We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Spruce Lodge

Orbitz.comUS$97*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Spruce Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Spruce Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 225: English reviews
Owasso, Oklahoma
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Recently my family (and sister's family) stayed here for two nights, each in our own rooms. The second night we went to give the kids baths and saw the tubs were thick with scum and grime in both rooms. We weren't expecting anything fancy. Just wanted some place clean and with indoor plumbing. My brother in law went to let...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Consalvi2
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Every guest is given the owner's personal cell phone number at check in with specific instructions to call 24 hours a day if they need ANYTHING. You stayed 3 nights in two rooms with four kids and complained about dirty bathtubs at checkout. There were ample opportunities for you to tell us the bathrooms were unsatisfactory including each morning during...

Seminole, Texas
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

I was very disappointed with this place, for 98 dollars a night, we had a huge dead bug on the floor, the vinyl floor was sticky, the room didn't smell good, there were no drinking cups, the cabinets were nasty, we had to share shampoo with the neighbors, because they were out at the office , NOT a good experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

I'll bet most Trip Advisor folks don't realize that there are people who travel like this on purpose. They book rooms, stay for several days and then complain at checkout about something we can't prove happened or didn't happen. I can't prove there wasn't a dead bug on the floor when they checked in, it's a cabin in the mountains...

Thornton, Colorado
Reviewed 2 June 2016

When we pulled up the kids were not impressed. But once Tuesday, the dog greeter arrived life at the lodge got better :-) we checked in late but the concierge service was happy to see us and very accommodating! We got to our room which was huge, super cozy and inviting! There was a refrigerator, microwave, box fan, and super...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cbratten
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Tuesday, our yellow Lab is a wonderful greeter. Occasionally, if you are lucky, you will be greeted by a chicken, a cat, or even a bear! Our rooms are neat. A lot of people don't like them, but we do! We are glad you get our style. Please come see us again!

Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Not knowing the Alamosa area, we needed to find lodging somewhere around Alamosa and landed on the much better-priced town of South Fork -- a beautiful location a half-hour from Creede. We were given a two-queen room with really nice European-style comforters (a micro and fridge were useful too). There was a staffer subbing for the owners so we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OregonDayhiker
Dee P, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again soon!

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 10 May 2016

The location is great, if what youre looking for is remote, which we didn't mind. Just wanted a quiet, relaxing weekend, and thats what we got. The size of the cabin was great, and they were uniquely decorated. The one we stayed in had a "western" and "golf" theme, but was really cute. The negatives about it weren't too bad,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbo827
Dee P, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! The restaurant next door was closed but our breakfast restaurant inside the lodge is still open! Since you wrote this review the restaurant next door has opened as Two Rivers BBQ and it's fantastic. There is also a bakery right next door for more morning yumminess!

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Clean, comfortable and quiet. Just what we were looking for when wanting to get out of the city for a few days. The free breakfast was good, especially considering the very, very low room rate of$39. Try the pancakes in the restaurant if you get a chance. Loved the hot tub too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haley L
Dee P, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed the brand new hot tub, we are very proud of it!

Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Cute place. Rustic looking rooms. They have updated a few things. There is a good amount of space in the standard double room. They have wifi and continental breakfast included. Our room was only $43. Thin walls and no meat at breakfast, but totally worth the price. Everything else was great. Nice reception as well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tews20
Dee P, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there! Glad you enjoyed our rooms. We think they are fun. Come see us again soon!

Weatherford, Texas
Reviewed 26 April 2016

I thought South Fork would be a good location to stay for a couple of days. You look at the web site for the city and it looks like a cool place. The Spruce Lodge web site looked like the rooms would be fine and it mentioned a new mattress on the beds. It also made a point of telling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stonecat
Dee P, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your honest review. Unfortunately when reservations are made through third party websites we are unable to change or cancel them within the 48 hour window.

Marshall Islands
Reviewed 17 April 2016

We recently had a perfect stay at the Spruce Lodge. The Galbraith Room was warm and cozy, and we especially liked the Jacuzzi bath after a day of skiing. Some mornings we ate in the continental breakfast area when we wanted something light, but the breakfasts we had in the restaurant were awesome. Best biscuits and gravy I have had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LL_Jimbo
Dee P, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! It was nice to meet you while you were here. Come see us again soon!

Enid, Oklahoma
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

Nice place to stay and only 25-30 mins away from the Wolf Creek ski area. Enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast. It was perfect and quick for us to get on the slopes. We didn't have time to try out the restaurant for breakfast but heard it was very good and all homemade. Will have to try it next time. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhysTherapist
Dee P, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Wolf Creek Ski Area is amazing. Glad you were able to enjoy it!

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Fork hotels
1.0 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
248 reviews
1.3 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
148 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 16 in South Fork
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
#2 of 2 in South Fork
22 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ute Bluff Lodge, Cabins & RV Park
0.2 mi away
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
#8 of 16 in South Fork
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Spruce Lodge is a laid back, historic, mountain property with room to stretch out! Cabins, Hotel rooms, Bunkhouses and Suites make up our unique and cozy property. Choose cheap and comfortable or pay a little more for a great upgrade to one of our newly remodeled suites. The Spruce Lodge has something for every budget and every family or group dynamic. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and so much more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spruce Lodge

Address: 29431 US Highway 160, PO Box 159, South Fork, CO 81154-9501
Region: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Price Range: £58 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Spruce Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hotel South Fork
Spruce Lodge South Fork, Colorado
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Spruce Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Must read the room descriptions on hotel website first before picking room.”
2Dogs-and-1Butterfly, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Not much choice since it's a small establishment.”
TeamK1401, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't skip breakfast”
954savannahs, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Fall and Spring are the slower times. It's packed in summer and winter. FALL IS SPECTACULAR! 48 hour cancellation. RV parking.”
  • GOLDEN autumn leaves and quaint view across the road.
  • My cat met one of the local chickens when we checked in
  • Two crisp white beds for just me and the cat. Warm cabin feeling,
  • My room with cat looking for me. Two chairs, small porch and Grill for general use.
iamdjstar, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one on the end to avoid noisy neighbors”
OregonDayhiker, 28 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$97* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$99
TravelocityUS$97
Hotwire.comUS$97
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates