Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very quiet, comfy, large spacious rooms. Good kitchen with everything you need and clean bathrooms. Good Wifi. The staff on reception are very helpful. 5 mins from the beach and the Greyhound Coach stop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LittIe_Miss_TraveI
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Even for the relatively low price we found this backpackers to be very disappointing. Our stay wasn't off to a flyer as we discovered dirty sheets and towels on the springy uncomfortable bed. On request these were replaced but the poor cleaning standards extended to the kitchen and the toilet. In general the place looks very worn and in need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
bradabsolute, Manager at Absolute Backpackers Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi Ross Thank you for the feedback, I apologise that the standards were a little down on your visit. Unfortunately, you were here when we were really quite before we got busy for Xmas. I had more staff than guests. I was going through a change of staff. The staff live together so are close and may have seem a...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights here so we could do rafting and skydive! Mission Beach itself is a bit small and quiet but the beach is very pretty. Stinger nets so you can swim. The hostel is in a great location for the greyhound and also the woolworths/liquor shop. The town is further away but they offer a shuttle bus....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
Mission Beach, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

We were originally booked to stay three nights but very quickly we cancelled the third night and decided to move down to Townsville earlier. Our room was at the front of the property and was disgusting. Cobwebs everywhere. Sheets stained. Bunk beds felt like they would collapse. No aircon so had one very warm sweaty night. I got bitten by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank becks773
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately Absolute backpackers wasn't the 'resort disguised as a hostel' as it claims to be. We had a 4 bed room for 3 people which was nice. However, we had no air con in our room, just a fan that didn't help at all. We were in what appeared to be an old garage room converted into a dorm. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MollsB94
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bossman88
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mongol_Bear

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
1.9 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.6 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 6 in Wongaling Beach
118 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scotty's Mission Beach YHA
Scotty's Mission Beach YHA
#14 of 25 in Mission Beach
201 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 25 in Mission Beach
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Mission Beach
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Absolute Backpackers Mission Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I slept in a van in the carpark. it was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles BrunswickFisherman, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“great for group travellers or travellers wanting to meet new people”
 of 5 bubbles bellebond1994, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with AC, Do a skydive!”
 of 5 bubbles geroge4982, 23 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Best hostel”
 of 5 bubbles travelistheway2015, 21 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Ask if they have a room with air con as it is very humid up here :) Otherwise they hostel is nice :)”
 of 5 bubbles 983piam, 2 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5