We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Western Colorado Lodge

Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (12)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Sauna
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
61Reviews
28Photos
1Q+A
15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 21
  • 17
  • 11
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Enjoyed 4 nights here while we visited different Colorado sites. Very clean and quiet. Everyday, housekeeping made our bed, cleaned room/bathroom, and left clean towels. Was cool weather and we did not use pool, but looked inviting. Very nice management. Felt safe...parked right
Read more
We booked rooms last minute through Booking. Booked based on some positive reviews. Very bad smell in the registration office - possibly cat excrement. Nice staff but when we got to rooms - more bad smells. Husband spoke with nice manager and they refunded our money. Would not
Read more
Response from Great_Western_Lodge, General Manager at Great Western Colorado Lodge
Responded 9 Oct 2018
We do remember that you made a reservation with us and requested a refund right after your check-in. We do have a very strict pet policy to provide a comfortable stay for our guests. No pets are allowed in our lobby and all no-pet friendly rooms. Therefore, it is definitely not an odor of cat excrement. Although we were not able to smell any bad odor from the lobby or from your room, our management still cancelled your reservation for free and gave you a refund for your happiness. Other guests who stayed in the same room that you checked in told us that they enjoyed their stay and liked their room. We believe that you had a higher expectation and standard and you are very sensitive to odors. As you are very sensitive to odors, we recommend you check out a room first before making any reservation from your next trip so that you can have a better stay. Lastly, all of our reviews are based on every guest's own experience. They wrote positive reviews because they enjoyed their stay with us. We understand that you were not satisfied with the room and could not agree with other guests' reviews, but those positive reviews are reflecting what many guests experienced at our property.
Read more
The place was clean and it was nice a quiet, the beds ok, the towels were not very good, rough they could do a lot better. They did have a free breakfast, boiled eggs, pastries and dried cereal, we chose to go find breakfast but at least it was offered. The rooms also offered a
Read more
We stayed for 4 nights.(Room 29) The room was clean. The staff was friendly. The pool was also great. Super location too! The only complaint would be the towels, small and kind of hard. But overall a great stay! Beds were comfortable too!
Read more
Nice room! Not a cheap bed like some hotels. Quiet pool area with a sauna. The pool water was warm and not frigid. What a treat for my husband and I. A pool we can relax in while our son swims! Hot tub with hot water and fast jets. This was truly a treat not only for us but our
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
Rusty soap dish
Dirty stained tile grout. Shower sealing job.
Lovely view of the updated bathroom.
Dirty stained bath tub/shower
Filthy stained carpet
PreviousNext
123
Well we stayed there and the pool is available but it is too cold to get in it.
0 votes
"Ask a lot of questions, and beware of booking through third party. Not pet friendly, beware."
"Choose one on the side of Salida Hot Springs Aquatic Center"
"I would suggest getting a room far from the office & pool area."
"UV examination of comforter and bed skirt showed staining by body fluids. Carpet is dirty and stained. Bathroom is stained and rusty."
"Go somewhere else. Not friendly"
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
great western colorado hotel salida
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoSalida
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing